We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked this hotel because we were attended a concert at LG Arena. From the time we arrived the staff were attentive and friendly. We dined there in the evening as part of our package and the food was excellent. The rooms are light and airy spotlessly clean and everything you need n

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Christine B,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us whilst going to a concert to the LG Arena.
I do hope that you will be staying with us again when you are next in the area.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    438
    179
    66
    36
See reviews for
116
359
43
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here last night on the airport stay and park scheme.Cannot fault it .Rooms were spotless great shower and a good breakfast which I prepaid for .Reception staff were very helpful and as the shuttle driver was off they got us a taxi .

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for one night, due to an early flight the next day. The reception staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful, ensuring we had a taxi both ways to the airport due to it being out of hours for the hotel shuttle bus. The room was excellent in every way and had everything you would need. Would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 17th of July following the Carlos Santana concert at the LG arena. Upon arriving check in was swift and efficient with all the usual questions asked were we okay with luggage ect this woman was friendly if not slightly impersonal although this is to be expected by a business hotel such as this. As I am a member of the hotel rewards group we were given two free drinks vouchers to be redeemed at the bar which came in handy as drinks are not cheap. Following this we were given our room card and told top floor this was no issue due to the lifts which were clean and spacious upon arriving at our room we saw we were in the Hendrix suite this had not been pre arranged and my boyfriend was ecstatic it made his stay. The room was clean and large although found the fact there was no kettle strange the balcony was a high point of the stay as it was large and overlooked the lake (and buildings works although this was no issue at all) sleep was fine the air con worked yet was slightly noisy nothing to keep you up though. The shower was good and all basic toiletries are there, there is an ice bucket and ice machine in the corridor which was beneficial in this warm weather.

Check out was swift and much more friendly then check in, we then went to have lunch which was very good if not a bit pricy for what you get the only problem I have with this hotel is the bar/food service despite it not being at all busy the two members of staff on struggled I feel this is due to understaffing and the staff having to run both food and bar and having to leave the bar every time someone wishes to order something this could easily be solved through better management of staff or training one plus side to the bar is when the waitress accidentally took my boyfriends drink she brought him a fresh one free of charge.

If not for the bar service this hotel would be faultless and just added to a perfect day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Myspacelandlord,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the bedroom and facilities to your satisfaction.
I am very sorry that the service in the bar was not up to standard and we will be looking at this issue so that it can be resolved quickly and will not cause any future problems for other guest.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived and had a speedy check in but when we went to our room the air conditioning was not working properly and it was a very hot day. They moved us to another room and the air conditioning was working. The light bulb above bath needed replacing so it was a rather dark shower I had. We only stayed one night so I told them on check out. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant but it was very hot so they sat us by an open window. The public areas were all rather warm they need to sort out their air conditioning issues. The food was good and service very pleasant. We had a nice breakfast and the dining room was somewhat cooler as it was earlier in the day. The bed was comfortable but sagged in the middle so my husband and I slept as far apart as possible to avoid the saggy middle! The hotel is nice being by the lake and you get complimentary water in the room and good toiletries in bathroom. I would stay again if going to a concert at the LG arena as it is right by the hotel. If they can sort out these issues it would be much better. Staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear waxyLondon,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do apologise about the issues that you had with the air conditioning.
It is also good to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and I do hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked the Crown Plaza NEC through Superbreaks, only to discover that for some reason our booking hadn't come through. I forgot to record her name, but a most helpful Polish member of staff sorted everything out, rewarding us with complimentary drinks and breakfast to compensate for the time we had to spend waiting in reception.

We had no problems with the our air conditioning (thankfully) and the interconnecting rooms were very useful. I'd happily stay here again (at least at superbreak rates).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear G630DW,

thank you for your time and leaving a review.

It is great to hear that our receptionist looked after you and sorted out the problem with the reservation.

I do hope that you will be staying with us again in the future and that you would recommend us to family and friends.

Kind Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I chose the hotel as had a meeting there, but was paying personally. It was more expensive that some of the surrounding options but am very pleased with the choice. All the staff were great - very friendly and professional, including putting up with my late night / tired checkin and queries.

Bar area was welcoming and professionally staffed, and a Starbucks next to it served well in the morning. Complementary water in the room and good breakfast buffet was appreciated

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear JonoFI,

thank you very much for your feedback and I am glad to read to you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.