We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Birmingham Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Terminal Road, Birmingham B26 3QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed the night prior to flying from the airport. It was easy to locate, convenient car park and had a room overlooking the runway. Quick and pleasant check in with very nice staff. The room was clean and comfortable even though a bit on the small side. It was adequate for us as we left by 3.30 am the following morning due to early morning flight so can't comment on the breakfast. We had a meal the evening before in the bar and even though a little busy we didn't have to wait too long for our meal. The food was fine and a typical bar meal.

Checkout at 3.30am was simple. Just dropped our room key in the box and off we went. Would definitely stay here again if travelling on an early morning flight. The hotel is not within walking distance to the airport but just a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    68
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
47
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We decided to book here as we were going to the NEC the day after and after reading reviews we decided it would be ideal.
When we got there we entered the car park and took our stuff to our room.
We were on the 4th floor, road side. The room was very minimal, which was expected for the cost.
But I did assumed there would be a couple of small complimentary toiletries.. Which there wasn't.
We then had to go to the supermarket to buy toiletries, which meant paying £2 for 20 minutes in the car park, just so that we could leave!
On returning to the room later that evening, we settled to watch TV, which was supposed to be Freeview - we only managed to get about 4 channels.
During the night, the room was so hot that I couldn't sleep, there wasn't any air conditioning so I had to settle with the window open, which meant I could hear all the passing airport traffic and the cars on the bypass outside.
It was a tough decision.. Stay awake from the heat of the room or the noise outside?
We'd paid for breakfast.. It was okay, nothing impressive. I ended up having a bowl of cereal for £6.95 because the food didn't appeal to me.
On checking out, we asked how far the NEC was from the hotel.. It is not within walking distance! The entire reason I paid for this hotel was thinking it was closer than it was.
We then tried to pay for our car park ticket with debit card - the machine wasn't working so the woman on reception told us to pay for our ticket in the opposite, long stay car park. We went to do this but our ticket had been blocked. The woman on reception told us we had to buy a new one at no extra cost, so we did.
On trying to leave the car park we entered our ticket and the machine said 'wrong car park'.
Even though we'd been told we would be able to leave the short stay car park on buying this ticket from the long stay car park, we couldn't. We then had to ring the car park company on the machine to let us out.
Then it was a 10 minute drive to the NEC.
If you aren't expecting much, it's okay. But being a big company like Travelodge, I expected more.
Needless to say if I ever need to stay in Birmingham again, I won't opt for this one.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review Cate S. As a brand standard, we do not provide toiletries in our rooms, however they can be purchased from our vending machines in reception. This then allows us to continue to offer great rates for our customers. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An excellent location, close to NEC or LG Arena. Hotel spotless, the room was immaculate, beds were lovely.
Lovely large bar / resturant area & breakfast was superb, .......fresh, hot, lots of choice too.
A big mention to the lovely staff, each one so helpful.
Would highly recommend & we will definatley use again.

Room Tip: One side of hotel faces the runway , nice if you have children, as they can watch the flights take o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall hotel reception, rooms and bar were clean and comfortable and staff were welcoming and helpful. However, a concern was raised regarding the food in the cafe but this was not dealt with appropriately. No feedback or offer of compensation was given, it was simply swept under the carpet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was in a group of 6 and had been let down at the holiday Inn next door. Vicki on reception could not of been anymore understanding and helpful. Vicki swiftly arranged TWIN rooms for us, helped us out with taxi's and local information. The girl is a credit to Travel Lodge.

Thanks again to all the team at Travel lodge

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No frills, but a modern clean Travelodge located 5 mins drive from airport terminal.
Arrived late evening, quick & easy checkin, good sound insulation, just right for staying near airport ready for an early flight the following day.
Didn't have time to use the bar/restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

was really surprised at the quality of the room for the more, id half expected a mattress on the floor but i was very surprised ! very clean and warm, was a little dissapointed when i found out it was a £12 taxi ride from birmingham airport to the hotel when i was under the impression it was a airport travelodge but all said and done i was very happy with the service and the room and would stay at a travelodge in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Address: Terminal Road, Birmingham B26 3QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Birmingham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.