We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester The Fort

Harvester The Fort
Fort Retail Park | Wood Lane, Birmingham B24 9FP, England
0121 373 2308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #999 of 1,592 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

the waitress was really friendly and the food was served in a quick manner. We found the atmosphere to be great and really enjoyed our time there.The food was really nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    28
    29
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Ok- Not as good or as cheap as a Wetherspoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited Harvester on a Friday night after work as we fancied some pub grub.

We noticed the prices were on par with the likes of Nandos and other half decent pubs.

The food wasn't good enough, the chips were over fried, the pork ribs were straight from Iceland and the chicken was over cooked! The salad area was the best part of the restaurant and fresh ingredients were brought in regularly.

If your at the Fort, avoid this place as its over priced for what you get and Nando's is far better for a little extra money. Wetherspoons is a better all round place, better value for money and better portions. I left the Harvester hungry and disappointed, won't be visiting again unless I'm desperate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Bad Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Originally decided to go to Frankie and Benny's next door but they ignored us, so we tried Harvester.,We were promptly shown to our table, but did wonder why we were sat on the other side of the restaurant next to the Xmas tree but not near any other customers!. We did have heaters so I was warm. However why were we put there when everyone else was on the other side of the restaurant and there were some table spare. I know, because my friend had decide to grow a dodgy beard and clearly we were put in the 'beard' section lol.

After much viewing of the menu, we order the triple chicken with chips and peas, mushrooms, corn on the cob, onion rings and two bottle of water and the bill was £20 . In addition to this we got 2 salad bowls and bread at the salad bar which was a great addition and in the price

Now as for the food, overall it was ok, did the job. I would not order the corn on the cob or mushrooms again. The chips were ok, but overall cant complain for the price we paid and we would go again based on value for money and the salad bar which was an added bonus.

At the end of meal we were still on our own! The restaurant inside was welcoming and aesthetically appealing. Next time please put us near people though so we can people watch, what else do we have to talk about after the weather and footie results lol

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service here is dreadful!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I ate here a few weeks ago with my auntie. We ordered our food and the waitress was lovely. When we went up to the salad cart it was a mess... Salad all over the floor, rock hard bread buns and the salad was mixed up e.g. Onions on top of the lettuce, sweet corn mixed in with the beetroot. After waiting for half an hour for our food we tried to get the managers attention to ask him where our meal was and when we finally did get his attention he told us to wait and walked away!! When he returned TEN minutes later our food still hadn't arrived. He then went to find out what had happened only to tell us that our food had been sitting on the hatch and the waiter must have forgotten to bring it over. When our food was finally brought over to us it was cold, my aunties meal was edible but when it come to paying the bill I refused to pay for my meal as it was too cold to eat. The manager did apologise and come out with the poor excuse that he'd only been the manager there for a week! I would not eat here again, I'd rather go to the Harvester in Coleshill where the service is much better and the staff actually acknowledge you.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Put me off Harvester's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Visited this branch about a month ago. Our experience was not at all good. Having visited various Harvester’s in the past, we were quite taken aback by the 'cafe' appearance of this Harvester. However we were met by a pleasant young lady & seated at a table. In no time at all our orders for drinks & food was taken. I ordered the two chicken & choritzo skewers and my finance ordered the classic burger.

Having just been to a local travel agents, my finance & I were very busy flicking through brochures and discussing possible arrangements whilst sipping our drinks & picking at our salad bar choices waiting for our food. Some 40 minutes later, my finance pointed out that our food was taking a long time. We eventually stopped a waitress who was delivering food to another table and she said she would enquire. This happened with another waitress some 5 minutes later & still no food. I made a strong complaint to the gentleman serving at the take-away area and in less than a minute our food was making its way to our table. My food was placed in front of me and my face immediately dropped. I told the waitress that not only was our food nearly an hour late – it didn’t exactly look appetising!!! The chicken not only looked overcooked but it was certainly was & where on earth did they manage to find the smallest jacket potato on this planet I would never know. The food was luke-warm. The top of my finance’s burger bun was slightly burnt, but the worst was that the chips were cold.
We promptly got up from the table and asked for our drinks bill. The staff were asking us to wait for the manager to come out to see us. Im not sure where this manager had been for the past hour but we had no intention of waiting for anyone else!!! We paid for our drinks and left.
Unfortunately, this experience has put us off visiting all Harvester’s and this is such a shame.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester The Fort also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Been to Harvester The Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester The Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.