We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this property as we were attending the NEC bike show two years ago. Even thought it is a little, well a lot out of the city, it is wonderful.

It was also my partner and I second year anniversary at the time. We had dinner, which was amazing. We did have a long wait for the food which was I was not very impressed about, but upon mentioning this to the manager on duty we were refunded part of our bill.

Also we were also given a complimentary anniversary desert for our special occasion, which I loved.

Staff were amazing and so friendly.

The room was AMAZING and the bed was soooo comfy I didn't want to leave. The location in itself is so relaxing and, away from it all.

I loved this property and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    254
    116
    56
    31
See reviews for
113
159
11
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night work conference at the Forest of Arden Marriott. On the whole a very good stay. I believe the main reason for this being the staff going the extra mile. From the receptionists on front deck to the Oaks Bar Staff (? Alaistair in particular) who remembered your favourite drinks each night. The air conditioning in our meeting rooms was a little temperamental ie one minute you would be freezing and the next boiling. One morning it took over half an hour for my poached eggs to arrive and I had to leave without them having arrived! Room service food was good and on time if not a bit early. Rooms were ok. Lots of parking and close to the train station. Wifi was also a little slow sometimes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel. Clean, good service. Stayed there Jan with tons of snow.....Loved the spa and also the restaurant/bar...would stay there again if i am in the area
Location was great for us since we had family in Nuneaton and had to go to University Hospital at Coventry a bunch. Location not too close to any major shopping areas but a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a two day business meeting in Birmingham. The hotel is located well - in the hillside at 20 min from the international airport. While riding onto the grounds deer are roaming the golf course. Although for Marriott standards the building is ready for an overhaul, all is compensated by the great service oriented attitude of the staff. When our taxi came in too late. The receptionist actually drove us to the airport himself. What more can I say. Great stay for business meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to the Forest of Arden for a christmas party event. The food was of a much higher quality than I was expecting, given the "conveyor belt" style that is typical of other hotels/restaurants. If this is the standard at an event of such numbers and the pressure to serve everyone within a short space of time, the quality at any other time of year should be excellent. The entertainment (a Kylie Minogue themed night) was interesting and made a nice change, although it perhaps went on a bit too long for some. The bedrooms were clean with good views, although it was a bit of a walk to reception, particularly as the layout isn't completely straightforward - we went round in a bit of a circle initially! The breakfast was good with lots of choice. Possibly not an outstanding visit but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for four nights whilst working at the NEC. I checked in each night when it was dark, and left each morning in darkness, and so didn't get to appreciate the wonderful view from my room overlooking the golf course.
The staff are one of the hotel's best assets, from the welcome at Reception, to Phil the Concierge who welcomed me by name each evening, to Alistair in the Oaks Bar who ensured that my glass was refreshed and I was happy with my (excellent) food.
A 15 minute drive from the Airport and NEC, this hotel is a peaceful oasis at the end of a hard day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I attended a 3 day meeting at this hotel and I can say this is a nice hotel with very good staff.
The room was tidy and clean. I had a few bar meals and one night I had dinner in the restaurant.
Service was polite and fast. The bar staff were excellent. I was pleased with this hotel it wasn't the best in the World but was a high standard overall.
Close to Birmingham airport. A very good location for your meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.