We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what Brum needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Passion

Sushi Passion
Great Western Arcade | Colmore Row, Birmingham, England
121 238 2933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,602 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what Brum needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brilliant Sushi made by a guy that genuinely cares about what he is doing. Makes every other place in Brum doing Sushi look comical. I would say its a little expensive but considering nowhere comes close it is worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you like sushi you must visit here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Quite simply, this is by far the best Sushi I have ever eaten.

The location is VERY informal, since the "restaurant" is effectively just 7 stools next to a bar in the market. However, the food is absolutely superb; there is a wide selection on the menu, very reasonably priced. Sushi Passion has a staff of one - the chef - who takes your order and then prepares it in front of you while you wait. He's also happy to talk to you about the process of making sushi if he's not too busy.

If you're a fan of raw fish, you absolutely must visit this place. It's a hidden gem!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“People of Birmingham, forget Yo Sushi and come here for an awesome sushi meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Came here on the recommendation of a friend

Location and parking 4/5
Hidden right in the middle of the Birmingham Indoor Fish Market

Food 5/5
This sushi is some of the best I’ve tried in the UK.

Service 5/5
No complaints, the chef went out of his way to accommodate me.

Atmosphere 4/5
Only about 7 seats available at the Sushi bar. In the middle of a bustling market.

Toilets N/A

Value 5/5
Sushi like this elsewhere would easily be 3-4 time the cost charged here.

Overall 5/5
People of Birmingham, forget Yo Sushi and come here for an awesome sushi meal!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh lush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited today after a recommendation, being a Wednesday lunch time we didn't bother to book and were the only people sitting at the six chairs for a while but this tiny gem of a restaurant soon filled up so if you are making a special trip book ahead (he's on Facebook).
My hubby and started with some Miso soup which warmed us on this cold day and tasted wonderful, we then shared a plate of sushi that was made fresh to order in front of us.
The Polish guy running this place has been trained all over the world, is happy to answer any questions, show you what to do, make recommendations, and have his photo taken! Super friendly and very talented - perfect. (he also does sushi making classes)
The food was very good, and very fresh but best of all it was amazing value. I have already promised myself that I will never eat sushi in Selfridge's again but this place just confirms what a poor and expensive attempt at sushi that place is!"
Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great find and highly recommended. Came back from a holiday in Japan and was desperate to find a sushi place in Birmingham. Probably the best place in Birmingham for good sushi!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Passion also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Sushi Passion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Passion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.