We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting social study...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Save
You added Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street to your Saves list
Carrs Lane, Birmingham B4 7SS, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting social study...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay so the fire alarm went off at mid-night and I was standing outside the hotel in my rather fetching Snow White PJs until 2.30am but before all that excitement here’s the review of the hotel…
It’s a perfect location for the Bullring and (at this time of year) the beautiful Christmas market, unlike Broad Street Travelodge , this one is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the centre but only a 2 minute walk to re-join it as and when you feel like it. The hotel is a Travelodge, so don’t check in and expect a roll top bath and Egyptian cotton sheets and you won’t be disappointed. We were welcomed to the hotel reception desk with a cheery and enthusiastic greeting and promptly checked into our rooms (little did we know we’d only be spending 2 minutes 30 seconds in it!) and when we opened the door to the bedroom it was fresh, clean and welcoming…I don’t think you could ask for much else from what is essentially a budget hotel, somewhere just to rest your head (if you’re lucky!).

So it’s mid-night, you’re in the centre of Birmingham in your PJs, staring at the hotel you should be sleeping in and the only thing you can do is wait. It was a genuine crisis and the team at the Travelodge were clearly trying their very best to rectify what was a very stressful situation for them and their guests, with little or no experience of such a thing happening previously so well done to you all! I would suggest that if it does ever happen again, you just make sure there is a constant communication link between you guys and your guests as we were often left ‘in the dark’ questioning other guests about what might be happening and where we might be going BUT that said, you all did amazingly to stand in front of (some) very irate and irrational guests while organising appropriate transport for each and every one of them!

Thank you for looking after us, thank you for being so genuine throughout the experience and thank you for the social experiment…I love to see how people react in a ‘crisis’! ;-).

So in short…Stay here for low rates, clean rooms and genuinely pleasant service from a very down to earth team!

Room Tip: I wouldn't know what to suggest...We didn't get far enough to try the room ease of sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
25
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend for the Christmas Markets. The hotel itself was clean and the staff were very helpful.
Unfortunately the fire alarm went off at 12:00am and we had to be evacuated we were left outside for an hour before staff decided to transfer us to Birmingham Bullring Travelodge as the alarm was not turning off/there was a flooding issue? The staff coped well with what were especially rude (and racist!) customers and made the best out of a bad situation but there could have been more communication about what was happening as in the end we spent about 2 hours out in the cold waiting for taxis to transfer and in the end ended up walking. But we got complimentary drinks and breakfast which sort of made up for the disturbed sleep. However staff at the Bullring told us that this had happened previously so there is obviously some sort of issue with the building that needs sorting. Also we got checked into someone else's already occupied room when we were first transferred and this was the second time this has happened to us on a stay at Travelodge which does not give you much confidence in who they might be letting into your room while you are out! (Not that I would ever leave anything valuable behind).
All in all I was surprised at the quality, cleaniness and service (having had bad experiences in a Travelodge a few years ago) I would definitely stay again but would probably choose Bullring over Moor Street.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed an inexpensive, comfortable room in the centre of Birmingham to get to a meeting for 9.30. I booked two rooms which were lovely and clean,quiet and a decent size. Everything we needed. Brill


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is just off the main shopping centers. Very clean and comfortable,with very helpful staff! Keep up the good work ! I liked the new refurbished look especially the comfortable bed . I will definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable hotel to spend a few days in .

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was a good location ,being just off the main shopping areas .With easy train and bus stop access . All walking distance . The staff were always happy to help with all enquiries . I definitely recommend !

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Travelodge, Moor Street and we were very happy.
We went to Birmingham for the Clothes Show, a bit of shopping and a bit of partying. This hotel is in a conveniently central location with a 5 minute walk to the Bullring shopping centre, New Street station (which is one stop from the NEC) and 15 minutes walk to Broad Street where all the pubs and clubs are (although we got a taxi at £5 - girls in their heels and all that!!). There is also a Tesco Express just next door which was open til late.
The staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful and the night staff gave us a warm welcome even though they were dealing with a couple of 'tricky' customers at the time, they kept their cool and remained polite and professional.
The rooms were what you expect for the Travelodge - basic but clean and comfortable.
Would definitely return :-)

Room Tip: If you want to be assured of a good nights undisturbed sleep maybe ask for a room away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited from Cyprus in the end of November.
The room and bathroom were spotless!
No wear and tear was visible on any part of the room and bathroom
Mrs Samantha at the reception was very polite and helpful
The location is perfect! It is right outside of Marks and Spencer and right next to a Tesco express which is very convenient!
Two minutes walking from Bullring Center and 5 minutes walking from New Street Station.
Perfect location!
We loved the English people!
Oh did I mention that the location is perfect?
Bottom line: I would recommend it to a friend and definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street

Address: Carrs Lane, Birmingham B4 7SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.