We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly pleasant two-night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Birmingham Centre to your Saves list
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham) (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant two-night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of March and was perfectly happy with the experience. My room was comfortable and the bed (a double) was excellent, although the pillows were a bit hard. The bathroom was very good, with an excellent shower; I didn't suffer any problems with water pressure as other reviewers have mentioned.

The location of the hotel is a mixed-bag; good for walking along the canal towards the Library of Birmingham and Broad Street but not great for walking towards the central shopping area and New Street Station, due to a rather pedestrian-unfriendly environment towards that direction.

Breakfast was ok, the quality of the food and coffee was fine, but nothing to write home about. I'd much prefer it if they just increased the price of the room by a fiver and did a cooked buffet rather than the current 'continental' offering.

As others have said, the heating in the rooms will only work in tandem with the air conditioning which was quiet and allowed the room to reach a comfortable temperature.

Service was excellent throughout: quick, courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - we appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you had a good 2 nights stay with us and we hope that should you return to Birmingham, that you will return to the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

Carla Barrat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    242
    88
    23
    19
See reviews for
60
142
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Was a bit apprehensive about a hotel like this in the centre of a city. Often they are cramped and noisy.
This was an eye opener. Hardly any noise at all ( we were on fifth floor)
Very clean, staff were really friendly and helpful.
Secure underground car parking was a bonus in a location like this. Cost £12 per 24 hours.
Location? Oh yes, 10 mins straight line walk from New Street Station. Less than 5 mins walk to NIA. Brilliant.
Bit of info the car park is not intuitive to find, it as actually around the back of the hotel and not that well signed, could do with a sign at the entrance with directions.
Breakfast was the only let down, as trays of pastries emptied they did not seem to get refilled.
Overall a very good stay and would definitely come here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Fantastic Review - Top Marks, Thank you!!

Such a delight to read your review as you have highlighted many great aspects of the hotel to include location, quiet and one of the few hotels to have our own secure car park.

We hope that should your travels bring you back to Birmingham, that you will choose to return to the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

Carla Barrat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Got a great deal (Somehow?) for £46, for a family room for one night (Includes breakfast!) - this was about half the price of anywhere else. Very friendly, and has a lovely pub right next door which does food etc. Good atmosphere. Breakfast was buffet style, I guess fairly basic, but can help yourself to coffees, hot pancakes, toast, ham, cheeses etc. Certainly suited us, and saved us money by not having to search around elsewhere for breakfast.

Only 2 slight negative points: One is that our breakfast was cleared away before we could eat it (Full coffees, juices, plates of rolls, pancakes etc) while we were getting drinks or whatever. We had to get it again, not a big deal. Also the location, although very central and few mins walk from everywhere. is by a bit of an awkward junction to walk about. Once you have worked it out, it's fine (Its a quiet location)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, its great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am sorry that your breakfast items were cleared away without your awareness, I will raise this with the team.

We hope you come back and stay very soon!

Carla Barrat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night prior to attending a conference at the ICC.

The hotel is very conveniently located for the ICC, being a couple of minutes walk away and it’s also very close to the new library, the bars and restaurants by the Canal and not too far a walk from New Street.

From previous visits to Birmingham I know that this hotel used to belong to another, rival, chain before being converted to a Ibis Styles some point in the last year or so.

The room was of a good size and well equipped, though with a slightly oddly designed bathroom

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, with all the bread products clearly a little overcooked (well, burnt if I’m brutally honest in places)

For a hotel located so close to a major conference centre I was slightly concerned that it took over 10 minutes to check out as there was just one member of staff on reception, and she was away dealing with another customer for much of that time.

Positives
Location
Comfortable Room and Bed

Negative
Burnt breakfast
Very slow checkout

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located.

I am sorry that the pastries were a little overcooked, this will be bought to the attention of the breakfast team so we can rectify this ongoing.

Please accept my apologies for the delay you experienced when checking out of the hotel, we always have as a minimum 2 members of reception staff on duty. I will look into this and understand what caused this delay.

I hope that should your travels bring you back to Birmingham again in the future, that you will return to the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre again.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a late review for a stay I had in November 2013. The site would not let me review it again as I had already submitted a previous review saying how good it was and that would definitely stay again. Apparently I had to wait a period of time before I did.

Having stayed last night in a Holiday Inn which this hotel was in a previous life I can only say what a difference and a change of brand makes. I can only with one of the previous reviews about the standard of the breakfast. Compared with my previous stay and where I stayed last night it was absolutely shocking. Where staff went out of their way to assist on the previous occasion I got absolute negativity. Certainly not in my opinion a change for the better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your second stay at the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

If you could provide me with more details as to why you did not enjoy your stay I would be greatful as the review doesnt indicate this.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here with another family just before Christmas. The price was great for a city centre location and we were able to walk to the Christmas market without any children complaining of tired legs!

The rooms were warm and clean. Very comfy double bed and a perfectly decent sofa bed for the children although would be a bit of a squash if they were much older than my 7 and 10 year olds.

Breakfast in the morning was a perfectly fine continental affair with plenty of choice and we were quite happy with it. Complimentary hot drinks from the machine in the foyer were also greatly appreciated especially for hot chocolate when we got back from the market.

