We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Michelangelo

Il Michelangelo
Cressett Lane | Brockmoor, Brierley Hill, Birmingham DY5 3JA, England
+44 1384 74405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,592 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $68
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Italian cuisine just South West of Birmingham in the heart of the West Midlands. This family owned and operated Italian gem of a restaurant offers fantastic value for money dining, whether it's for Lunch, Dinner, Supper, Sunday Lunch or that Special Occassion.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our third visit to this little hidden gem. Found it by accident and cannot stop visiting. The staff are very professional, food is fantastic, very generous portions. Every time the standard has been the same. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    19
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An anniversary to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband had booked this restaurant for our wedding anniversary one Saturday night in October. He should have booked it for my birthday the end of June but he forgot and i will never forgive him for making me wait a further 3 and a half months to taste this little bit of Italy hidden away in Brockmoor.

Like one of the other authors he had booked on line and had a confirmation email of the booking but when we got there, there was no record of our booking but without turning a hair they created us a table and sat us down.

The staff on service could not do enough to make our night. We were offered drinks whilst we made our decision on what to eat - we could have got drunk as there was so much choice on the menu and looking at the servings around us the restraunt didn't skimp on portion sizes.

I had the fish cakes followed by the stroganoff and it was to die for. my husband had the anti pasta and tagliatelli which he wolfed down without a second thought. We chose a Chianti to go with the meal which was very pleasant. We could have easily eat our way through the dessert menu - but chose not to embarrass ourselves and just took the lemon limencello and amaretti puddings. Mmmmm.........

The service was exceptional and the restraunt was full on the night we were there. The staff were pleasant, didn't hovver around waiting to clear your plates and were very polite. The best bit was that you could see into the kitchen which was spotless and it ran like clockwork. There was no shouting, screaming or swearing - just a calm production of excellent food. Gordon Ramsey take note.

Will i be going to Il Michaelangelo's again? - you bet! At just under £65 for 2 x 3 courses, drinks, and wine it's manner from the Gods!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had heard good things about this place, and decided to find out for myself. All was as anticipated, very good italian food, reasonable prices and absolutely excellent service. Don't leave it for everyone else, try it yourself. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Re new wedding vows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding vows on Sunday 22nd September what a fantastic day was had by all. The decor of the room was stunning from the red carpet ,flowers, balloons to the outstanding window backdrops.There was 90guests and we must give credit to Baggio the chef and his team for the outstanding service on every course. We recommend if you have a special occasion to go along and speak to Leo we cannot thank him enough for giving us such a beautiful day . So once again Leo thank you your team of chefs and all the waiters,waitresses for out standing service. Lynn and Kevin.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“how a real Italian meal should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My daughter booked a table here without checking reviews (very risky) fortunately it was superb.
I had a chicken dish with a creamy paprika sauce and Mediterranean roast vegetables, it was out of this world. My comment was "there must be Angels cooking in the kitchen".
Anyway..enough about my food.
The waiters were friendly (and Italian) the service was quick and the atmosphere was great.
I am not a big fan of Italian food but this was a real treat.
4 people including wine, beer, 2 sweets and 2 coffees was £74.

Go and enjoy. You will need to book.

Andy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Michelangelo also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Il Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.