We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eating experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Passion

Sushi Passion
Great Western Arcade | Colmore Row, Birmingham, England
121 238 2933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 1,606 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Devonian in exile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An eating experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Well it is surprisingly difficult to find but is well worth the effort! We are not, by any stretch of the imagination, Sushi experts but what we do know is that we had a delicious lunchtime meal. It's a different setting but to be honest once you are sat on the high stools at the bar/counter your attention is totally focussed on Adam and his expert food preparation. This was really tasty, visually stimulating and very fresh food all being prepared less than a metre away from your seats - an entertaining and stimulating lunch - really enjoyable - thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Yo It's better than Selfridges !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Location is eccentric just like its Polish owner but this guy can roll cut & present like a true Japanese master there are only a limited number of seats in a very small open bar area that is situated in Birminghams indoor market this could be a little off putting to some people but don't let it hold you back if you want to try the freshest & tastiest sushi this side of Tokyo !
The menu is a little confusing ie too much choice for such a micro cafe but god only wonders what this guy could do on a larger scale with a bit of financial backing be great to see him in a restaurant environment as he is a real gem of a chef !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate here at the request of our Son who is a student in Birmingham. It did take a bit of finding but was well worth the hunt. There are only 6 seats so it can sometimes be pot luck for getting fed. The food is all prepared fresh and due to the size of the restaurant you can sit and watch the sushi etc being made. We had a selection of sushi and sashimi and all of it was of the highest standard and far better than the offering from a certain "chain" offering not that far away in the Bullring.
Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The name says it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Best sushi you can get in the West Midlands, without a doubt. After coming back from a holiday in Japan I scoured the area for a place like this and it ticks all the boxes. If you want high quality, well presented delicious sushi this is the place to go. Now...all I need is to find a place that does good ramen up here!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I might not be an world remound expert on sushi but i've eaten a lot of it in the midlands, over the UK and across the far east. This is a hidden gem of Birmingham. Adam the chef knows what he is talking about, he lives and breaths sushi. He is knowledgable about everything that he puts on your plate and will explain anything you want to know about ingredients, etiquette and his experiences. It is small. Very small. Only 7 seats up against a small bar in the indoor market in Birmingham but it is worth finding. It is worth waiting for a seat. Its worth listening to what he has to say and recommend. Watching him work you are struck by his efficiency in everything he does, his eye for detail and aesthetic (of paramount importance in sushi/sashimi) and his genuine passion for sushi. We will be returning very very soon. The only bad thing to say is that if he carries on the way he is going, it wont be there very long. He'll be able to open up a much larger restaurant somewhere else in Birmingham which will hopefully do as well. Get there soon and experience this fantastic little place in an intimate and friendly setting. You may have to get in the queue behind me and my fiance though...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Passion also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Sushi Passion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Passion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.