We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ideal venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Was really impressed by this hotel last week. As a meeting venue it was great. It's in a good location that is easy to get to by road, rail or air - and the meeting rooms are light, bright and airy. So often conference venues are in the basement with no natural light and one goes home afterwards feeling that you've spent time in a subterranean bunker. Not so here! There's lots of glass, lots of natural light - and it's fun to watch the rabbits and geese nibbing the grass outside or the seagulls catching fish out of the lake! The food in the restaurant, and also the catering for our meetings, was excellent. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A lake-side view is much nicer than a carpark view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    437
    179
    66
    36
See reviews for
114
358
43
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in lake view room as read reviews saying it would be quieter. If was very quiet so got a good nights sleep. Found hotel staff very friendly which can be rare in chain hotels. Breakfast nof bad snc fresh. Staff attentive. Only criticisms were bed a bit hard for my liking (but that is my preference) and air con not that powerful (if a really hot day). Overall would recommend and definitely use if at LG arena as only a quick walk across road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thankyou for writing a review.

I am delighted to see that you had pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

The lake view rooms are definitely worth paying for as they do provide a nice view of the lake around the hotel rather than the NEC car park at the Front of the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon at the hotel

Many Thanks

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is great hotel and ideal for the LG Arena and NEC. It is right by the lake and some great views. If you are travelling via plane or train they will pick you up from Birmingham International as they have a complimentary shuttle. The service in hotel is great and the service and food in the bar lounge was excellent. The rooms are good and adequate. The only minor point is if you are going to the LG Arena or NEC passing by the lake(especially in the dark), be warned the Canadian Geese leave little deposits on the pathway!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for writing such a positive review here on Trip Adviser.

We do our utmost to make sure our guest experiences are as relaxing and enjoyable as they can be and from your feedback I can see that we have done that.

The location is ideal for NEC (and yes sometime you do have to avoid the geese) the LG just being a short walk away.

I will pass you compliments on to all hotel departments.

We hope you return to the hotel again and we will look forward to serving you.

Many Thanks

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The ideal choice for any stay at the NEC. The property is immaculately clean with quiet, comfortable and well equipped rooms. The bar and restaurant areas are also very comfortable with a good selection of food & drink.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your trip and adviser review.

I am delighted that you have branded us the best hotel at the NEC this is great feedback for our teams.

I will pass you compliments on to all areas and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here again this year for the third time for the same business event - every time, the hotel has been ideal for purpose, with nice rooms, good food, pleasant staff - no complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Elainegibby

Thankyou very much for you review - I am so glad that you enjoy you experience whilst visiting our hotel and that you enjoy all aspects and find the service to your liking. It really nice to hear that we are doing such a good job.

I am delighted to see that you have returned with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here with a good deal from laterooms which included parking (for up to 15 nights but we just needed 2). Check in was quick and very friendly and the free shuttle bus (to the airport a couple of miles away) was arranged for the next morning. When we returned we called the hotel and the bus came to meet us. All very easy and stress free.

The room was quiet, clean, well appointed and comfortable. No complaints.

Special thanks to Begona on reception who was particulary friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the lake which is a bit more picturesque than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear jane r

Many Thanks for your excellent review on our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the airport shuttle bus service smooth and stress free we do our best to ensure that we meet all of our customers need.

I will personally pass your compliments to Bego who will be delighted with this feedback. Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Many Thanks

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

didn't actually stay the night here but attended a conference which I have done for the last 12 years....still disappointingly they do not do free wi-fi not good I think for a conference, I could get wi-fi anywhere I stayed in the USA BUT in England's 2nd city???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback - it is great to here feedback from our conference guest as well as our overnight residents.

I do apologise that you found our wi fi charges to be expensive - we find our prices very competitive to most four star hotels and brands. I am going to ensure that senior management receive this feedback though so they can see you thoughts on this.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC

Address: Pendigo Way | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of England the Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a unique contemporary style and simple elegance on the doorstep of the NEC and within close proximity of Birmingham International Airport. Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC offers a luxurious accommodation featuring air-conditioning, high speed Internet access (subject to an additional charge) and TV with movies on demand. A fashionable bar and Pendigo's Restaurant is also available for all residents and non-residents. With 11 custom-designed meeting and banqueting suites, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC has the flexibility to host events of many shapes and sizes. Set in landscaped grounds overlooking Pendigo Lake, Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC is only 5 minutes walk from the National Exhibition Centre and NEC Arena, 5 minutes drive from Birmingham International Airport and International Train Station, 10 miles from Birmingham City Centre and within easy reach of major UK motorways (M5, M6, M40 and M42).WI-FI Internet Access is available in all meeting rooms, bar and the restaurant. We also have very reasonable Park and Fly packages packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.