We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Birmingham to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Birmingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
west mids
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Lift noise was so loud. Tiny room. Wooden door frame hanging off so couldn't put security chain on and felt scary when during the night someone was trying to open the door. Reported door frame but nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    393
    220
    63
    39
See reviews for
91
249
27
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was booked here on business for a single night but I really enjoyed my stay here. The front staff was friendly and accommodating. My room was clean and comfortable. I had a room high up and facing east which gave me great views of downtown and some of the canals. The breakfast in the morning was extensive and excellent. The only downside was that the walls were a bit thin and I could clearly hear talking in adjacent rooms. Also, being on Broad Street, you are in the center of things just by stepping out of the front door; a definite plus. Although I didn't hear anything, one of my friends said he could hear the noise of people on the street. So, perhaps a higher room like I had is best.

Overall, a fine hotel and worth staying at.

Room Tip: High up to avoid street noise and facing east for decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

1st impression is of a massive room and the biggest bed i have ever seen quite odd really as i had only booked a single but was of course most welcome room also had a 42" flat screen television air conditioning plus the usual kettle but also had a writing desk, all in all was fabulous. Was on the 9th floor so couldnt hear any noise from the street or any noise from in the hotel for that matter, my only complaint would be the bar prices butthat is easily remedied by going to the pub 25 yards away selling it £2 a pint cheaper. Staff were very friendly on check in and out so was a very good stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One night's stay in the heart of Broad Street, room was clean, surprisingly quiet (on the ninth floor anyway) and comfortable. Jury's Inn represents good value for money and if you enjoy nightlife then you'll love the location. Check in did take a bit of time but it was very busy and a Bank Holiday weekend. My daughter and her friends had a good time, I left them to it at midnight and came back to the hotel where security were checking that people coming in were residents.

Room Tip: I suppose the higher up the better as regards noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the room quality, and good breakfast. 5 mins walk to ICC conference centre, and even less to the canal side bars and restaurants nearby. And very good value at about £70 a night. Good views from the higher floors and less traffic noise disturbance - mainly sirens as in any city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Depends on what you expect from a hotel:

The rooms are nice and big, with only double beds (so if you book a double room you don't get two single beds but two doubles) which is good. Nice and warm and clean.
Downside:
Full of hen and stag parties so very noisy, people shouting on the corridors all night.
I asked for caffeine free tea in the room, was told the don't do that.
No room service.
No ice buckets at the bar.
Breakfast like a catlike market, people came down in pyjamas! Cheap food.

Because of the location they have security on the door, lots of police and and ambulances outside the hotel, apparently this is normal because of the type of clientele.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUSHDEN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed one night at this excellent hotel.
I asked for a quiet room with a view and they gave me a room on the top (16th) floor.
Recent renovation work meant the room (1620) could NOT be faulted.
The parking was easy and the breakfast was excellent.
I expected room doors banging all night but I heard nothing.
Thank you Jurys Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get amazing views over Birmingham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysBirminghamMgmt, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear PETER R

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very glad that enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotels and facilities to be suitable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thanking you once again,

Niall Mitchell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Birmingham

Address: 245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jurys Inn Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Birmingham is right in the middle of Birmingham city centre - studied on Broad Street right in the heart of it all. Located in very close proximity (4 min walk) to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and the National Indoor Arena (NIA), as well as a short train ride to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) the hotel is ideal for people visiting on business. The hotel is conveniently close to Birmingham New Street (10 min walk) and other transport links. Jurys Inn Birmingham features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car the hotel offers onsite paid car parking featuring 200 spaces. The hotel has 445 comfortable bedrooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Birmingham at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Jurys Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.