We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He just had to see the City of Birmingham....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thinktank Science Museum

Thinktank Science Museum
Millennium Point | Curzon Street, Birmingham B4 7XG, England
0121-2022222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 161 Attractions in Birmingham
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thinktank is Birmingham's unique and award-winning science museum housed at Millennium Point in the heart of the city.  This exciting attraction offers ten galleries of historical artefacts, modern interactives and fantastic futuristic facts. You can explore everything from aircraft and steam engines to intestines and taste buds - and even emotional robots!  Thinktank is like nothing you've ever seen before and will stimulate your mind whatever your age.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Salisbury
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“He just had to see the City of Birmingham....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

... and that meant me too. However, the train IS magnificent and so were all the old cars/bikes/planes etc on the ground floor. I was particularly fascinated by the Jaguar robots working on the car. Our time was limited but there was plenty to see in a new, well planned, well designed museum with stuff for us oldies and interactive exhibits for children. Information was clear and not too detailed. What we saw concentrated on Birmingham's industrial heritage hence lots of motor bikes and old cars. The shop was very well stocked and you'd struggle to get without buying something if you have children with you. Parking is very easy and there were places to eat. Reception staff very helpful. Not cheap.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    195
    90
    46
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interactive fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Took our son here and were amazed at the setup of this place. Even better than when it was situated at the old Gas Hall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been here before, and loved it, but this time with a child in tow. I knew from previously going that there were sections aimed for children, but after taking my 17month old today, It's definitely suited for all ages! It's educational and its fun! What's better than that?
The facilities here are immaculate! I plan to go again soon with the rest of the family.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Great for big and little kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited the Think Tank a few times now, always with the kids. This is the first time we have experienced the outdoor area, even on a damp cold November day it was great fun. With the weather being poor we had the place to ourselves so were able to have a good, uninterrupted sample of all the attractions. Kids verdict was brilliant, they really enjoyed it especially the lifting machines and the bottle rocket launcher. The area may struggle a bit on a busier, sunny day as it is not very large. Little has changed indoors but the kids played for hours in the mini town area, a really clever play area where the kids can pretend to be doctors, mechanics, chefs and dentists for a day! Previous reviews state that the Think Tank is predominantly for kids, this is probably true would not consider coming here without them. Entrance is not cheap but the many discount tickets available help bring the price down and as it takes a whole day to do the lot it is still good value. I remember when it was free to get into the science museum but times have changed. I used to love seeing the steam train and the fighter planes, kids barely give them a second glance now, although the Jaguar robots still get a good crowd.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grandson loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Took my 5 year old grandson and my 70 yr old husband. We all had a great time. Absolutely hands on, the human body section was fascinating, also the robot and the space exhibition.
The old stuff, steam trains, steam engines, developments in technology was interesting too, me and husband could remember most of it!
Grandson keeps on nagging us to take him again. We will.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thinktank Science Museum also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Thinktank Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thinktank Science Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.