All in all this was a really good stay and staff were always pleasant and helpful both to us and our children. I imagine we'll be back next Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope you come back very soon, and dont forget, if you book in advance discounted rates are available.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night midweek stay at this hotel. We have used the hotel several times before when it was a Holiday Inn and it previously met our needs at a fair price. We returned because several of our friends were also staying here while we all attended an international sporting event at the NIA. It was not especially cheap compared with nearby alternatives. The experience was a disappointment overall and we will not be returning.

Some positives to start with:

It really is very convenient for the NIA being a short and pleasant walk along the canal towpath.
It is a short walk from New Street station but you will want to find out the best route before you arrive to avoid some unsavoury areas and detours due to a main road without a pedestrian crossing. (Yes the hotel will give you a map and directions, but that's a bit late when you have already navigated there)
Staff at reception were helpful and polite and were keen to please.
Complimentary tea and coffee in reception.
Roooms were clean and house keeping kept them that way, with replenishment of towels when we wanted them.

But...

The breakfast:

Truly horrible attempt at a continental breakfast. (the hotel blurb had not mentioned that it was continental - I'm sure the french hotel group would have been appalled by their attempt at a "continental" breakfast)

There was fruit salad but it was mostly made from unripe melon and was almost inedible. (We pointed this out to the staff and were rewarded the next day by it not being available at all)

The fruit juice came from a machine and was made from concentrate. The problem was that the recipe had not been followed or the machine was faulty and it came out as almost pure concentrate. It had to be seriously watered down to make it drinkable.

Twice the coffee machine was not working properly and was dispensing cuppuchino without milk!

The bread. Absolutely ghastly cheap white and brown sliced bread dumped on a tray straight from the packets.

Fruit - rather sad collection of apples in a dispenser.

Cereals - a small selection of packets and a choice of whole or semi skimmed milk. By 9 am all the semi skimmed had gone and that was that!

Cheese - rectangular packets of slimy rather rubbery cheddar.

There were some small croissants and pain au chocolat - vaguely warm but not very nice.

There was an option to purchase a bacon bap. One other guest asked for one of these and was told it would take about 15 minutes - he didn't bother.

The breakfast area was a bit crowded. The staff struggled to keep the tables clean from the throughput of guests. While we were there the hard-pressed staff cleared one table while the guests were at the counter getting something to eat. They returned to the table to find their drinks and plates and cutlery had been removed.

The Room:

We had a twin room. It was not very big but what you would expect for a budget price.

The beds were Ok but not as comfortable as we expected.

The bathroom configuration is a bit strange. The toilet door swings across two doorways so in theory one person can use the loo while someone else uses the wash basin/shower. Except that the glass partition between the shower and the toilet is not very opaque so there is not really enough privacy if you are not an intimate couple.

The shower is listed as a "power shower". There was not much evidence of power other than gravity feed (we were on 4th floor), and the water temperature was affected when someone else used the basin or flushed the toilet. Not good. Temperature in the shower should be independently controlled by thermostadt.

The room heating is hard to control. Heat comes from a small Dimplex electric heater under the window. The heater only works when the air conditioner is also switched on. Even if you follow the instructions and put the fan on the lowest setting, one cancels out the other. We were cold.

Like in many modern hotels, the electricity is only activated when you put your room keycard in a slot on the wall. The problem with this is that the heating is also switched off when you are not in the room. If like us you return to your room at the end of the day at 10pm, the room will be cold from being without any heat all day. A poor arrangement.

We had absolutely no mobile phone signal in the room. (Vodafone) I suppose this is beyond the control of the hotel but is inconvenient. Especially so because......

The complimentary WiFi has to be activated by keying in a code sent to you by text message. If you have no mobile signal, you get no text message, so can't activate the wi-fi. Catch 22

We went down to reception and the receptionist gave us a "guest" internet access code that worked in the reception area only. That got us past the problem but we only got the proper wifi code by text message once we left the hotel and came back in range of a mobile phone signal. Pretty hopeless.

.........

In summary this was an experience we will choose not to repeat. There is a wide choice of alternative hotels nearby including budget price offerings. If you really want cheap and cheerful go somewhere else. If you want a decent breakfast and it is not offered by your hotel, the nearby Wetherspoons provides a good alternative.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBarratt, General Manager at ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay of the ibis Styles Birmingham Centre.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, in a convenient location and had a team that made you feel welcome.

I am however very disappointed to hear that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed to the relevent departments for action to be taken where possible.

I hope that your experience does not disuade you from staying in other ibis Styles hotels in the future.

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Birmingham Centre

Address: 65 Lionel Street, Birmingham B3 1JE, England (Formerly Lionel Street Hotel Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Birmingham Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 star Hotel in a prime city centre location. The Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre (formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre)is 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station and eight miles from Birmingham International Airport.The Hotel features 248 newly refurbished bedrooms with amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, satellite flat screen TV, free Wi Fi throughout all bedrooms and refreshment making facilities as standard. The hotel hosts both business and social gatherings with a total of 14 flexible Function Rooms that can accommodate from 8 to 630 delegates. Easily accessible by major UK motorways (M6, M5, M40 and M42). The ideal place to meet and a great base for exploring the many attractions the Heart of England has to offer. Visit nearby attractions including Cadbury World, Sealife Centre and the historic Stratford upon Avon. The hotel is also excellently positioned within walking distance of the highly acclaimed Bullring Shopping Centre. The established in house restaurant offers a variety of traditional cuisine and after a busy day the relaxing environment of the lounge bar complements the experience of the Ibis Styles Birmingham Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Styles Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Birmingham Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.