We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, customer service poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Save Saved
You added Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £55
Ranked #18 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, customer service poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

On arrival, good impressions of the hotel - central location with great selection of bars, restaurants on Bingley place(sp?) and Broad Street.
Checked in - went up the lift to the room to find the twin room I had booked, we had been allocated a double. Went back to reception which was changed no problem. Allocated another room, was given a key to somebody elses room with belongings in!!
After a third trip to reception we were finally allocated a room but to find 2 hours later the reception team member had given another party a key to our room!
Very unprofessional and not at all secure. During this whole mess, was not once given an apology.
However, despite the unprofessionalism of staff, the hotel was modern and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: If you hate waiting for a lift, a room above reception would be beneficial so you only need to tackl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Shh1066,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel in Birmingham. We really appreciate your honest feedback.

We are very disappointed to read that you had a number of issues upon arrival. I have raised this issue with our Front of House manager and our check-in procedures are now being reviewed to ensure that similar incidents do not reoccur in the future.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you were pleased with our location. We would agree that we are extremely lucky to be situated where we are - there are not many city centre hotels that can boast the central shopping area just a short walk away as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, thank you for your valued comments.

Many Thanks,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    421
    111
    34
    17
See reviews for
103
377
42
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

True review of this hotel. Stayed here on a friday and saturday night for a night out on the town, so being on broad street youre got alot of pubs, clubs and restaurants on your door step.Hotel itself is a modern and well situated hotel, the rooms are nice with all the mod cons like you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Flat screen TV, internet access, tea making facilities, hair dryer and iron and ironing board etc. It was not a noisy hotel and staff were pleasant, there is a car park at the back of the hotel at a rate of £10 per night, but you got a good free breakfast. Now for the bad points, even though it had a good bar area you had to go up a floor to go to the rest rooms, which then you come across another problem, the lifts, you can end up anywhere and could take some time, i ended up walking the stairs in the end as it got a bit panicky at times. The gym ? had nice TVs, thats about it, and two running machines and a peck machine, there was a refrigerated water machine, but it was empty.I recommend you stay on the 3rd floor as it is the lowest floor, it has the gym on it and also the restrooms, i would consider using this hotel again. Visit the bullring shopping centre, and the jewellery quarters are a must...

Room Tip: gym on the 3rd floor with toilets as there are no toilets in the bar area !! as lifts are a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Paul B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel in Birmingham. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the best service possible and the feedback that we receive on the product that we deliver is in many cases very positive. We offer our fitness room as a complimentary extra available to all of our guests for use during the duration of their stay. We apologise that on this occasion, our fitness offering did not match up to your expectations.

On a more positive note, we are glad that you were impressed with both our modern decor and the facilities provided in each of our bedrooms. We are pleased to be able to offer free WiFi access throughout the hotel and are glad that our guests are taking advantage of this provision. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. We are proud of the fact that we are able to provide a complimentary breakfast for every guest and am sure that you will agree that we offer enough choice to cater for a variety of tastes.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location for local canal bars and restaurants 400 metres away. Rooms sealed windows so don't have fresh air during night. Silly issues let this hotel down such as minimal size bath towels and no fresh tomatoes for breakfast? Plenty of hotels at this price level locally so check out alternatives before deciding best value for money.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Stevenrl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views on your recent visit to us - we really appreciate your honest feedback.

We are sorry that you weren't happy with the size of the bath towels - this is currently an issue that we are aware of and hoping to rectify in the not too distant future.

On a more positive note, we are very pleased that you found our location to be good. We would agree that we are very fortunate to be situated where we are - not many hotels can boast such a wide range of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, thank you very much for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Many Thanks,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here on Friday night and really disappointed - i have stayed at Hampton Inns in the USA loads so chose this one on that name. The hotel itself is modern and convenient - the problem is its being used as a budget hotel.

Security on the hotel doors made me a little suspicious on arrival - this after we tried to park our car which they charge £10 for but there was no spaces left so had to abandon it in a non space.

