We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Sherbourne Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6DX, England (Formerly Bridge House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
navan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived very early at this Hotel 08.00. We did not have an early book in. The receptionist went to the trouble to find us a room, which we were very grateful. We then decided to have the hotels breakfast. full english fairly priced at 7.50 pounds plenty more options.
This is an old hotel with old decor but with clean rooms, clean linen, friendly staff and a homely atmosphere. Right next door to train station for day trips or ten minutes into Birmingham city centre..Acocks Green nice quiet area out of hustle and bustle of the city. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone for good rates and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: discuss your needs with hotel during booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
19
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We return to this little Gem of a hotel again and again . There is no request with in reason that the staff at this hotel will not attempt to fullfil, from the team on the front desk to the waiter/waitress in the bar and restaurant they all pull together. Even the housekeeping girls get in on the act. So welcoming a very pleasing stay the food again is of top notch stuff that Chef is a real gem. That rump steak will never be beaten!!!!!
I would like say I always check with the hotel before I book to make sure I get what I need and The GM LUCY always provides !! . Seen a lot of bad reviews but as I keep saying its a small hotel with a mighty big heart.. See you all next year!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here literally from 11pm till 2.30am to get a few hours before a flight from Birmingham Airport. We pre booked well in advance from Expedia based on the pictures and ratings and it was adequate for what we needed.
It was a bit like Crystal Maze navigating up the stairs and around various corridors with all our holiday luggage to the rooms and subsequently we hear others navigating to their rooms and in the rooms above quite noisily so we didnt sleep too well.
The rooms are tiny with just enough room to shuffle down each sides of the double bed. It wouldn't have been too much of a problem had we not had suitcases which we had to climb over to get to the bathroom which in contrast was strangely very spacious. Probably half the size of the room!?
The beds were very comfortable and for the price it was ok. In terms of getting to the airport, it was about 20 minutes or so from here so a good stop gap.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I stayed a couple of nights using this hotel as a base while in Birmingham for the weekend. All staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was clean and spacious with a good bathroom. Everything you could want for a short stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I Loved Staying Here. It's a Lovely Hotel The Beds are So Confy and The Guy in Reception Was Very Friendly. The Room Was Spacius and Very Clean. It's a Really Great Place To Stay. I Didint need it but Their Is Free Wifi. Highly Reccomend This Hotel.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I had to choose a hotel for the same evening and finding something good was a mission. But my choice via Booking.com was right again. Greeted by profesionally trained staff and accommodated in a lovely clean bedroom overlooking a small rear garden. Some noisy guests next door but once i informed reception this was dealt with straight away. I felt a bit awkward that i was the only lady in the restaurant but the person who was serving the bar and the food made me feel comfy and looked after me well. On check out the lady at the desk offered me coffee as i did not have time for breakfast. What a lovely place. Will be back!

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The room was simple but clean and perfect for 5 nights stay. 15 min to the city centre and great for parking! We ate in the restaurant and the food came quickly and was tasty! Will probably go again next time we are in Birmingham.
For the price and location, this is absolutely spot on!
Customer Service was second to none, all staff in came in contact with where friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable had a good nights sleep after a great night out in Birmingham.
Extremely good value for money! Does exactly what it said, you want the ritz, pay for it..

In December I have to be back in Birmingham for a couple of nights, after my first stay - I will certainly be coming back!!
Only negative point; by checking out had some problems with the night receptionist, was not friendly and not professional.

Room Tip: rooms are basic and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC

Address: 49 Sherbourne Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6DX, England (Formerly Bridge House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel offers a clean, cosy and affordable accommodation. We are located just 6 min away on the train from Birmingham city centre and less than 15 min drive (under 6 miles) from the NEC and the airport. All our rooms include FREE Secure Car Parking, FREE Tea/coffee and FREE Wi- Fi for each of our valuable guests. The hotel has a 24-hour reception and each of our comfortable rooms has a private bathroom with either a shower or a bath, a TV, work desk, tea/coffee making facilities and high speed wireless internet connection. The Pillars Restaurant is open for dinner Monday-Saturday between 18:30 - 21:30 and offers a menu that changes with the seasons including succulent steaks, local lamb and fresh fish dishes.The hotel bar is stocked with variety of beers and a good wine list. Acocks Green Train Station is located less than 2 min walk from us with the famous Bullring Shopping Centre just 3 train stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.