We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Great Colmore St, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel) (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    481
    286
    115
    104
See reviews for
136
304
198
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on 21st and 22nd December for less than £50 so really can't complain at the price!

The rooms are very basic - no tea/coffee facilities, no toiletries apart from one bar of soap, no carpet and very plainly decorated.

Carparking is a little hit or miss too, there aren't that many spaces and on a saturday our friends who arrived about 10 mins after us were unable to park, but parking is cheap and there are plenty of other places to park nearby (our friends were directed to the other Ibis which is only a couple of streets away).

The toilet is in a cupboard, and the shower is in the bedroom itself behind a frosted glass door, the sink is also in the bedroom. This wasn't a problem at all for me but I can see how it wouldn't suit everyone.

The bed is a foam mattress on a wooden base - I found this very comfortable but those who like soft spring mattresses won't be keen.

There is a flat screen tv and free WiFi throughout which was also nice considering lots of hotels charge for this.

My only complaint about the room itself is there are only two pillows - spares would be nice as plenty people use two.

One specific complaint is that the room we stayed in (131) absolutely stinks of cigarettes - our friends stayed in the room next door and their room smelled much fresher. There was also ash on the windowsill so this was obviously not noticed when the room was cleaned.

Aside from this I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards, Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Please take my advice and avoid this hell hole at all costs!!! i would honestly be very cynical about any positive reviews left by 'customers' on here. We arrived at ten thirty on friday night, after a visit to the german market and the hippodrome. We checked in, there were lots of young people in the lobby and on the halls, but we gave no thought to it. The room is THE most basic i have ever seen. No phone, no shower gel, shampoo, nowhere to hang your clothes etc,., but we still thought it would be livable for 1 night. We went to sleep around midnight, and were awoken by screaming, shouting, singing all up the hall at 1.30, then again at 2.30 and then AGAIN t 4.20!!! There is no phone in the room, so they know you cant ring reception, so i hunted around for ANYTHING with the reception number on it. I finally found it on the receipt given when i'd paid. I rang reception and explained that we had put up with large groups of young people all night shouting and singing in the hall and it was now 4.30 we had had no sleep, and it was ridiculous that the hotel keeps selling alcohol to these people who are obviously drunk and singing downstairs. I was told they'd 'send someone up'. They sent someone up who politely asked them to keep the noise down, we heard the whole conversation, and they responded by shouting 'merry christmas' to him down the hall, and carrying on with the party both inside and outside the rooms.. there were 2 rooms holding parties, 1 directly opposite ours, and 1 just down the hall. we had to listen to a further 20 minutes of them singing and shouting until 4.50 when the 'security' man knocked on our door and said 'we re dealing with it now'!!! i have NEVER stayed somewhere so irresponsible in my entire life!! selling alcohol 24/7 to people obviously drunk, and then allowing large groups of idiots into the lifts singing and shouting without even asking them to keep the noise down, or at least following them up to check they were being quiet at 4am!! we finally got to sleep around 6 am, only to be woken up by the same 2 groups shouting at each other to 'wake up at 9am!!! they thought it was hilarious to stand in the hallway and bang continuously on each others doors for 10 minutes to try and wake the other group up at 9 am, even though they hadnt gone to bed till 6! I was honestly disgusted with this hotel, irresponsible and ignorant to people actually just wanting to stay in a hotel without wanting to be hammered till dawn. This should be renamed a hostel, its disgusting!! PLEASE DONT STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Good Morning,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0121 622 7575 or h5678-gm@accor.com

Kind regards,

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The ibis budget hotel, is exactly what it says on the tin a budget hotel. With budget hotels you always get what you pay for and occasionally you find the hidden gem.

If you are looking for a hotel with no frills and a place just to get your head down for the night then this is a good choice.

The check in was simple and trouble free. The staff on the reception were very friendly but rushed off their feet.

The hotel seems quite popular with both business people and groups of both males and females that are out for a good time. The hotel is centrally located close to Birmingham's New Street Station, the city centre and some good nightlife.

The room was an average size but quite a strange design as the shower is in the main room with just a glass door separating the two, so if you're after some privacy, it may be a little hard to find. The toilet is located in a cupboard near the door.

The bed was quite hard and is fact a just a mattress on top of a MDF frame.

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for £4.95, which appeared good value for money, sadly I overslept and missed it.

All in all, I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal K, General Manager at Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Michal Kuc | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore St, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Birmingham Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.