We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station)
Birmingham Exchange Buildings, Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here twice on business and I honestly cannot fault it. From the minute you check in till you check out, the staff are attentive, well mannered and really care about giving you the best experience possible. Thyme restaurant based in the hotel is beautiful, food is tasty and really well presented. The breakfast choice is great and the staff are so on the ball. Room was spotless. Overall, best premier inn & one of the best hotels Ive stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello Wadz,
Thank you for your gleaming review, its great to hear you had a great time with us and chose to stay with us again, your soon becoming one of our regulars, il pass your kind words about breakfast and dinner onto our restaurant team.
Thankyou for your your review, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    142
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
119
152
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was booked into this hotel when I came to do something at the University of Birmingham and wanted for convenience to stay near New Street Station. This hotel is the opposite of those decayed, creaking, grand old Victorian station hotels (clanking heat systems, ornate lobbies, lumpy beds, ancient surly staff, old codgers in armchairs getting steadily drunk in dark bars) we all love to hate (and, against our best impulses, secretly love). This place is the essence of "hotel" stripped to its bare bones: you get a room with an exceptionally comfortable bed and nice sheets and duvet -- after all, you're there to sleep, and in this hotel there is really nothing else to do. There is no lobby: you take an elevator from the street to the second floor, and there's a sort of small empty space with a lectern-type table, with a computer, where two astonishingly young women in the sorts of uniforms budget airlines make their (equally young) staff wear will find your reservation and give you a key card. You go to your room and sleep; that's it. Don't ask to change the heat (the engineer isn't around and the nice young women have no idea how to do that, although they will at the slightest complaint refund your stay -- which I refused as absurd). Don't look for a business center if your smart phone doesn't work -- there isn't one. Don't, for that matter, look for a lounge, a lobby, a newspaper, a comfortable chair, a view, or anything one might normally find in a "hotel". They don't exist here. This is a sort of shelving system for humans, not a hotel in the way we think of it (with, say, a human being who owns and runs it, or idiosyncrasies of one kind or another). There is, however, a small bar (thank God), and in the morning, if your room comes with breakfast, you will proceed there to eat the kind of breakfast that is, if not bad exactly, entirely without distinguishing traits of any kind. The coffee will come from a machine. Enough said.
So, if you want a comfortable bed, and want absolutely nothing else from your hotel -- nothing to offend you, certainly, but nothing to enchant you either -- this hotel is for you. It is the equivalent of the kind of fast food (Pret a Manger, say, not McDonalds) that will be the same wherever you go. It is without distinction of any kind but will neither harm you nor surprise you. One drawback is that the surrounding area is of a horribleness that surpasses understanding: the station area is under construction and it looks like a skip. That said, I slept well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello Intrepid_historian
Thankyou for staying with us, im happy that you slept well with us and as a hotel we try and give you as much as we possibly can, so along with the comfortable bed and nice sheets and duvet, the rooms are fitted with flat screen TV's which are fitted with freeview and our guests are more than welcome to sit in the bar area to sit down and rest and do either some work or read a book. Our air conditioning can be controlled in the room or from our office but unfortunately on the day you stayed pur air conditioning pannel in our office wasnt working and we were waiting for an engineer to come and look at it.
We will take your comments on board and see what we can do to make your stay even better next time.
Thankyou for your review
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Waited ages at restaurant entrance. No one there or at bar. When we were eventually attended to were told a large party was in and there would be delays. Ate elsewhere. Money back offer for stay is not what we wanted, we wanted to be fed in safety of the hotel. Hotel in good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Aussiejohn_12,
I was very disheartened when I read your review.
I'd like to apologise for the lack of staff at the front of the restaurant and bar, and how there would've be delays due to having a large group in our restaurant. We're looking at ways of putting in a new system so that if we have a large group in our restaurant that we can still accomodate other guests. Because we would like all of our guests to take advantage of us having a restaurant in our hotel and not have to leave our hotel to get some dinner. On a positive note im glad you liked the location of our hotel we're right in the heart of city centre with all the shops you could think of within walking distance.
Once again im sorry that you couldnt have dinner with us and had to go elsewhere.
Thankyou for your your review.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Once again, not disappointed with a Premier Inn. I am so impressed with staff training at P.I's and how they manage to get all staff smiling, helpful and going that extra 'mile' to ensure customer satisfaction!

