We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky charm unmatched by other hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bailey Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bailey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bailey Hotel
21 Sandon Road Edgbaston, Birmingham B17 8DR, England (Harborne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A quirky charm unmatched by other hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After reading the previous reviews I am quite frankly surprised at the low level of appreciation for such a charming little place! I stayed here with friends just this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my time here.

After a swift 40 minute check-in (not at all hindered by translation issues which can so often be the case) we eagerly headed to our rooms to sample the first delights of ‘home’ for the evening. Each room was creatively decorated with its own individual charm… special touches such as bogies on the wall, toenails on the floor and pizza under the beds only added to the comforting, homely feeling which oozed out of this place. In the reception area the imaginative paper which varied from wall to wall added to the character which every fine establishment needs. Stepping into the bathroom felt like walking into a glittery space capsule and the shower itself was great… who cares if the shower head doesn’t actually fit in the holder, right??? And I especially loved the placement of the sink which allowed for me to clean my teeth while still lying in bed!

All in all a top rated stay… and I for one can’t wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    4
    22
See reviews for
5
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is disgusting. There was a bloody bogie wiped on the wall. The shower curtain looked like someone had been using it for toilet roll for the past 10 years (as none was provided). There were vermin traps all around the corridors. I couldn't even take my socks off for fear of getting dirty feet. The room smelt rotten. There were toe nails down the side of the bed and rubbish left in the drawers. I felt cleaner before I used the shower ! Plug sockets hanging off the wall. New mattresses and carpets ? Where from ? The local rubbish tip ?! I wouldn't stay here again if you bloody paid me !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Where do i start? Rude receptionist, bogies on the wall, pizza crust in the bed, fag ash in the cups, plug sockets with wires hanging out, TV's held up by towels. I love a bargain but a local pig sty would of given a cleaner stay.

The cleaners should definitely take a course on how to clean as they fail to spot of bloody bogie wiped straight down the middle of our bedroom wall. See picture below!

We left the room with over 30 beer bottles laying around and it still looked cleaner than when we checked in.

Room Tip: There is no tips, terrible place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A group of us stayed for three nights last week - for £10 a night and having read the reviews we weren't expecting much, and we were right. On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff who spent the first ten minutes insisting that 'The Romanian cleaners won't hurt you or steal your things... they only look threatening...I give them a chance when lots of other people won't employ them...please don't judge me...we're doing renovations!' Obviously reassured, we were taken to our four-bunk room. An undisclosed problem meant that the two twins we had booked were unavailable, but after the greeting we were happy enough to take the £10 discount and safety in numbers option. It was a cosy fit - four people sharing the tiny strip of floor between the beds whilst getting ready in the morning was certainly a team-bonding experience - and we had a lot of fun trying to work out what exactly the stain down one of the walls was (no conclusion, but it definitely had texture and we didn't want to get too close.) The showers were interesting - having decided that the one along our corridor was not the best option, we opted for one in a different part of the building. Unfortunately didn't anticipate the difficulty of getting out of the room once inside with the door closed...but the frantic phone call from one of our party who was unable to break himself out was one of the highlights of our stay. Great entertainment on the last night from the couple having very enthusiastic sex in the room next door...half an hour of loud creaks, banging on the wall and odd vocalisations to a backdrop of children's cartoons from the television. For what little we paid, we could hardly have expected a lot, but unless you have standards which are shockingly low, better to pay double and find somewhere that at least provides knives with which to spread the provided butter and jam onto toast at breakfast (we made do with teaspoons). At least the next travelodge we stay in will seem palatial in comparison?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

After having a laugh at the reviews on the way down to Birmingham we were a bit dubious about the hotel, checkin was swift, upgraded to ensuite for 4 pound extra which according to other guests was a good idea as the communal toilet was a disgrace. Room was a bit poky but you get what you pay for and the included bunk beds and 2 fold away chairs. Bus stop right outside, handy to get to town for the night. Would only recommend it if going for a night out or passing through. Not as bad as the reviews here make it sound!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faisal s, Owner at Bailey Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are thankful to the guest for Expressing their genuine opinion in a fair and justified way. we are a budget hotel and we have been very helpful to economize stay for guest who don't want to spend much on accommodation.
We have recently laid New carpet in all rooms and common areas. Our mattresses are almost like new in all rooms, Tea and Coffee facility available in all rooms along with 100 Free view channels on flat screen HD TVs.
Continental Breakfast is free for all guests.
This is the best we could afford to provide for the room rate we charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Bailey two nights and it was the worst stay I've ever had. The owner spoke to me about how a customer was RAPED in their hotel once! Once to my room, room 111, there was toothpaste spit in the sink, a wad of toilet paper in the shower and a "Pulp Fiction" style blood splatter pattern on the bedroom wall! This place is utter crap. Blood on the walls is unsanitary and unacceptable. Someone should call the police.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faisal s, Manager at Bailey Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
there is no blood on wall, its rather burgundy paint on room 111 wall. We decided not to go ahead with that color in the room and drops of burgendy paint are from the brush which have been removed since long. the rest guest is talking about toilet paper and spit of paste in sink is not evidenced by any staff member during his/her stay. if there is a a genuine problem guest always report to recption and those who are jealous and too much touchy likes to write bad to demage business. These kind of guest dont report problem cause problem doesnt exist. we are a budget small and economical hotel we advise all guest not to have high expectation for a £30 in ensuite double room. all our carpets and bed mattresses are new and very firm. All rooms have brand new flat screen TVs. All rooms have tea and coffee making facility. yes this is true many guest walk away with out Tea kettles which we kepp placing again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Such a surprise after reading the reviews. The owners of the hotel were polite, kind and considerate. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. It was everything we needed. Definitely cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faisal s, Manager at Bailey Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and Thanks for your kind appreciation and genuine support in favour of our services. Please feel free to call us direct to avail the best possible discounted rates upon your future stay. Wish you all the best forever and forever.

Manager Bailey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bailey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Hotel

Address: 21 Sandon Road Edgbaston, Birmingham B17 8DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Harborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bailey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.