We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Halesowen, West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here between 22-24th December and overral its a good place.
Let's start with price which is excellent, you get good service for what you pay.
Location is great, Broad Street/Five Ways so everything is nearby, mailbox, nia, bullring and Brindley Place all within a stones throw away.
The staff at friendly and do a good job keeping the rooms clean.
Breakfast is included and a buffet style setup with food which is not bad at all, I didnt mind the brekkie at all.
Only gripe is parking, hefty prices but it is secure and the hotels own to be fair.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for the great comments, its nice to hear when our guests love the hotel. The Hampton team pride themselves on delivering the highest of standards and when this is recognised it gives them a real sense of pride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    522
    143
    42
    19
See reviews for
142
482
49
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night absolute bargain.
My friend pre booked this at a cost of about £45 with breakfast, on arrival I thought great, right in the middle of broad street, cheap hotel = no sleep.
We'll how wrong was I,clean basic rooms no noise at all
and it was full of rockers from the black sabbath gig , which I must say I also attended.
Breakfast wasn't bad considering the price we paid ,buffet style help yourself fair choice of foods but not the best quality but as I said for what we paid can't complain! I stayed at the malmazon a couple of weeks ago and got well shafted £225 + breakfast and that wasn't worth what I paid.
The only small criticism the chairs in reception are a little grubby and could do with cleaning if that was done then I couldn't fault the place .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks, its great to see that you had such a great time during your stay, please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Was welcomed to this hotel by very friendly staff who told us that the two twin rooms we booked were not ready and we should put our luggage in and come back later. On returning three hours later we were told that our twin rooms had been given away and all that could be offered was two doubles!! So my first bit of advice would be to ensure you know your room numbers even if the rooms not ready. The lady I had booked to come with was ill but I really dont know what I would have done as she would not have shared a bed and there was nothing else available.
I will however say that the staff were very apologetic and we were assured of an adequate refund for the inconvenience.

My other issue however with this hotel is the breakfast - one has to queue up with trays to get the breakfast only to find that you have to find somewhere to sit along what seems to be a corridor near reception - some end up sitting on a settee eating breakfast as there are few tables! I would say this would not suit either someone with mobility problems or in fact a business person who may have to leave their luggage somewhere whilst queuing with their tray. For such a large hotel I find this unacceptable.

Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious with a good shower room and the location to town is also excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and choosing Hampton By Hilton for your stay. It is always great to hear our guest experiences as we use all of them to better our services . We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is Hampton and not a big 5-star luxury Hilton, to put this review into perspective. Compared to other hotels of similar class (Premier Inn, Jury's Inn, etc.) this was a fine place to stay. The rooms are modern decor and clean and were spacious compared to other similar hotel chains, with space for a desk and lounge chair. Breakfast was included in the price and can't complain at all for the value. There was cooked food and continental options, not marvelous but we all ate and had no complaints. Parking is attached and only 10 GBP a night, which is very decent in Birmingham. We stayed to visit the Christmas Market and Pantomime at the Hippodrome. Both were easy walks. Only downside was that the reception area was small and packed during checkout times and you could wait a while for the lifts. We were told the hotel was booked solid, so it may not be like this all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for the excellent feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Visited here beginning of December. Doesn't look much from the outside, but wait until you get inside. Modern looking hotel, rooms spacious, en-suite fabulous. Tea and coffee making facilities. Very clean,spotless. Breakfast good, continental and full English. Really enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review! We love hearing about our guest experiences and hope to welcome you back to the Hampton very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were a bit dubious after paying £75 for a room for 2 including breakfast.
The hotel was modern and clean with an on site car park too. The room was very clean and bigger than others we have paid a lot more to stay in. Great bathroom with a powerful shower and shower gels etc supplied.
The bed was comfortable and we could not of asked for more.
Breakfast was good with everything supplied, overall an excellent experience and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to avoid noise off Broad Street or a low room to avoid queues for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and we are very pleased to read that you found your stay with us very comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

If I was rating this hotel on value it's 10/10. Modern clean and comfortable rooms. Free wifi. Free breakfast. Reasonably priced on site car parking. Iron and ironing board in every room. Great TV. Free bathroom toiletries.

If I rated this against some other hotels I'd say 7/10. Bar is too small. Reception is too small. Breakfast area too small and not enough staff. Although included, low quality breakfast. Car park too small. Hotel very busy so long wait on lifts. No glasses for a cold drink. No ice machines. No cool storage.

I would stay again if the price was right (ie low) but wouldn't pay top dollar to stay here. Upper class budget hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamdi D, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to tell us how your stay was, we love hearing about our guest experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.