We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room , just not finished” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Collection Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham) (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice room , just not finished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked hotel on booking.com and was happy with location and that there was parking included .
When we got there we were impressed with the look of the hotel even though it was in the middle of renovation . The room was of high spec but when we entered the room it was cold so we put the heating on , no problem . Then whilst having a shower I noticed that the shower was not able to stay in position as the holder wasn't suitable to hold it . Whilst having a shower my partner sat on the loo and it promptly moved because it wasn't bolted down ... Hhhmmm .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    68
    63
    41
    30
See reviews for
11
100
12
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were with a wedding party ................ a very nice room , a really nice breakfast , the waiter was very helpful , a very pleasant stay in all. A little addition of toiletries in the room would be good , or if people ask at reception for them in case the had come without them . unusual not to have them in the room (to my knowledge its only travel lodges that don't provide them ).
**** PLEAS NOTE .. KEEP EMERGENCY EXCITS CLEAR OF LAUNDRY****** THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM IN CASE OF FIRE .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel I was a little gutted, judging by the outside I didn't know what to expect,. We were unaware when booking that the hotel was going through renovations and the reception is obviously a make shift one whist these are taking place. The reception staff acted as though they had never worked in a hotel before and check in took a while.

However when we got to our room I was pleasantly surprised. Having booked an executive room we had a very big comfy bed, everything was clean and well presented, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were provided, lovely and warm and plenty of space.

Was a little disappointed that the water wasn't very hot, had to run the tap for a while which was a bit if a waste. You have to walk to a separate building to get breakfast which is served in a very small room, if we had gone earlier there would have been no room for us. Food was lovely though, lots of choice, all served hot.

Was just what we needed for a night away however would stay somewhere else if I were planning a longer trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The first hint of change came on our arrival to Birmingham Airport, the taxi driver had not heard of the Clarion Collection Hotel. We provided him with the address and on arrival to the hotel, we couldn't see any reference to "Clarion". When we went into the very plain reception area (not minimalist, just plain and giving off a temporary feel), we were dealt with efficiently and we made our way to our room on the ground floor, passing an upholstered bench type hall seat which had an A4 sheet of paper on it, with the words written ... "Please do not sit on this". Given that the piece of furniture was in a public hallway, it is surely curious that the guests should not be allowed to use it?? As we were rushing to an event in Birmingham, we barely dropped our bags and ran, so didn't have time to check out the room, except to note that our room looked onto what seemed to be a back yard which was untidy and uninviting. Thankfully, we weren't planning to spend time, so we just closed the curtains and headed out. On our return to the hotel that night, we noticed that we were short some toiletries and towels, which were supplied without delay by front desk staff. We then discovered that the room fridge was empty and had to go to reception to get a bottle of water. The room and bathroom both seemed clean and joy of joys (!) the bed was really comfortable ... something that should never be taken for granted in a hotel. This was particularly important to us, as we were rising very early to return to the airport and indeed, we both slept like babes! We had to turn on the wall heater for a few minutes as the room felt chilly but it worked well. I cannot comment on breakfast, which I understand is served next door to the hotel. For me, the positives about the hotel were the pleasant staff and the extremely comfortable bed. What it lacks is character or a cohesive interior design. The public spaces look very basic and empty. It may be that when the refurbishment programme is completed, this hotel will rise from being average to being a very good boutique destination .. at present, it's too early to say.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We wanted somewhere convenient for the Symphony Hall (to see Bellowhead). This one had a bus stop with frequent buses to the City Centre and a free car park at the side. We had a large quiet room with an up-to-date bathroom. The Hotel is being refurbished so the breakfast was next door but it was cooked to order. What's not to like. (pssst try room 904.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at the "Clarion" again but it has now changed to Collection Hotels. It has building works at the moment knocking through into the Norfolk although we heard no actual noise around this.

Usual high standard at the Collection and Norfolk reception has been completely overhauled. Although beware the rooms at Norfolk - still shabby as they have yet to be done.
Breakfast has improved further, now help yourself buffet breakfast, everything you could want from full English to pastries , fruits, cereals, Italian meats and cheese, variety of breads / rolls and as is usual as much orange / apple juice and tea coffee as you want.
On thing that could be improved on is if the 24 hour reception staff could ask guests who come back after midnight to keep the noise down. Twice heard rowdy neighbours returning although didn't last long, it was enough to wake you up.
For now book the Collection NOT the Norfolk.

Room Tip: 1002 - 1010 are king rooms = beds super king 1101 - 1120 standard rooms beds still kingsize avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Second stay at this hotel (first was planned, this one wasnt) After a huge mess up with an online booking, we were transferred to this hotel. As we have stayed here before we knew what to expect. Its about a 30-40 min walk into the city centre, or there are very regular buses from outside the hotel. Reception staff were quite welcoming, rooms are furnished to a high standard, they are clean, and are good for relaxing in after a busy day. The hotel is modern and has all the required facilities in the room.
We didnt have the breakfast so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LateRooms, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collection Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.