We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, brilliant service, couldnt recommend it highly enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanskrit Contemporary Indian Restaurant

Sanskrit Contemporary Indian Restaurant
1122 Stratford Road | Hall Green Birmingham, Birmingham B28 8AE, England
(0)121 702 2244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,446 restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food, brilliant service, couldnt recommend it highly enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having lived in NW London there are numerous indian restaurants to choose from however we were recommended to eat at Sanskrit on a recent visit to Birmingham.
The food is absolutely delicious, there is a huge variety of different items to choose from, we had a good variety from vegetarian and meat dishes, each exquisite in taste. It was well prepared, well season and arrived in a timely manner.
The service was excellent, we got talking to the manager who recommended some different dishes to try which we normally wouldnt have ordered but definitely glad we did.
Overall, a very good restaurant to either go as a couple or as part of a family, well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    92
    10
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food but awful service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on its excellent reviews. Unfortunately this lead to disappointment! The decor is nice enough and staff friendly but the service was so slow, we thought they had forgotten about our main course. This was despite having ask us 20 minutes earlier if we were ready for our main course when clearing our starter away.
Thankfully the evening remained enjoyable due to the company of wonderful friends and what was actually delicious food when it did arrive!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been coming to Sanksrit since it first opened. It is grown into an amazing family run restaurant, with no frills authentic Indian food. This is not your bog standard curry house, and it bodes plenty of different dishes, each with different characteristics and flavors. All the food is fresh and of very high quality.
All this brilliant food is backed up with the highest quality customer service I have ever experienced in a restaurant. They really do try their best to look after you and make you feel at home, we have been their plenty of times, making a visit at least once every 3 months, and we are always given a warm welcome!
The prices here are very reasonable as well, you get more than value for your money! For a family of 5 we have never had a bill totaling over £100, and we do like our food with a couple of beers! The cobra on tap here is one of the best I have had in an India restaurant!

Overall this is a stunning restaurant, it deserves its number one spot. The owners here are a true credit to the community, and their hard work and dedication is gleaming through this wonderful restaurant. Good luck to them both!

P.S
The lamb chops for starters followed by the rajastani hara mass with a bit of extra spice is a personal favorite which should be tried!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strongly not recommended! Indian food only for non-Indian people.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Sanskrit for Valentines Day, we hasn't been before and family that had been previously said that the food was nice. Being Indian ourselves, it is often difficult to find suitable Indian restaurants that offer good quality Indian food, that doesn't taste like all the rest. My husband and I are also vegetarian, and upon looking at the menu online, we were satisfied with the options and decided to go. When we arrived, we were given a Valentines Special menu, which was a set menu. We asked our waitress for a regular menu as the set one didn't have many vegetarian dishes to chose from. She said they were unable to give us one as they were only serving from the set menu. We were disappointed, but she said that we could order alternatives but still refused to give us a menu to look - how do we know what else they serve, we're not mind readers! We were served complimentary onion bhajia and chutney, probably the best tasting food we had all night. You can imagine our disappointment when two non-Indian couples came and were given regular menus to order from. My husband ordered the paneer tikka, it was tasteless, and dry - we managed to spruce it up with lashings of chutney. I had potato basket chaat, again, nothing special and very bland. For mains, we had kadai paneer and mushroom-methi and both dishes were full of sugar and cream - the usual type of food you get in Indian restaurants. My husband ordered a 'passion passion' drink which was basically ginger ale mixed with cranberry juice and for £4, it was awful as it tasted powdery and was not a cocktail. Having hardly touched our mains, we had gulab jamun and ice cream - one miserly gulab jamun and a small scoop of ice cream. In total, it was £20 per head for average/poor food, small portions and poor service. There is a lot this restaurant has to get right - I had to ask twice for a spoon, wasn't given a menu when requested (but others did) and was only asked once if I wanted a drink. Oh, and the card machine was out of use, but no one told us until we waited 10minutes and then my husband went to enquire. For non-Indians who perhaps haven't or don't experience good quality Indian food, this may seem like a good restaurant. If however you are after authentic Indian food, this is not the place to eat. We felt ignored, with non-Indian guests appearing to look as though they were receiving better service than us on the night. Oh, and the fire alarm went off as someone ordered a sizzling dish, and the restaurant was full of smoke. It was definitely not worth the money, and is just another Indian restaurant that piles food with sugar and cream to hide a mildly average tasting dish. On the plus side, the restaurant is clean and decor is simple but effective. I hope that this review helps to improve customer service for this restaurant and especially the quality of service to Indian customers (which there were quite a few of in the restaurant)

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a 60 mile round trip!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Clearly a restaurant run by people who care deeply about their customers, food and service. A rarity these days to find all three! So many places could learn from this as you can serve the same quality of food in three different restaurants, but in a competitive market, it's the overall feeling of welcome and thought about you, the customer, that sets the winner apart.

Of course the food in Sanskrit is very good as most other reviewers have said. We are Asian food lovers and are often disappointed by Indian food where all the sauces seem to have come out of the same pots and taste very similar. Here the variety of dishes is wide (including plenty for veggie's and fish lovers) and all cooked individually with a sympathy for spice and flavour balance. The Tarka Dhal for instance is probably the best I've had anywhere - very garlicky and nutty. I would imagine anything on the menu would be good.

My wife and I are regularly flabbergasted by the price charged by restaurants for very average food. Here for well above average food we paid less than £60 for two, for a 2 course meal including poppadoms/dips,a bottle of good wine and a beer. Can't complain about that at all for this quality.

Several people on here have quoted this as 'best restaurant' in Brum. It's very good but not really in that league (Simpson's? Loves? Purnell's?). However if you're not sure which of the hundreds of Indian restaurants in the city to try - forget your pretentious overpriced Lasans etc - you woudn't go far wrong here. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanskrit Contemporary Indian Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Sanskrit Contemporary Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanskrit Contemporary Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.