We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Brunswick Square | Brindley Place, Birmingham B1 2HW, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £77
Ranked #25 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a well located hotel right in the heart of Birmingham. My room was not large, but was modern, clean and comfortable. In room dining had a limited menu but food quality was very good and fast. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving your comments On Tripadvisor which always prove invaluable to us. We are glad that you like our location as we believe it to be one of the best in the city, situated in the prestigious Brindleyplace area close to bars, restaurants and the beautiful canals.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    570
    169
    52
    21
See reviews for
91
538
100
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July. It was the first time that I have ever stayed in a Garden Inn and I was pleasantly surprised. Easy to find with great secure parking just behind the hotel.
The check in was a little slow but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I had dinner in the bar area with a colleague which was very nice and enabled us to relax.

My room was very bright and airy and the bed was comfortable. The only downside to the room was that the air conditioning unit would not allow me to adjust the temperature of the room so it was a little too hot. I therefore had to sleep with the window open which was a little noisy. Still managed to get a reasonable nights sleep though.

In the morning the restaurant was packed for breakfast. My colleague and I found a table however we had a long wait before we were able to get any tea or coffee.

The buffet was nice and had a good selection. Again the staff on departure were lovely and as such I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and iMacs in all the bedrooms.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Hilton Garden for one night whilst we attended a concert at the Symphony Hall. The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from The Symphony Hall and the NIA, it is surrounded by bars and a wide range of eating places. Breakfast was good with an assortment of Traditional English and Continental ingredients.Good service and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry service.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex girl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I arrived early evening, check in procedures were fine, staff were friendly and efficient and I was in my room in minutes.
The hotel is very well placed in Birmingham and many restaurants, bars and clubs are nearby.
The room was comfortable and warm (but not too warm) and the air con was easily controllable.
IT connectivity is good and TV facilities were fine. The shower room is very compact but has everything you need and was sparkling clean.
Excellent dressing table mirror with access to elecricity output for hairdryer and straighteners and with good light for make-up.
My one criticism is that the table I was initially shown to was slap in the middle of the dining room with all the dining traffic close at hand, I did feel I was being offered a substandard place because I was a woman dining alone. However when I indicated another table close to the window there was no quibble.
Overall I would recommend the hotel.
Car parking on site is limited but the hotel offers a discounted rate in conjunction with the nearby multi storey - £12 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving your comments following on from your recent stay with us. We always aim to exceed guest expectation and it satisfies us greatly when we achieve it. We are glad that you like our location as we believe it to be one of the best in the city, located in the prestigious Brindleyplace area close to bars, restaurants and the beautiful canals.

We do hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Attentive service throughout and generous servings of scones and cakes in comfortable surroundings. Food was presented on proper tiered cake stands, and staff were quite happy to bring us a second (very large) pot of tea. Having asked for veggie sandwiches on making our booking, it was refreshing that the waitress clarified that we were happy with egg and cheese when we arrived. Proper tea leaves would have given it a 5, rather than a 4, but having tried numerous other afternoon tea venues in Birmingham/Manchester, this was hard to beat for quality and value combined.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding our afternoon tea. We are of course biased and believe that it is one of the best in the city, however it is great to have this opinion reinforced by the clientele who we are trying to impress.

Don't forget that we can also cater for a wide range of events and private functions, including weddings and family parties.

We do hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

really good no frills hotel with access to the heart of Birmingham. Nice AV system in the room. towels were really good. recommended if you need to get your head down in the centre of town. Close to a good variety of restaurants and cool pubs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and iMacs in all the bedrooms.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for two nights - 1st and 2nd Septemer. My decision to stay at this hotel was based on the fact that there was free wifi in the room, and a fitness centre. The ‘Hilton’ name also caused me to expect a certain standard.

In terms of location, it is ideally situated for the ICC, NIA, Sealife centre etc, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from for alternatives to the standard hotel fare on offer at the HGI. However, what I would say is that, although some reviews state that the hotel is within easy walking distance from New Street station, it is a bit of a trudge if (like me) you are carrying a briefcase and suitcase. A taxi to/ from the station costs approximately £5.

On arrival at the hotel I was promptly checked in, and told that I was eligible to receive two free bottles of water – which I should help myself to from the fridge within the ‘Pantry’ area. This was the only use I made of this section of the hotel, so I can’t comment on prices/ variety etc.

My room was a standard size city hotel room. The bed was nice and big (and comfy), but the bathroom was a little on the small side. That said, the shower was nice, although I found it slightly odd that the complimentary toiletries consisted of shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, but no shower gel…

I was on a corporate Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate, so I decided to eat at the hotel. The restaurant is closed on a Sunday, and so I had to eat in the bar. There were only one or two comfy chairs in the bar area, which were taken up by another group, so I was stuck with the ‘school canteen’ style table and chairs. When the food arrived it was mediocre, and I left most of it before going up to my room, glad that I hadn’t paid for it myself.

The following morning I went downstairs to breakfast, to be confronted by what can only be called absolute chaos. There is a sign asking you to wait to be seated, at which point someone asks for your room number, and then tells you to sit where you like. This system does not help to quell the chaos… With buffet breakfast (such as this), people invariably leave their table in order to help themselves to more food. Combined with the fact that no-one appeared to be clearing tables, (all of them had dirty plates on), you had no idea which had been vacated completely, and which were waiting for their occupants to return, with more food. Also, no-one approached and asked whether I wanted tea/ coffee etc, and many of the fruit juice options (to which you could help yourself) were in need of re-filling. The ‘help yourself’ buffet area was small, and again disorganised. This resulted in me having a breakfast of bran flakes and grapefruit juice, before grabbing a banana, and retiring to my room.

The exact same situation ensued the following morning, although that evening, I decided to skip the bar, and order room service. Although the meal arrived within 20 minutes, it was bland, and lukewarm.

The second thing which caused me to book the HGI, was the mention of a Fitness Centre, which I used on the second evening. This was small, as you would expect from any inner-city hotel, but there was only one other person in there with me, and I was free to use the treadmill for as long as I liked.

Although the room was nice enough (ie. I like the free wifi, comfy bed and iMac system), this was the only thing which would make me even consider staying at the Hilton Garden Inn again, and I would book room only and eat out at one of the many alternative restaurants available close by.

In short, on my next stay in Birmingham, I would probably look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving your comments follwoing your reecent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for your disappointing experience which I am more than happy to discuss with you in more detail. Please contact me at nicola.underhill@hilton.com at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Address: 1 Brunswick Square | Brindley Place, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence The Hilton Garden Inn is a four star standard hotel located in Birmingham City Centre within the prestigous Brindleyplace development. The hotel is centrally located and ideal when attending events and concerts at the International Convention Centre, National Indoor Arena and Symphony Hall or enjoying the shopping and nightlife in and around the city centre. The hotel features 238 queen evolution rooms, the Brindley Lounge, City Cafe, Business Centre and Fitness Centre. All of the rooms are equipped with Apple Imacs which provide a full IT solution for all of your business needs and double up as a comprehensive entertainment system as well featuring a wide range of channels including sky sports. Complimentary wifi is avilable throughout the hotel as well. Sleep Deep, Eat Well, Work Smart, Stay Fit and Treat Yourself are amongst the brand pillars which the team work hard to deliver and ensure that you have a comfortable and successful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.