We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, staff need improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eaton Hotel to your Saves list
Eaton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, staff need improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a room for relative and was very impressed with the facilities. Room was very modern, very clean bathroom (no bath, just shower) and fairly spacious although not huge. The breakfast is amazing, freshly cooked and tasty. But the reception staff were not at all friendly, particularly the manager. Bar staff not friendly at all and moaned how busy she was. Breakfast staff were good however. When asked for a drink to be brought up to the room, a delivery charge was added to the cost - without informing us beforehand.

That aside in terms of value for moeny, location it is by far the best.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back and they do have rooms with baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    103
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
127
26
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the eaton hotel for 3 nights very friendly and helpful staff nothing is to much trouble nice greeting when going in for breakfast and super evening meal.would highly recommend and very resonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I went to the hotel with the extended family to celebrate the wedding of my niece.
More than a hundred came to a party in one of the function rooms and at least a dozen of us - and the happy couple - stayed overnight.
Everything was well organised from first arrival to leaving the next morning.
I am a total stranger to Birmingham but the hotel is readily accessible on a main road into the city and easy to find. Parking was plentiful and free. The reception staff were helpful and the Full English breakfast was huge and tasty.
The price was just about on the high side for me but the room and all the hotel facilities were excellent.
I don't visualise ever being back to stay in Birmingham but I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone who does need to go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our daughter booked us into Eaton Hotel as a gift for our 50th Wedding anniversary as a base for a visit to the Birmingham Hippodrome. This hotel is excelent in all aspects from arrival reception staff (Stephen) assisted us in booking the taxi to take us to the Birmingham Hippodrome to see the show Blood Brothers (see our review) Bedroom was huge cleanlines was impecable. Complimentary car parking easy access to Birmingham City Centre. We only had breakfast as we had Dinner before the show at Stageside restaurant (see review) We could not complain about anything at Eaton Hotel. Value for money, staff were excellent, bed good night sleep Breakfast was very good. No complaints would reccommend this Hotel

Room Tip: Our room was 119. A standard room, I asked for an upgrade and was advised, all our rooms are to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading positive reviews on this website, I had decided to book this hotel although the price was slightly high for me. Staff were very friendly and polite, and the hotel offers free car park for the guests. The restaurant was nicely decorated.
However, the room was not as good as I had expected. Firstly, when I entered into the room, the smell was not good. The smell was like clean using old vacuum without opening the window. Also, the carpet had many stains, and is definately need to be replaced. The bed was comfortable.
My friends stayed in a chain-hotel in city centre of Birmingham, and it was much nicer and £20 cheaper per night. Yep, you will find a better hotel in city centre with cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngkalavanas, Owner at Eaton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. Regarding the quality of your room, as I do not know who you are, when and which room you stayed in, it is impossible to comment upon the issues raised. Almost all other reviews are positive regarding our room standard, and as no complaint seems to have been made at the time, it is difficult for me to answer your complaint.

Regarding the price of rooms, comparing available rates that are online, we are very competitive and generally less expensive than city centre hotels. All our rates include English/Continental breakfast, unlimited wireless internet and free on-site car parking. These are very often supplement charges to the basic rate shown by city centre hotels. Three course restaurant meals are available from £20 for residents Monday-Friday. Our weekend rates for bed and breakfast are £70 for double and £60 for single occupancy. As you do not say which hotel your friends stayed at, and what their price included, I cannot make any direct comparison or validate what you have described in terms of rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay for her ladyship and I, as we had several things to do in B'ham over her birthday wk-end. Having looked initially along Broad St, there was no competition for the price and quality, let alone being quieter.
Being on Hagley Rd a short distance from Broad St/Symphony Hall/ICC/NIA and Repertory Theatre, with buses running every 5mins and free parking.. the location is excellent.
The hotel is beautifully decorated in the public areas, has free wi-fi, a lovely dining room serving a cracking breakfast and helpful staff.. all reasonably priced.
The room was large with a king sized bed, shower room (no bath), plenty of storage space, even an iron & board.. nice touch. The only odd thing about the room was, no pictures.. strange? We had a room at the rear overlooking the small garden (thanks Jan), nice and quiet.

Room Tip: At the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was welcomed in to a lovely clean room, comfy bed where I had the best nights sleep. The shower was powerful and hot.breakfast was in a light airy room and very tasty and plenty of choice. I found staff at the hotel were kind and friendly. Plenty of restaurants close by also in particular Akbars Indian restaurant which was reasonablely priced and the food was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.