Stayed here with my partner, as we were going to a show in Symphony Hall.
Check in was pretty smooth. Our room was ready at just after 1.00pm, which was a surprise as the stated check in time was 3.00pm. Our room was located on the 16th floor and we had a great view. The room was clean and tidy.
We had a "business class" room (are there any other types in this hotel?) - so the bathroom toiletries were of a good standard, the bathroom was immaculate and the room in general was good - which I would have expected in all honesty, for a 4* hotel charging £159.00 for one nights stay. As has been mentioned previously, floor to ceiling windows gave an excellent view of the tower block of flats opposite. Oops, I mean the delightful skyline of Birmingham.
So, a day exploring in Birmingham and we return. We took a drink in the hotel bar, two glasses of wine - I was genuinely surprised by the bar charge - less than a tenner for two small glasses of wine. Well done Radisson, I was expecting much much more for a late night hotel bar. We then hit the room.
I am sick to death of "king sized" beds being two smaller beds pushed together. This left an uncomfortable join between the beds that was obviously felt. It didn't inspire the most romantic of cuddles, but the bed itself wasn't too uncomfortable. Nice duvet and pillows completed the set. But PLEASE - either make it a proper double, or a proper king. Don't compromise. It was was obvious and was actually quite uncomfortable if you slept in the wrong position.
Breakfast - well, it's a farce. Notice in the lifts explained to avoid certain times due to "high occupancy". A hotel of 4* should have the facility to cope with high occupancy and demand at breakfast. This is not the fault of a consumer paying £159 for a room. We "avoided" the suggested time of 10.30am onwards and took breakfast at 9.30am instead. We were checked in and left to find our own table.
Positives? The food was nice. Fresh and well cooked. The downside. Awful staff. I had to ask to be served a hot drink at least 5 times. I had finished my breakfast by the time it had arrived. When it did arrive, it was dumped unceremoniously on to my table, nearly spilling it's contents.
So, I put sugar in to my cup. Then milk. Oops. No milk. I asked for milk. Again, a few grunts later and it arrived. So to stir my coffee. Ooops. No teaspoons on the table. When turning a table in a 4* hotel, the basics should be a given - ensure all crockery and cutlery is provided for the guests occupying the tables. Not doing this causes delays. Delays cause queues. Queues cause complaints. Learn your lessons people.
Check out was ok. Pretty quick and painless. We were let out the back door to the carpark - something I would not like to do in the dark. I am a native of Birmingham and it's a pretty safe city, but a urine soaked carpark in the dirty backstreet is not the best of welcomes or exits from this hotel - it kind of taints the memories.
Either way - it was ok. The room was nice - the view spectacular. No noise, nice and quiet and the general condition of the hotel is great. The staff are hit and miss. Breakfast is a farce. Yes, it's probably better than the 3* review I've given it - but the compromise bed, the abysmal breakfast service and the carpark mark it down. I have no real complaints - but it's expensive for what you really actually get - search around (Malmaison?) and you'll get a better total package. I think once is probably enough for me.
On the front of the hotel, as high as you can get - the view is worth it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for your detailed review - I was pleased that overall you were satisfied with your stay. Hotels do have what we call zip and link beds, and we also have King mattresses, I understand the zip and links can feel slightly different and therefore apologise if you were uncomfortable.
In respect of the your commens relating to breakfast I shall pass these on to our food & beverage manager for further follow up and action. Perhaps if you are in town again you will consider us, if you contact me direct in the future I will sure you are looked after very well.
Thank you for your stay with us, if we dont see you soon then have a great christmas
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.