We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coventry Road, Birmingham B26 3QW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #74 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night and a meeting at the hotel the next day. Receptionist gave me a typical grumpy "eastern European" welcome! It's a bit tired and jaded to be honest. Room was quite small with tiny bathroom but adequate for one night, it was clean but the bed was tired and very soft. Food is the usually over-priced hotel fare - there's not much around the hotel by way of pubs or restaurants so I ended up eating in - food was okay.

The pool and gym area is nice and has been renovated I'd imagine.

The conferencing facilities were excellent - lady in charge was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Geoff B,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad you found our pool and gym facility to be nice. However, please accept my apologies if this visit was less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room you were given and if your check-in experience was sub par. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    267
    215
    146
    113
See reviews for
104
211
62
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as part of a conference party. My bedroom was so noisy with a generator outside that continuously rumbled and shook the room. I tried to ring reception to ask for a room change but the phone wasn't working - even the emergency button wasn't answered which is very risky in health and safety terms. I went to reception and joined the long queue for the long receptionist (6pm when everyone wants to check in and only one receptionist?) The receptionist was dismissive to me and said there were no other rooms available for me to change to. I waited and she eventually and rather reluctantly offered me a twin bedded room which I thought would be fine. It wasn't. The room, on the lower floor was dark, dank, unaired, grubby and horrid - but quiet. Had substandard evening meal. Rubbish breakfast - everyone falling over themselves trying to get self service. Toaster either throwing out warm bread or blackened and inedible. One redeeming factor - during a conference break we had pastries. These were served warm and were crispy and really tasty. I only stayed one night- I'm not sure I'd trust Holiday Inn again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear SirPrunealot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked our double room with our travel agent and when checking in told we had a twin as that what was booked, although confirmation stated a double. The room was ok for the few hours we had in it. Clean and hot water in the shower. The room was in the lower level and although quite it felt like the cheap end. Duty manager complimented dinner for us to apologise for the room mix up as they could not give us a double room. Food wasn't great, my burger wasn't cooked and didn't have a table meal check to send it back, desserts all bought in and expensive for what they are. Staff not very friendly and when I asked for some milk she said two minutes while she finished a discussion with another colleague! As I stood waiting. I wouldn't recommend this hotel based on my experience and not what I have experienced before from a holiday inn and better service all round in an express.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jonfaithfull,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had the occasion to stay at this hotel for two nights for a medical reunion.Having travelled from South Africa, we arrived at the hotel to find our room was not ready and had to wait nearly an hour for it to become available despite the fact that check in was from 2.00pm We got the room at 3.15pm. Despite requests the telephone did not work for the whole time we were there.It took two hours to get coat hangers!There was no amenities available in the bathroom or stationery in the bedroom which was barely big enough to swing a cat in! Thank god I didn't bring the cat! Generally a very poor performance from this hotel which also was not value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Peter F,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had a room booked for me as I was attending a meeting at the hotel, I arrived around mid day with a colleague I had collected at the airport. Parking was OK, around half the spaces were free, so no problems there. Check in, hum, lets say I've had better and more attentive staff and leave it at that.
After check in, we had a meeting in the bar with a supplier so I ordered some coffees and a meal. Again, I was not impressed by the attitude of the person who served us, was it a bad day for the staff? The meal simply was not that good.
My room was clean, but a little tired. I would say "functional". Big irritation, no free internet in the room - excuse me, Gold priority club member, I thought I got it free. Nope. However, its free in the bar, pity the signal was up and down like a tarts drawers, ho hum.
I met up with my colleague to hear her tale of woe about getting staff to sort out some problems with her room. A few of my other colleagues arrived and we had a chat in the bar, the common comments - the hotel needs refreshing and the staff were unhelpful.
We went off for an evening meal,normally I get a good feel for the restaurant by having a Caesar salad, and boy did this prove to be case here! A big hint, 4 soggy croutons, a splash of dressing and lumps of Iceberg lettuce are not a Caesar salad. I followed this with Gammon and Pineapple - not a nice way of putting it - Gammon - poor, Pineapple microscopically thin, chips average at best. I was not the only sufferer. Three of my colleagues ordered fish, and by the look of their meals probably shared a single fillet between them! A few vegetables? Nope! We all felt the experience was a let down.
I went to the gym in the morning, but it was being repaired so the machines were outside the gym room. The treadmill was not set up correctly, (I'm a "big" guy so when I hit the deck it was disconcerting to feel it shake and tip as it was not level). The cross trainer, again felt worn and some functions were not working, I gave up after that. A real pity.
Breakfast, not that much of a choice - even Premier Inn know that getting breakfast right for their customers is important.
Our meeting room was "OK", but again everyone felt the conference room needed a refresh. My main memory of our meeting was being a few minutes late for coffee break (due to snails pace check out) , only to see the cups and drinks being put away - can I beg a small drink? No way! (Despite the drinks being out for the room next door to ours, certainly not!). Even a bottle of water? No? Ah well, I'm only a customer.
Check out was not really an improvement - slow, disinterested and the only positive was getting the bill right first time - but how much did my my bar meal and coffees cost, lets say more than I expected by a fair way.

I don't like knocking hotels and their staff, I like to praise if at all possible as I know its not easy pleasing everyone, but I was really not impressed by this hotel and I won't visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear flinxUK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate this experience was not in line with what you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn name. We take all of the reviews we received very seriously. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My experience here was really mixed. I arrived at Birmingham International Train Station but it wasn't clear where to go. I called the hotel and the help and advice I got wasn't great, but there was a free shuttle bus and it was pretty good.

The front desk staff were really efficient and helpful. On check-out there was a problem with the taxi ordered for me and the staff worked hard to sort it out and even got me a discount - they were really good.

The gym was being refitted but they did still have some equipment available. The pool was really nice and generally the spa facilities were very good.

The room was a bit tired and was equpied with a plug-in heater so not great. The bathroom had seen better days, but it was clean and tidy if tired.

Dinner was again mixed - there was a problem with the starter (wrong thing was brought which was quibbled quite a bit at first) but it was sorted out really well and I wasn't charged for it.

The location is good for a lot of conferenece facilities, but you are a captive market if you do not have a car - there is nowhere you can walk to. That meant that the restaurant was VERY busy, but it was workable. You also cannot walk to the hotel from the train station or then on to locations.

Overall, not bad value but a bit tired.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our front desk staff efficient and helpful. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed last weekend as visiting the NEC with my wife.
Initial shock came on arrival, £17:00 to park!
This was reduced to £8:00 as we were residents, but still expensive.
Check in was faultless & the reception staff were very helpful & attentive.
Room was functional, but two lights were not working & neither was the extractor fan in the bathroom.
We had booked to go out for a meal at night & looking at the menu in the room I'm glad we had.
£15:95 for simple fish & chips, £20:00 for a Thai curry, small side orders were £4:95 each. All very pricey.
Breakfast the following morning was very nice but again, glad I had booked it when I reserved the room or that would have been £17:95 each!!
It was a comfortable nights sleep in an ok hotel. Perfect for a single night prior to flying to warmer climes, but check those 'extras' if not initially requested or they could mount up!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear R00ster1908,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the prices we offer in our restaurant and parking. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: Coventry Road, Birmingham B26 3QW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.