We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no....this foods not korean.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Korea

Miss Korea
Unit 7&8 Latitude | Bromsgrove Street, Birmingham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #694 of 1,599 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Not sure, we went on a KGB deal last night and wanted to tell of our experience! Doesn't seem to have a website, but Qype has a review.
uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no....this foods not korean.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

totally wrong food, there are all chinese staff.
very disappointed.
wasted time and money
I will not go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible overall.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I went last year when they first opened and had a very bad experience. The wait for being served was long and the food came separately which caused us to eat at separate times.
We went this time thinking the service would have improved by now but it hasn't. We were shown to the table after 5 minutes by the waitress whereas the owner chose to stand behind the bar watching. The first dish came half an hour later and still no sign of drinks. It was busy so it was understandable that the food would take awhile but we ordered around half 7 and only just had the main dishes served around half 8/9. The bbq was turned off so we asked the owner to check for us and then he told us the bbq on this table was broke and and he asked us to moved, I questioned him why it took them so long to let us know that and he blamed it on the waitress, he asked the waitresses and she confirmed that it wasn't brokenand then he pushed her away and got the kitchen to cook our meat inside. Overall it wasn't a very nice experience mainly because of the wait, service and also the food doesn't taste as good as Toppoki.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckington, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Something a bit different.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place for lunch on a quick trip to Birmingham. There were four of us. Our waitress was very helpful, explaining and recommending dishes. We had a selection of appetisers, some meat that we bbq'd in the pit on the table, a broth dish and teriyaki salmon. I have no idea how authentic it is but it was all delicious. The gyoza were better than wagamama. The other dishes were interesting and made a change from Chinese/Japanese/Thai. There was plenty of food but not too much. It came to £61 which I thought was good value, we only had soft drinks. Only point to improve was that the ladies loo could have been a bit cleaner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1,016 helpful votes 1,016 helpful votes
“Enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Miss Korea is a small, but smart looking little restaurant. There is a detailed menu and lots to choose from. It sounds like some people have had a bad experience, but really in my eyes it was very positive. The menu offers great choice but doesn't give you too much support if you're not familiar with Korean cuisine, that said it compared favourably to my previous experience with Korean restaurants. The food was quick, well presented, seasoned and flavoured and good value. The drinks a little more expensive but not out of sync with other restaurants. We didn't have any experience with the tap water, but in fairness to them at least they're up front about it. The service was attentive, no waiting at all to be helped, there was no checking-in on your enjoyment during the meal which is a little unusual but really not an issue for me. I would go again and would be happy to recommend it to others too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS RESTAURANT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

- Food is NOT AUTHENTIC
- Terrible service with just the one waiter.
- Not allowed tap water
- For the quality of food, price was extortionate.

DO NOT COME, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Korea also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Miss Korea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Korea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.