We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent privately owned hotel that's a pleasant change from the big chains down the road.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eaton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent privately owned hotel that's a pleasant change from the big chains down the road.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was prompted to stay here by a colleague who's a regular and I was delighted to have done so. I will be swapping my usual Broad Street haunts for the Eaton in future.
When the free car park and free wifi that actually works is taken into account it's cheaper than the big chains but offers a far nicer and more personal experience.
Food and service was faultless and it's apparent that people come here just to dine. Plenty of menu choices in the evening and a full english cooked to order in the morning - much better than a heatlamp buffet.
My room was large, clean and comfy with all the expect amenities; spot on.
I would definitely recommend and will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Brittaniamademe,

Thank you for your feedback left on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The free car park, free wifi and you found the food and service was faultless. We offer all our guests good value for money and I will share your nice comments with the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    76
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
102
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had read the other reviews of this hotel and was really looking forward to staying there after spending a day and a night travelling. We arrived in the evening after a few days heavy snow in the area and were shocked that no attempt had been made to clear the snow in the hotel carpark. My husband had to request a shovel from reception and roll up his sleeves and clear a way for us to park in the carpark at the back of the hotel as the small carpark at the front was full. He also cleared a parking space for an older man who was also having trouble driving through the thick snow. When we showed our shock to the man on reception at having guests clear the snow themselves he shrugged his shoulders and said we should have parked at the front.
After a very non-friendly check in, we made our way up the stairs through the run down, grubby, paint chipped walled corridors (see photos) and, exhausted, took in the surroudings of our room. It was ok, and only ok, again with grubby scuffed walls. The bathroom was nice but with very little toiletries provided: one tiny shampoo and one tiny shower gel, which was unfortunate as due to the heavy snow we had not had a chance to stop to pick up toiletry supplies on the way assuming the hotel room would be laden down with supplies. We usually have so many toiletries we end up bringing a few home to the children, not this time though. Instead of facing the man on reception again to request more we decided to ration out our teeny tiny bottles and hope for the best. On the plus, we were located in a room at the back of the hotel and therefore our room was quiet for the night.
Breakfast the next morning was the usual hotel fare: a buffet of fresh fruit, some pastries (avoid the croissants - not the usual light buttery ones, very stodgy), yogurts, jams, juices, Weetabix etc.. all very nicely laid out. The best part of our stay was the friendly warm lady who served our hot breakfast, I had scrambled eggs on toast and my husband had the full breakfast, both of which were fine and cooked to order.
This hotel was good value for money but sometimes its better to pay a bit more for a better quality of stay. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
27th March 2013

Dear GalwayGirl1972,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

I'm disappointed that you weren't satisfied with your stay but we are pleased you were happy with your cooked breakfasts.

The snow was out of our control as it fell heavily overnight and in the earlier part of the day. We did have maintenance clearing the snow at later stage. You must appreciate that it is diffcuilt to keep on top of this continuously during bad weather.

We're in the current process of refurbishing the corridors and bedrooms as I speak. Apologies that you didn't feel there was enough toiletries in the room. Reception are happy to provide more when required. However, our toiletries are more than adequate for a guests stay and can be supplemented by the hotel when requested.

I feel that we provide a good service and product at a weekend price of £70 for a double room that includes English and buffet breakfast, unlimited wireless internet and car parking.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Operations Manager
Simon Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked 5 rooms last weekend for a family wedding at the Botanical Gardens, just down the road from the hotel and couldn't have chosen a better spot. Our requested early check-in was met. Rooms were spotless, modern, comfortable, with excellent bathroom facilities and really quiet. Breakfast the next day was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As a bonus, it was excellent value for money too. Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
28th March 2013

Dear Golfing_girl,

Thank you for leaving feedback on Tripadvisor.I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, which I will share with the team. We aim to exceed guest expectations at every possible opportunity.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A very good value hotel, comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast. Our only minor quibble was a lack of local information such as a good city tourist map, guides etc. available at reception. Otherwise fully recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
28th March 2013

Dear rgent,

Thank you for your feeback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay overall; and will share this with the team;however, I am disappointed with your comment about local information,we do have city maps at reception, and our team are more than happy to provide you with this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Modern smart decor and clean modern furnishings. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet. Tv, coffee facilities etc all up to scratch. Had a lovely time for short break visiting friends. Only thing to improve would be staff friendliness. Breakfast had good choice and tasted great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
28th March 2013

Dear Roberts1648,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here overall whilst visiting friends which I will share with the team. I am disappointed regarding staff friendliness, all our staff have been trained and have worked in the customer service industry for many years and always exceed guests expectations and friendliness.Please be assured that your comment will be the subject of our weekly departmental meeting to ensure any future disappointment avoided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Needed a hotel at short notice to extend our stay in Birmingham and came across the excellent Tripadvisor reviews for the Eaton Hotel. The hotel certainly deserves the praise, spacious well appointed room, secure free wifi, on site parking and pleasant reception. We were somewhat taken aback by the restaurant, which far exceeded our expectations of a three star hotel. Well laid out and furnished, excellent menu and decent wine list – but please note; Monday to Thursday guests can enjoy a three course meal for £20 each, however this option is not available Friday to Sunday when the ‘a la carte’ menu is the only option – and three courses will set you back a lot more than £20!
Unfortunately reception had suggested that the £20 option was open to us (we were staying on a Saturday) and it was too late to seek out alternatives. The food was excellent, but we found the portions were simply too large (uncomfortably so).
The breakfast was simply excellent and the B&B rate represents good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear RHMStirling,

Thank you for leaving feeback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had enjoyable stay with us.
I do apologies if you were told £20.00 for three course meal option was offered to you for Friday and Saturday as this is not correct, I will speak to reception team regarding this, so it can be rectified.

We are happy that you enjoyed the food here. I'm sorry if you feel the portions are too big, we get great positive feeback from our customers on how big the portions are and great quality, we serve over the last 30 years we have been running.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a good over night stay this is the place to go, only a 5 minute drive from broad steet and would be a nice walk into town on a good summers day. We stayed in this hotel for one night. We got a good deal on hotel.com which included breakfast, we were more than happy with this hotel.. It's very modern, friendly staff, the room was clean and tidy and more importantly the bed was comfortable. Free wifi also available and free parking. Breakfast was great and cooked to order - no buffet food. I would defiantly recommend a stay in this hotel and will return soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Manager at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mansfield Notts C,

Thank you for your feed back on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are glad that you chose our hotel and that you were pleased with the location, comfortable bed, cooked Breakfast,complimentary wifi and free car parking.

I shall share your comments with the team.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Simon Roberts
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.