This trip was two days to meet up with friends from London - perfect mid way meeting point and literally right next door to the station so no time wasted in meeting, greeting and getting to the bar!

Loved Birmingham too by the way - very pleasantly surprised at how clean and exciting it looks now....the canal area was lovely for sitting out and eating. Of course we had to go for a curry on the Balti strip (or triangle?) Fabulous value and excellent service. Will be back to Brum at some point......... Thank you again Premier Inns

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. Our hotel had several hen parties in and never heard a thing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello kathcody,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our customer service and making sure every guest enjoys their stay with us and you've hit the nail on the head, we go that extra mile for our guests. We're literally less than 5 minutes walk from the train station, were located on the pallisades ramp next to HSBC and McDonalds making it easy to spot us when you've got out of the station. Birmingham is amazing, there is a lot to see and do but the canals are by far our best feature to go and see on a sunny day.
Thankyou for your review, hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Birmingham when went to see McBusted! Very friendly, clean rooms and very good breakfast with lovely helpful staff. Very easy to get to from New St Station and situated in the centre of Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Jayne F,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the concert too, our location is perfect to get to the train station and the main arenas in Birmingham. And I'll pass on your nice comments to our breakfast team.
Thankyou for your review.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have stopped at many Premier Inn's and this has claimed top spot. It was a 5m walk up from the station and we received a friendly welcome when we arrived. Room was easy to find and clean and so were the corridors and lift. We ate in the restaurant and received efficient and friendly service with good quality food. We ate at about 8.30 and were practically the only ones in there. It seems most people eat earlier and go out for the night as it was busy when we first arrived at the hotel. There were building works going on outside but we can honestly say we heard nothing. Also you can't open the windows because it's a tower block which filled us with dread but the air con was great and maintained the room temperature comfortably and without loads of noise. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 in 308, the temp was good and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Caroline U,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Im glad we're at the top of your list for premier inns. And that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly, the air conditioning can be controlled by the pannel in your room and also by reception if the panel in your room doesn't seem to be working, but in your case it was working perfectly, our windows are double glazed to keep out the noise of the city, helping you have a good night sleep
Il pass your nice comments onto our restaurant team.
Thankyou for your review, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great service at check-in. Everything you could need in your room, which was clean and comfortable. Decided on breakfast in the morning. Again, comfortable and clean dining area, which was nicely furnished. Every staff member acknowledged us and were really friendly. Will certainly use again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamNS, Receptionist at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Nick L,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms and restaurant clean and comfortable. Our rooms are furnished with everything you could possibly need while away from home, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, 2 sets of pillows, we even have electric shaver plugs, extra tea and coffee and iron and ironing boards at reception. Il also pass your comments onto our team.
Thankyou for your review, see you soon.
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station)

Address: Birmingham Exchange Buildings, Stephenson Place, Birmingham B2 4NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Birmingham's 4 billion pound re-development, the New Street station gateway and the new Pallsades shopping centre. There are an excellent array of facilities and attractions on our doorstep or just minutes away, including the famous Bull Ring, Digbeth Coach Station, Brindley Place, Chinatown, The Mailbox, Hippadrome, The New Alexandra Theatre, The New Birmingham Central Library, Broad Street, cinemas and a vast selection of restaurants and bars. Our Birmingham City Centre (New Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room with skyline views of Birmingham City Centre and our modern Thyme restaurant serves a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. There is a taxi rank situated 200 yards from the hotel. Please be aware that there is no on site car parking, however there is ample car parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.