We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Holloway Circus | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #68 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews, a spa facility and location. Arrived at our room and my initial thought was how stained the carpets are. When I sat down to untie my shoe laces and kick off my shoes, I noted long blond hairs on the carpet; a second looked revealed multiple types of human hairs and what looked like dogs hairs everywhere. I decided to have a cup of tea, only to find that the only tea provided was Earl Grey. Whilst on the subject of complimentary items: Why only one hot chocolate in a double room? Also, at the level of hotel the Raddison Group pitches itself, I would expect at least one complimentary bottle of water on arrival. The concerns regarding Housekeeping standards were not improved when I found an old toiletries bottle cap in the shower rack. On a positive note, the issues were sorted whilst we went for a walk around the local area.
Raddison management might say the fact we checked in early (by one hour) meant the room was not to standard, but we were offered a choice of 3 rooms , and they should not have been released if Houskeeping had not completed them.
As we were going to see Thriller (separate review) we decided to eat out early (Del Villaggio - separate review). The location is good for walking to most amenities, so this was a positive.
Breakfast on the first morning was a mixed bag, and confirmed that our decision to eat out was correct. Nice fruit and cold buffet. However, whilst the hot buffet looked nice, it was lukewarm; this issue was not helped by cold plates. The first plate presenter was empty, leaving some people looking for plates and others stretching to the rear plate presenter which obviously did not have its heating element turned on. The lids for these pieces of equipment had splashes of something on them. Again, at the level Raddison pitches itself, these issues should not feature. Good kitchen procedures would use smaller batch-cooking, ensure food probing maintained servery food temperature and ensure all equipment was clean. The plate presenters still had the same splashes on them the following day.
After visiting Christmas Market we decided to check out the spa. This hotel is advertised as a Spa Hotel but actually only has a sauna and showers, which are operated under separate management and is charged as an extra; a point that is not clear on the website, as the gym is inclusive. I have given the Pool rating Terrible because there is not a pool in a Spa hotel.
Based on the poor showing at breakfast we also ate out on the second night, and due to the heavy storms stayed close using the Royal Bengal across the road (separate review).
I raised my all of my concerns with reception on the first afternoon and got what I would describe as a neutral response: "you need to raise breakfast concern with the dining room staff", "I will look at the website wording", "I will raise your concerns with housekeeping". All direct quotes.
Sleep quality was okay, albeit the bed was too soft for my liking. We were on the 15th floor and the building does creak in high winds, it is like being on a small cabin cruiser. Some may find this disconcerting, as divers we found it quite calming.
Breakfast on the second day was an improvement, slightly warmer and hot plates. I am not sure if this was chance, my complaint or the fact that a Minor Celebrity and his camera toting sidekick were using the facility and filming.
Anecdote:
Minor Celeb to Sidekick: "Would you like another cup of coffee darling"
Sidekick: "Yes, that would be lovely"
Minor Celeb: "Get me one as well then"
What a gentleman.
Overall, I feel the standard provided was well below what it should have been and it was disappointing .

Room Tip: High rooms get views across the city (we were on the 15th floor). The odd numbers face across town g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    482
    308
    166
    89
See reviews for
74
474
89
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great night in the Radisson Blu. Great location to access any part of Birmingham ! Got the train to centre & easy access to the hotel from train. Hotel was classy & well presented. Room was gorgeous & fantastic views of the city ! staff were helpful ! Thanks

Room Tip: Room was quiet & high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed the night for a friend's hen night. Bride's room upgrade, complimentary drinks and staff very helpful and genuine. Manager could not be more pleasant and the hotel was spotless. Great view and hotel organised taxis for all members of party. Another hen night coming this year and no surprises where we will be stopping.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Radisson Blu, Birmingham twice this year and will be again next weekend. I find that it is an ideal place to stay, a small walk from Birmingham New Street station and the city centre.

I found the reception staff very friendly and are quick to check me in as that is always one of my pet peeves with hotels. The hotel lobby is smart and clean and so were the corridors to my room. My rooms were perfect, clean and decorated well. My bed was very comfortable. I had use of a Nespresso Coffee maker as well as the normal tea / coffee making facilities and free Wifi. The bathroom was large with plenty of towels and complimentary bathroom products.

Breakfast was excellent, large range of hot and cold options and the staff are again very welcoming and friendly. Getting a taxi is easy from the hotel and there are shops nearby should you forget anything.

Definitely recommend this hotel for a city break as everything you need is on your doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algorfa, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for a city break. 2 minutes walk to the center but very peaceful and quiet. The facilities are excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. The room was large, clean and the bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in away from home. We stayed on the 16th floor and the views were fantastic, I would highly recommend staying this Hotel for any trip to the City.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor for a fantastic view, especially at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've stayed in a few radisson blu's now and always seem to leave with a good experience. The Birmingham hotel has quite a reputation as the building itself is quite a well known landmark in Birmingham now, with its tall modern blue style towering over the other buildings.

I stayed with my partner for one night, whilst in the City to see a theatre show at the Hippodrome.

I think got a special deal on the room which was about £59 - which I think was extremely good.

Check-in was seamless and welcoming. The hotel decor is stylish and modern and very clean and smart. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, a very nice area to stay in. I think we were on the 17th floor (yes very high, so not for those with a fear of heights!) but was great to look over the Birmingham skyline.

We had a very enjoyable stay and for the location, price and service you can't go wrong. If you're looking for a city centre hotel - choose this one. I would highly recommend and return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Radission is ok. We got a decent deal which was nice.

The rooms are good and the beds are really comfortable. The communal areas look nice and it is easy to get a taxi.

On the down side our check in took a long time. We were dealt with by a trainee and I understand that they need to learn but someone should have stepped in when it took over 15 minutes to book in to 2 rooms that we had prepaid.

We had large disabled showers in our rooms but no baths. The showers were fine but basic - they were clean though.

The toiletries were cheap but the towels and linen are decent.

In short if you can get a good deal this is nicer than a travel lodge or holiday inn but it is not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Birmingham’s fantastic renaissance continues, the iconic Radisson BLU Hotel brings true European flair to the city. With 211 bedrooms including 8 suites in chic, fresh and fashion styles, 10 state of the art meeting rooms with fitness facilities located on the 18th floor complimentary for guests to use. The first class hotel is the perfect location for business & leisure travel. Its award-winning Filini Restaurant serves up a contemporary Italian dining experience that is almost 100% Italian.The hotel is located in the ciy centre in BIrmingahm new street, the hotel does not offer its own parking spaces, however, the nearest car park is the ncp albany, customers can receive a discount with Radisson of 14.00 per 24/hrs when using this car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.