We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Briar Rose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Briar Rose Hotel to your Saves list
The Briar Rose Hotel
25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ely, Cambs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent city centre hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have used this hotel for a couple of years now & have to say I have never had a bad experience.
The rooms are boutique style, spotlessly clean & well presented. The beds & pillows are comfortable & the rooms contain tea & coffee making facilities, an ironing board & large flat screen T.V's.
I always make sure I book a luxury room (£63!!) which are just that bit larger & have a few additional features. I find the hotel very quiet at night & I always sleep well. I never hear the Wetherspoons at all as it is quiet a big building with high ceilings & it seems to absorb the noise of the pub.
The staff are always very friendly & attentive & greet you with a warm welcome. Any problems are dealt with immediately in an efficient manner.
The Wetherspoons pub is ok but is looking a bit tired & ready for a refurb, but it is a very busy city centre pub with a good selection of real ales & the usual JDW food selection. The Wellington pub a few doors up the road offers 15 real ales & there is a fab Thai restaurant directly opposite which comes highly recommended.
Parking is free on the side of the road after 7.30pm up to 8.00am & I there a several spaces around the side roads very close to the hotel. I Don't bother with the NCP car parks as I have always managed to find a space on the road & if you arrive before 7.30pm you just pay from your arrival time up to 7.30pm. (6pm - 7.30pm is £3).
Overall, an ideally situated, city centre budget hotel that knocks spots off many of the other larger city centre chain hotels, both in quality & price !!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are well worth paying a bit extra for. Rear facing rooms are quieter in the summer when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    129
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
19
107
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

stayed there for a night, the room was big and very clean, staff was nice and friendly the hotel is situated in the middle of Birmingham not far from the center, lots of shops and not too far from the train station. would defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with other family members during Arts Fest in 2011. This is the second time that we have stayed. The value for money is excellent and the rooms are fine and comfortable. The Briar Rose pub itself though is not the best of Wetherspoons. It is busy, the food and drinks are unrivalled in price, but the decor is disturbing visually. It is a mixture that is hard to define, but there seems to be an overall African theme and although there are no flashing lights, the clashing bars of colour may be enough to provoke the Gramd Mal in an epileptic. Close this place and give it a make-over for pity's sake. However, it was a good stay and we would go again.

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The wetherspoon lodge is in an excellent position near ncp parking and new street train station, restaurants and pubs abound , my favourite for the decor is the old joint stock theatre ,wow!! ,if you want beer the Wellington will take some beating with 15 different ales on tap. Took a trip to canal area via the Mailbox[ shopping/eatery area] and onto broad street where i believe the young ones enjoy the nightlife . Back to hotel later for a nightcap and bed , a quiet yet spacious room of good standard

Room Tip: A quiet room was requested and the amiable receptionist put us in room304 two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

As a Cheltenham Festival goer who doesn't stay in Cheltenham because of the ridiculous prices many hotels there charge when the fesitval is on, Birmingham is a great alternative. The trains from New Street to Cheltenham Spa are frequent (take 35 mins, £22 return) and when you've got affordable hotels like the Briar Rose (we paid £75 but you can get it cheaper if you book early enough) it's a no-brainer.

The Briar Rose is a 5 min walk from the station, the room we stayed in was not only spotless but much bigger than you'd find in a Premier Travel Inn or Travelodge and for a hotel in a city centre above a Wetherspoon pub it's not half quiet. If you want a twin room you need to phone the hotel in advance as all are automatically set up as doubles - it makes this clear on your confirmation email - and I'd say my bed was the comfiest hotel bed I've stayed in for a long time.

You don't get breakfast included in the price of your room, but as you're above a Wetherspoons and pretty much every breakfast is less than a fiver you're still getting a good deal. What's more, brekkie is served until 12 in the pub - giving you an hour after check-out if you happen to have a hangover, which it's fair to say I did.

Having arrived at the hotel far too early to check in, we left our bags behind reception and went to the races. Got back into Birmingham for 7pm, far poorer in case you were wondering, and check-in was efficient. Make sure you ask for two keys though - we only got one and as we ended up back at the room at different times later on getting into the room proved to be quite a challenge for my mate as I had the key!

My only gripe with the Briar Rose is that the electricity in our room kept going off, even with the key-card in the slot. We left our phones in the room to charge the notoriously rubbish batteries that Apple provide smartphones with while having tea downstairs, went back up to collect them and neither had charged. I thought this was because there wasn't a key-card in the slot, but the same thing happened overnight when we put our phones on charge again with the key-card in place. I'm guessing the electricy is triggered by a movement sensor, which is great for the environment but not much use when you're trying to charge a phone while sleeping. I ended up having to charge mine in the pub downstairs (which has free wifi) while having breakfast - not ideal but it got the job done. Check-out is 11 and again the girl behind reception allowed us to leave our bags with her while we spent the day in the city centre.

Anyhow, if you're staying in Birmingham and need a clean, quiet, decently priced hotel in the city centre near New St station, I'd recommend the Briar Rose. It's a fair bet I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

A great clean hotel. Remarkably quiet for such a central location. Very very close to new st station a great find. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great hotel .You get what you pay for ,but the beds and bedding are first class, for £65 its first class value

We stayed here last night as we were seeing Nick Lowe at the town hall. Lovely front of desk team and excelent value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. Luxury Room guests benefit from a late 12pm check out and the option to order room service between 7am-1am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Briar Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.