We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport
Off Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Ashford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a great nights stay here, room was clean comfortable and peaceful at the back on second floor. Also had lovely meal in The Thyme Restaurant adjoined. Sam the Restaurant manager was a very polite and helpful chatty guy, as was the waitress who served us.

We had the 3 course Meal Deal with Drink & Breakfast for £22.99, We had the garlic mushrooms, and sticky chicken gougons for starters, both had Rump steak with chips, peas, mushrooms and grilled tomato, and both ended with the Lemon Meringue Sundae. Service was pretty quick and the food cooked to perfection.
The breakfast was also good, though unlike previous Premier Inns we have stayed at the hot breakfast is pre-cooked on a buffet Bar and not cooked to order. We went in for breakfast at 9.30 and the chef was starting to clear the hot food away, even though there was still nearly an hour left for the breakfast service. He did bring the bacon, sausages etc back out . (There were at least another 6 - 8 people who sat down for breakfast after we did, so just thought was a bit previous to be clearing away the hot food. )
That said we enjoyed the stay and would recommend, and will use again when visiting relatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Tarps129,

Thank you for your fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

It was wonderful to read that you had a great nights stay, found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the food served at our restaurant. I have passed on your kind comments to Sam and the restaurant team. With regards to the hot food being taken off the buffet at 9.30am; this is to ensure that our guests have the freshest food available, so we provide a cooked to order service during quieter periods.

Thanks again for taking the time to write your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the Premier Inn NEC soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    319
    159
    63
    29
See reviews for
209
310
41
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 5 on our way to Mexico flying from Birmingham airport which is a 1 min drive away. Staff were friendly and eager to help, I cannot fault this hotel, the standards of a Hilton for the price of a travel lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear CPASS,

Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review!

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I was so happy to read that we met your needs for the area.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good size family room (2 adults and 2 kids), clean, comfortable.
Easy swift check in, we had to be up for 2.30am to get to the airport unfortunately we didn't get much sleep as very noisy person overhead, sounding like they were dancing in their room all night! Didn't mention it to hotel as not much they could of done apart from move us, which was far too much hassle for a couple of hours.
The receptionist booked us a taxi which was a great help.
Many many thanks to the cleaners who found my sons Ipod under his pillow, they gave it in and i received a very nice message telling me they found it and it was safely stowed away in the safe until we got back from holiday :-))) one very happy little boy and a very happy mummy and daddy!!
We left our car in the car-park for the week, this is a very good safe option if your flying from Birmimgham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SarahAndrews1706,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I apologise for the noise disruption you experienced during your stay. Just for future reference; if anything of that nature occurs on any future stays then please do not hesitate to contact reception, which is manned 24 hours a day.

Your feedback is key if we are going to get to know our guests well and deliver the service they deserve. I am so proud of the level of service our team offered to you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to be on a tradeshow at the NEC and was booked in this Premier Inn. Not too much to say about the hotel, once you have stayed in a premier inn you know what you get. A decent sized clean room, good bed, nice bathroom and wifi internet at a very reasonable price. The breakfast is OK as well, so no complaints at all. No complaints at all? Weel if it would be possible, a shuttle service to the NEC would be a very big plus.... Or otherwise a decent gate in the fence for the shortcut walking route.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear ICI01,

Thank you for taking the the time to rev.

It was fantastic to read that we fulfilled your expectations. We take pride in continuously striving for service excellence and providing our guests with a positively memorable stay, the team will be delighted to read your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My room was large, the bed very comfortable and both the room and bathroom were absolutely spotlessly clean. However, just try putting on make up in the poorly lit mirrors in the bedroom and bathroom! Did a man do the lighting design?!
Food at dinner was very good and pricing fair. We had a lovely bottle of Argentine Malbec for £13.95.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear KJW51,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Premier Inn NEC.

I was pleased to read that you had an overall great stay, although I also took note of your unhappiness regarding the lighting in your room.

Due to guest feedback, Premier Inn has incorporated a lighted mirror in the bedrooms, I do apologise though if you found the lighting insufficient. We are fanatical about guest service and we welcome feedback so that we can improve the service we provide.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed the night before we flew from Birmingham airport! Hotel brilliant value for money for parking and overnight stay! Food was nice enough, what you would expect in a premier inn! Rooms are very large, we had a big Kingsize bed! Very clean! Overall brilliant value for money! And excellent service at check in, booked us a taxi for next morning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear DaniB123,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, here on Trip advisor.

Your kind words are much appreciated and I can assure you that the whole team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for the Dr Who convention last year.
It was great for what we required, the room was comfortable clean and the staff were amazing!
They honestly could not do enough for us!
I suffer with lactose intolerance and when I mentioned this to the bar staff they had everyone searching for the nutritional information sheets and even had a member of staff come and sit with me to go over the menu! Also whilst purchasing a drink the barrel ran out and we had to wait for it to be changed, they then gave us our drink for free for having to wait :)
Excellent service, beyond what we expected! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahina B, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear KatherineHames,

Thank you for your kind comments and your fabulous 5 star review!!

I am thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the restaurant team were able to help with your dietary requirements.

I hope to welcome you back to the Premier Inn NEC next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport

Address: Off Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.