We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot find a postive thing to say about this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Day Spring Hotel

Day Spring Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Day Spring Hotel
Save
You added Day Spring Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128-130 Gravelly Hill | Erdington, Birmingham B23 7PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cannot find a postive thing to say about this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Have to say that this was the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in, ever. We were given no directions to the car park and arriving in the pitch black, found quite daunting. Our room was in the attic, three flights of stairs later to find two single beds pushed together and what was worse was one side was against the wall.

It was the first time ever that we had seen appliances such as the kettle perched on top of the free-standing fridge and tv were all connected via a 4-way extension lead! Less impressed with the make-shift canvas tent-like wardrobe and the squigly ikea mirrors. The curtains didn't close. The bedding had seen better days. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy.

The "en-suite" which was so small you could just about turn around had no hospitality luxuries, broken toilet seat, broken toilet roll holder and a mirror that you would only be able to see in if you were about 6' tall. It was also not clean or rather hadn't been cleaned properly, dusty and the shower cubicle door was disgusting.

If our stay had been longer than just one night we would have definitely checked out early. There was little customer service from the kitchen staff although the receptionist on arrival was very pleasant and helpful.

We had chosen this hotel above the local holiday inn as when booking on laterooms it had been given a 3* rating (think they had forgotten to put the minus in front of 3*!!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The location is the key issue, while situated on a main road the parking is at the rear which is a bit of a maze to get to, and near impossible if you haven't read the directions given on the website. The establishment has double glazing so the noise from the main road is barely noticeable. The rooms are large, and come with a small fridge and complimentary tea and coffee. The en suite shower is large and I had no problems with the temperature of the water. A Full English breakfast and a selection of cereals is provided in the morning.
Overall: A pleasant stay and a comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This was such a bad hotel that we ended up having to find a new hotel to stay in! Couldnt find the entrance as car park is round back. Should have known from the barbed wire on the gates that this was not a good place to stay! arrived and the lady at reception didnt even work there and wasnt even sure where our room was. Had to follow her round the hotel till she found our room. We'd booked a double room and single bed for our son and when we got to our room there was no single bed for our son. The heating had only just been switched on at 6.30 and it was -3 outside (had just been snowing), and our room was so cold that we couldnt remove our coats and scarves - we were then given a broken heater with no feet. We ended up going to the Premier inn down the road as we couldnt stay in a cold room with 2 small children. There was no manager to even speak to to complain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Appalling, we have never stayed in such a bad hotel !
Right from the outset we were not impressed as we could not find the carpark. We had to pull up on the busy main road at the front of the hotel and ring the bell to ask for directions. The reception are looked like someones front room with a desk just inside the door, and an ironing board set up right in the middle. The twin room that we were given was a health and safety nightmare, all of the appliances, ie:kettle, TV, freeview box, fridge, and 2 lamps were all plugged into a 6-gang extension lead (see photo). The kettle lead was not long enough for it to be placed on a table, so we had to sit it on the floor next to one of the beds ! The freeview box kept losing it's signal as the aerial cable was extremely loose in both the box and the wall socket.
In the bathroom, the caulking around the shower tray and tiles was unbelievable. It had just been applied with no smoothing down or finishing off (see photo) The glass shelf above the basin sloped forward, so anything placed on there rolled off into the basin ! When we went down to checkout in the morning, there was lady sitting at the reception desk in her pyjamas and dressing gown !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbibrogan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

arrived at hotel and had to sit out side for 25 minutes waiting for someone to answer the bloody intercom,i rang and rang the hotel but later found that there was nobody i9n there to help us to access the hotel.Once we were invited the owner took us in and said your key in in the door on the first floor and left it at that,we thought ok your helpfull,(not),we went up to our room and the noise was terrible,there was no heating and the windows didnt close so the whole place was freezing,i went and asked the manager if he could place us in another room where there was heating and where the windows closes which he was happy to do and went and got other room keys,but to our shock all the other rooms were the same.so i went back to the room that he had given us and to my horor my daughter was having a look in the dirty mini fridge and came out with a rotten apple(must have been there weeks it was so bad),at that point i thought there is no way we are staying there and i spoke to the owner and showed him what we had found in the fridge and said that there was no way we were going to stay at this hotel for one night even after a 7 hour drive and being nakard i told him that i would rather start all over again and look for a decent hotel.he did offer us to stay for half price,but i declined and sAid that i would like a full refund which he said could be difficult as i booked online but in the end he agreed to refund me and he would take it up with the internet company that took my booking.The hotel was disgusting and i would not allow anybody to stay there that i knew,it should be closed down,and should be issued with a health warning.the beds are not king size as is stated on the web site,the toilet was filthy and needed a good scrub.there was no blind in shower room so all public could see you being washed,there was a fish tank in reception where you would eat your breakfast which was green with no fish in,the buffet breakfast consisted of a toaster and tea,the floors looked like they hadnt been washed for months.i could go on and on,ALL I WANT TO SAY IS DO NOT LET THE PICTURES FULL YOU,ITS A DULL-DIRTY-DRAB-SQUAT.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Stayed for two nights. The room was grubby - on arrival the toilet was dirty - brown faecal stains. The furniture was like something from a junk shop. The TV did not work. There was a cot in the room which had broken rails and disintegrated when touched. All i could stomach for breakfast was a cup of coffee, everything was dirty - the coffee flasks, the decorative bottles on the tables were encrusted in grime and old food stains. We had to stand on the doorstep and ring with a mobile phone to gain admittance on every occasion. When issues were raised with the proprietor, she giggled.

By far the worst and dirtiest place i have ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

It was a nice hotel and very comfortable, lovely big room with plenty of space, nice and clean.

Nice big car park at the back (which could be sign posted a bit better) but good that your car is left safe and you dont have to worry about it.

  • Liked — Nice looking room and comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Day Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day Spring Hotel

Address: 128-130 Gravelly Hill | Erdington, Birmingham B23 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Hotel Class:3 star — Day Spring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Day Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.