We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus to your Saves list
Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Chads, Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Ladywood)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Manager of reception was rude and obnoxious!
Room was nice! Wouldn't say a lot about the £6.95 breakfast! Then to find I was being charged £18 to park over night! And that wa with a 25% discount! Disgraceful!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    158
    115
    50
    40
See reviews for
34
100
39
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent, and the staff were friendly. The first night was comfortable and despite there being a long list of foods not available from the menu, we had a pleasant meal.
However on returning to the hotel on the second evening, I found the bed in the middle of the room with no mattress, the bedding on the floor and all my belongings gone! I went to reception and was told there had been a 'maintenance issue' and they had had to move me to another room. Surely an attempt to contact me, a note on the door, or even over-riding my keycard so I didn't walk in to what looked like a ransacked room would have been possible? There was an apology from the staff on reception and a bottle of wine in my new room, but no explanation of what the problem had been. I was not happy at all to have had all my personal items packed and moved, and asked for a manager to contact me - however a week later I have had no contact (unlike a colleague who received the standard 'tell us about your stay' email). Not pleased with the way this incident was handled.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed over for a conference in a single room. Colleagues also stayed and the rooms varied in size and cleanliness. My room was small and basic but very comfortable and warm.There was an extra plug in heater but this was not needed. Very near to the station and shoppping centre and within easy walking distance of some good restuarants. Hotel staff were very helpful and one particular waiter could not have been more helpful and friendly at breakfast (didn't get his name). Reception staff recomende some good eateries and even provided us with a map.
The bed was comfy and clean but the shower in my room was the best i have ever had - even better than my own at home - great pressure and easily adjustable temperature control. The toilet bowl was cracked and stained (water marks)but all else fine.

Room Tip: colleague got an upgrade on equest when problems identified wth her room. Mine was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a business conference and the hotel had been chosen and booked by the company upon previous recommendations of colleagues. They weren't wrong! The staff at the front desk couldn't seem to do enough, particularly Rebecca Walker, who was both efficient, very friendly and extremely helpful with things like taxis and getting wifi! The staff in the restaurant were all keen to ensure that we had the best possible service. The food was very good both for breakfast and evening meal. We can recommend the red Thai curry, haddock and chips, and the massala. We had a twinroom, which was very clean with comfortable beds and the nrmal tea coffee and toiletries etc. We were facing the road in 522 so there was a bit of noise but then Birmingham is a large bustling city after all! The hotel is close to the Bull Ring and centre. There s a spacious lounge area for quiet drinks ( quite pricey but nice). There was a lovely outdoor terrace but it was too cold to use. I believe there is also a pool but again didn't use it. I really enjoyed and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Let me start off with the positives about this hotel, its only a ten min walk from New Street Station and the Bull Ring shopping centre, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and the total cost of the stay was very reasonable, think I paid about £40. Now the negatives...the bed was very firm, didn’t find it very comfortable at all, the shower never seemed to stay the same temperature, just as it got warm it suddenly got uncomfortably hot. These are only minor issues and can turn a blind eye, but the main issue I had was the noise. My room was right opposite a hen party who were very loud, both before going out, when they got back at 3 in the morning and then again at 8! We made a complaint to reception and were told we have to accept some noise with it being a central hotel. I've stayed at several hotel in B'ham before, all in the centre but never experienced such noise. I asked for some sort of good will gesture, a refund or something but was told this wasn’t possible. In short, an OK hotel but don’t stay on a Fri/Sat night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

I am happy to read your positive comments concerning our location, cleanliness, value and staff, however I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by some of our other guests.

We are indeed a city centre hotel, however, I agree that you should not expect to be disturbed during your stay.

Please be assured that I am investigating this and I would be keen to speak to you direct so I can find out more information.

May I ask that you contact me direct through the hotel so we can discuss further.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and not too far from the Christmas market, clean, large room, the staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel was smart, offered all of the essential amenities etc. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for one night 26/01/13 on a deal price of £42.50 per room including B'fast ( 2 adults) with our friends who also had one room (2 adults) on the same deal.

Staff very friendly and very accommodating, Rooms were clean and tidy and Breakfast was very good.

Stayed the night as we were watching an Eagles tribute band at the town hall ( ten minute walk away) and at this rate per night it was easier to stay over.

Used the bar prior to and at the end of our eveing out and again staff weree very friendly and accommodating and prices were not too bad given the it was a hotel and in the centre of B'ham

Room Tip: we had a room at the back whiched overlooked the multistory car park next to the Childrens hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus

Address: St Chads, Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Thistle Birmingham City, our city-centre location makes us an ideal venue for both business and leisure travellers. We’re close to the Bullring shopping centre, and within 10 minutes’ drive to the City Stadium, Villa Park and Edgbaston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.