At 1am was woken by a drunken brawl occuring in the corridor/room nearby - this continued for an hour and there wa shouts of front desk being called from other guests. I was terrified. At one point i thought someone was going to get put throught he door of my room. Needless to say not a great nights sleep.

My impression is this is a Premier Inn/Travelodge style hotel using Hilton name... it seems to be priced at the hen/stag market who are then coming back to it drunk and making a general nucience of themselves. I wouly like to think this was a once off incident but looking at other reviews it seems it isnt.

Huge shame though as this hotel has such promise. Breakfast was fine too - decent choice for a free breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon dm1313,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel in Birmingham. We are sorry that on this occasion your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We were disappointed to read that you had some issues with a disturbance in the corridor. You are correct that we do hire security staff in order to keep any incidents to a minimum but being situated right in the heart of Birmingham's most popular nightlife district, we are unfortunately unable to implement controls over how much our guests have to drink. We are however looking into this disturbance and can assure you that we shall be reviewing our security policies to try and ensure the elimination of similar happenings in the future.

On a more positive note, we are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. The fact that we are able to provide a free complimentary breakfast to each of our guests is something that we at the Hampton by Hilton are very proud of, and we strive to provide enough choice and variety to cater for a wide range of tastes and preferences.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued comments.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really convenient place to stay for central Birmingham. Spacious and clean rooms with good breakfast. Also a good price. Short walk to NIA etc and renovated canal network. The approach isn't the most assuring as it's straight off the main street but once inside it's comfortable and pleasant. The lifts are a bit random so you need to be on your toes for catching one in the right direction. Also has car parking which is a bonus for central Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon tonyandliz103,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are always pleased to hear from people who have had a good time and are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would agree with you that we are very fortunate to be based in such a central location. There are not many people who can boast having not just the National Indoor Arena and International Convention Centre such a short walk away but also a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

We are also very pleased to be able to offer limited secure on-site car parking. We are one of few very city centre hotels who have the facilities to offer be able to provide this and am sure that at just just £10 per night, you will agree that we are very competitively priced.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I arrived at around 10pm. You have to go up some steps, then go into a lift to get to the reception. Check in was quick and I was soon up to my room on a high floor. The room was lovely, extremely modern and recently renovated.

I really liked the set up of the room, a tray for your laptop, multiple power points and very comfy bed. The bathroom was really nice and again very modern and clean.

I slept very well, no noise from the street below, even though it looked like it was potentially a little rowdy down there.

I had no issues with the wifi, which was free.

Another aspect I liked was the free breakfast. The breakfast area was large and no queues.

Check out was quick also.

Overall, I really enjoyed my brief stay here and would recommend it to people wanting a hotel near the centre of Bham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Rachie1234,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are always happy to hear from people who have had a good time and were thrilled to find that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to be able to offer each of our guests free unlimited WiFi for their convenience throughout their stay and are glad that you chose to take advantage of this facility. We are also proud of the fact that we are able to offer everyone who stays with us complimentary breakfast to start their day and hope you will agree that we offer enough variety and choice to cater for even the fussiest of eaters!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room was nice and comfortable, good size, though dusty in places, bathroom and shower lovely and very clean. Lifts took ages and twice had to take the stairs as there was only 2 lifts in the hotel, luckily we were only on 7th floor.
Should be at least 4-6 lifts for an hotel of this size. Breakfast was atrocious and we were there early for it. Sausages cold, beans warm, scrambled eggs bland, toast machine a waste of time, croissant was stale. Staff were friendly at all times. Good central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Katie A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the best service possible and the feedback that we receive on the product that we deliver is in many cases very positive. We offer breakfast as a complimentary extra and try to cater for a wide variety of tastes. We apologise that on this occasion, our breakfast offering did not match up to your expectations.

On a more positive note, we are glad that your found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I shall ensure that your positive feedback is passed on to our Front of House manager who will in return relay it to the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your valued comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.