We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Great Colmore St, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel) (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #61 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Cheap and cheerful, the room was clean and tidy and staff were helpful, if you need somewhere to stay on a budget this place is just he ticket. Facilities are ok and there is parking on site. I don't think I'd want to stay much more than one night as the rooms are very minimal and fit fir purpose, how ever if all your doing is sleeping in it then it's spot on

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    481
    286
    115
    104
See reviews for
136
304
198
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great ,clean, cozy room with nice decor. The hotel was clean and tidy. Rooms are smallish but well maintained. Small sink in the corner and shower room and small toilet room. TV with several channels. The only thing the rooms are missing is a kettle, there are no tea making facilities, and no hair dryer in the room. The hotel is located close to the bull ring shopping centre and the Birmingham hippodrome, and a 30 minute walk to the MAC.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Booked here for 3 nights for family break,left after 1 night, and booked into premier inn in the city.what can I stay about this so called hotel, it's more like a backpackers inn, asked for a quiet room, got anything but, parties going on in a few of the rooms with stags and hen nights, kids didn't get a bit of sleep.the elevator was nearly bigger than the room, the bathroom and shower are in tiny cupboards, dreaded the thoughts of going back to the hotel after one day so checked out and stayed in a wonderful hotel in the city, so if you'd like to see what it's like to spend a night in a prison cell definitely stay here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I like how the lay out of every Ibis budget is the same. The mattresses are always so comfortable and the blackout blinds are perfect.We had to ask for extra pillows and towels for the 3 of us.The bunk bed above our double is such a good idea. Internet/wifi was easy to connect to. Unfortunately we were advised by the reception to not go under the subway as there were lots of drunk people under there. So we went down the main road and crossed over and ate out at a nice restaurant. We were not hassled by any drunk people at all.The breakfast in the morning was delicious as were the selection of coffees. However there was no muesli which we had in Glasgow Ibis budget. Our dog was able to stay too which was so helpful .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here during exams.Quiet location although its walking distance to new street station.Easy check in and check out. Clean comfortable rooms and secure access.Bright dining area.My room had a seperate shower room and toilet which is quite unusual but useful. Good room decor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a great budget hotel. Bright atmosphere. Love the new dining area seating. Helpful smiling staff !! Rooms are comfy and clean. Good buffet style eat as much as you like breakfast.
Location is ideal for the main shopping areas and its walkable to the canals/library etc. Vending machines on site have more or less everything you might need from a beer or small wine bottle to toiletries, snacks and more !!
Quick check in and out. £5 parking on site for 24 hours.
No frills no fuss just a great basic hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Michal Kuc General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore St, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.