We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport
Off Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

three weeks ago i paid a visit to the premier inn as my friends highly recommended it to me saying it was full of excellent service and high quality suites. i was not dissapointed as i enjoyed a fantastic and exhilarating weekend there alongside my family! i would definitely visit there again as i am an occupied traveler!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of the Premier Inn NEC, it is always pleasing to see our guests take the time to let us know how we are doing.

I'm so pleased to read that you had such a great weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    319
    158
    63
    29
See reviews for
208
310
41
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A nice welcome and very pleasant staff. Usual Premier trimmings and all as expected, and at a good price too.
Generally very clean with housekeepers doing excellent job, although a 'deep clean' would be beneficial in some areas (tile grout, some staining to toilet seat), but this is not down to the day to day cleaning.
Very good location for NEC and Airport.
Free parking
Still think they should drop charging for Wi-Fi !!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and found us to be of good value whilst at the same time providing great customer service at a convenient location for your needs. I'm also happy that you enjoyed the use of our free car park.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a good night's sleep, the room was spotless,and the breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful ..Don't rely on the sat nav to get there. Take a map of the NEC and surrounding area from the internet to save confusion if you don't know the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We pride ourselves in delivering superior service and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is at the usual good standard of premier inn, BUT it is not easy to find from the airport - especially if you land on a late night flight, set your Sat nav to find this place via its postcode and you will find yourself on a motorway with ages before you can turn around.... Use this hotel by all means, but make sure you work out how to get there very carefully. It is in the middle of nowhere, staff are aware that it doesn't work putting postcode in sat nav for this location. Premier inn should add a warning on their website.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the good standards or service and comfort that we offer at Premier Inn

I am however, disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the directions given to get to our hotel, I have passed on your comments to ensure corrective action is taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had one night at this hotel whilst visiting the Spring Fair held at the NEC. No complaints whatsoever,room was clean & tidy.Reception staff very professional and helpful. We had a evening meal in bar and it came hot and on time. No waiting at all,staff attentive to our needs and it was a pleasant dining experience. The restaurant manager must be very good,instilling customer care as a priority,as not all Premier Inns are like this.
The bed was very comfortable and we had no trouble falling asleep,no noise etc.
The hotel is near to the NEC,short 5 minute walk to a courtesy bus stop. We would stay here again if needs be.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor, all ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, compliments and 5 star review! Feedback such as yours helps us to recognise and reinforce excellent service within the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Premier Inn NEC in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed overnight prior to a visit to a trade show at the NEC. We often stay in Premier Inns and are generally happy with the service, however this stay was disappointing.
Upon arrival check in was busy as we had expected it would be, but we were pleased to see there were 3 'Quick' check in points and so we used one of these. After inputting all our details and making payment (whilst the queue at checkin grew longer) the machine advised it had no keys and we had to join the back of the queue. In fact each machine was the same much to the frustration of other people trying to check in. There should have been a notice advising this to avoid wasting busy people's time.
When we finally able to reach a member of staff to get a key there was no apology for the delay or frustration and they member of staff couldn't even tell us how long the walk to the NEC was - referring us to a map on the wall.
The room was comfortable and clean, however there was a LOUD buzzing noise that at first we thought was a helicopter outside, but when it didn't go away we realised it must be a fan on the exterior of the hotel (room 322 for your advanced warning), this along with the loud door banging that could be heard well past midnight meant we did not have a good night's sleep.
We tried several times to ring reception about the noise but nobody answered the phone and when I went down there was nobody there, so much for a good night's sleep guaranteed....

We paid £149 for this room as it was during a trade show, which we understand will be capitalised upon, but was WAY overpriced for a bad night's sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that there were some enjoyable aspects of your stay. However the comments you raised that were not to standard have been addressed as a matter of urgency.

I am very sorry that your impression of the hotel is not what we would expect it to be however it would be great to have you back with us again so we can show you the usual high standards that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Room wasn't ready on arrival so we went and had some lunch in the bar. There was a good choice on the lunch menu and prices were reasonable. We then got the lift to our room, which was clean, airy and smelt fresh. It was very well furnished in true Premier Inn style and was very clean. No complaints about the room. We then went down for dinner which was a good value meal deal for a 3 course meal incl drink and also including a full breakfast, which we thought was good value. The food was excellent and the service was good. When we got back from our concert at the NEC we headed to the bar with some friends we'd made. There was no where to sit and they wouldn't let us sit in the adjoining restaurant area even though they had stopped serving. We could use the chairs but not the tables. The size of the bar lounge area is far too small for a large hotel. Some of the bar staff didn't really seem to know what they were doing although they were very friendly and pleasant. I would however stay here again and it was good value for money. I would have given it 5 stars if the bar/lounge area had been more accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrissa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review following your recent stay at our hotel.

Our aim is to provide excellent service, food and accommodation yet remain price fair so I am glad you felt our restaurant and hotel provided good value for money.

We hope to welcome you back at the Premier Inn NEC in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport

Address: Off Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham NEC/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.