We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, with professional attention.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Karczma

The Karczma
Bordesley Street, Digbeth | Polish Millennium House, Birmingham B5 5PH, England
+44 121 448 0017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,593 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Karczma is a traditional Polish restaurant, bar and grill located in the heart of Birmingham, just 5min walk from both the Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Moor Street Rail Station. Restaurant is decorated in the style of an old Polish country cottage seating 85 people across 2 rooms. The menu is designed to reflect a homely, hearty and rustic food that's quintessentially Polish, and prepared using only the very best quality ingredients. The menu contains numerous Polish classics including Pierogi (stuffed dumplings), Berszcz (Beetroot soup), Pickled Herring, Zurek (Pickled Rye Flour Soup) served from a hollowed out loaf of bread, as well as a whole host of grilled meats and fish. We wish you a pleasant stay and Enjoy !!!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food, with professional attention.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Made a booking after reading about this establishment on Trip Advisor, arrived on time and escourted to a reserved table for our party. We all thought how well the decor had been arranged, and how clean the establishment was. Drinks were ordered and duly arrived, the menu was provided and selections made, advice was given when sought as to our selections, our host had a sense of humour, but never became overbearing like some places.
Food arrived and was found to be exceptionally nice, fresh, and well presented, be it that the plates were a little cool. We all cleared the main course, then started on the deserts, again very nice the apple cake was beautiful. We settled the bill which was good value and made our exits, again the host escorted us to the door bidding us farewell and a happy new year. Overall a good nice plesent evening, well worth the visit, thank you Karczma, we will be back. Tip we parked our car in the multi park by the side of Moor Street, although safe this park is expensive, it cost me £6.00 for 4 hours, which I consider a rip off. Try to find an alternative or park around the back streets if you can, but watch the meters, traffic wardens must be on a bonus scheme in Birmingham.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    95
    28
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great atmosphere, lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved this restaurant!! The decor was warm and comforting, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was amazing - freshly cooked, tasty and very authentic. Whether you have a Polish heritage or not you'll be made to feel totally at home, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“another great evening - thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went today and enjoyed another fabulous evening! I tried the herring to start - lovely. My husband had the steak tart are - the best we had ever had. Thanks for the recommendation Sebastian. For the main I enjoyed beetroot soup with pierogi on the side. Stunning! Husband got lost in his beef and mushroom stew wrapped in a potato dumpling pancake served with a really fresh salad of grated carrot, beetroot and sauerkraut. Every mouthful was so tasty and the beef was so tender. Great value for money and great service. We will be coming back again, hopefully with friends to try the menu for 4!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I went with my partner as I was very curious (being Hungarian myself) and find Eastern European food great in general. We tried to book through a online booking service, but they had no tables. We then managed to get a table after all when we called the restaurant directly.

The whole restaurant is decorated in a very traditional European fashion. Warm and welcoming. Our table was by the windows facing the street, which is weird, because it's basically a hallway, but cozy none the less, with animal pelts on the seating. There are tables in the main dining area, as well as a couple of lovely bars.

Our waitress was lovely and very professional. She took time to explain any questions we may have.

For starters I ordered a grilled smoked sheeps cheese wrapped in bacon. This dish was presented beautifully and though at first the cheese itself looked like a giant cocoon ready to release a kestrel sized moth, it was in fact absolutely delicious and incredibly filling. My partner ordered steak tartare, which was again presented beautifully and was the most fantastic steak tartare either of us ever tasted.
For mains I ordered beef tripe soup, which again was lovely, well seasoned and didn't have the suspect "farm" smell that poorly prepared tripe soup can have. My partner ordered the ham hock, which came on the world's largest plate. It was delicious, earth-shatteringly tender and came with absolutely everything, begging the question, do they actually make any profit on this dish?
We shared an apple cake between us, which was also of a decent standard, but nothing incredible.

At one point my partner went to the ladies and was almost dragged off to the bar by polish patrons. I found that very endearing and it contributes to the homey atmosphere.

The bill is very most certainly affordable and this place is certainly worth trying.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Polish home cooking in BIrmingham, UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When you walk through the door you could easily have been transported to a neighbourhood restaurant in Poland. The homely decor sets you up for a big, warming food experience. The portions are ideal if you've just been toiling in the fields of central Birmingham.
The food is cooked to order and has the authentic feel of the homeland. Start by getting yourself some fresh bread from the table in the corner and accompany it with fresh pickled cucumbers and don't forget to dip into the tub of homemade dripping, much better than those small foil packs of butter.
There is a big selection of dishes, we stuck to mains, which were more than enough for a lunchtime. However, there seems to be a wide selection of starters and soups to choose from, too.
The unhurried service, means that you might be able to fit in a portion of the excellent baked cheesecake.
All washed down with Polish beers, spirits and good fruit juices.
All in all a great addition to Birmingham's food scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the k, Owner at The Karczma, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your expression of your opinion on our restaurant. We promise and we will do our best to maintain a higher standard served most desired and waiter service
Sebastian Meller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Karczma also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Karczma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Karczma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.