We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I came here for a works convention and i was surprised that this place was tucked away in birmingham. The rooms are quite big which were clean. Typical facilites in the room which i used. The food was well above standards as was the breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    254
    116
    56
    31
See reviews for
113
159
11
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is located in the middle of a big estate with feeding deers everywhere which was gorgeous to see. If you are a golf enthusiast this hotel is for you. Gardens are perfectly kept, The hotel' s staff were nice and polite. I recommend the restaurant, it overlooks the golf course, the food was good and so was the breakfast. There isn't much I can fault apart from the bedrooms. They are dated and will need to be modernised before long. There is also an indoor pool and beauty room which we didn't use so can't comment. For shopping I suggest Solihull which we visited
whilst staying here and which is only 15 min drive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as it was my friend's wedding in the area and was pleasantly surprised.

It is set in a lovely area and looks picturesque due to the golf course (and I'm a non golfer!). Rooms were welcoming and comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Would certainly reccommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for one night prior to the Bike show at NEC. I had accumulated Marriott points on business and could spend them for this stay.

It seemed like I walked about a mile to my room, but it was quiet, overlooking an inner courtyard and I was not disturbed by the many wedding revellers my stay coincided with.

Despite all attention being focussed on the wedding party, the staff were attentive and helpful. Restaurant was fully booked, but a Marriott burger in the bar hit the spot.

Overall, typically Marriott and if you are a golfer you will probably go for the golf course.

Room Tip: The further you are prepared to walk, the quieter it seems to get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews which were a little concerning, however, we needn't have worried.
Impressive driveway leading to this country club and a very walm welcome from reception.
Plenty of atmosphere as Xmas parties going on but by no means intrusive. Had a meal in the bar restaurant, great staff, friendly complimentary bubbly and starter due to Xmas party food around which was a dab gesture we felt. Room was well equipped and clean and modern all quite new furnishings. Two double beds as three in our party.
Breakfast taken in main restaurant which looks out onto grounds. Very civilised self service buffet and excellent staff service.
Thoroughly recommended. We stayed due to event at NEC following day and it was literally a 10 minute drive so fab location too. Many thanks to all staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a business black tie event. Rooms clean staff excellent food could have been better although not sure if it was outside caterers as we were in a marquee.Breakfast typical chain buffet but very exceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Reception staff were very efficient, food was fine but uninspiring, room acceptable although bathroom a bit tired - but the carpets in the bedroom, the corridors and the conference suite where we were having an important dinner for 60 people were a disgrace - food, litter etc everywhere - a request to rectify was dealt with but we should not have had to ask.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.