We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Collection Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham) (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
North Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for the first time after we were unable to book into our usual hotel, we booked a king room which was on the ground floor room was worth the money and bed was comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and brought us extra towels. Breakfast was cooked well and fresh, again staff were helpful. The hotel is also undergoing refurbishment, would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    68
    63
    42
    30
See reviews for
11
101
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to birmingham as a group of three couples. We wanted to stay somewhere close and near to broad street as we had planned to go on a night out. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by very friendly staff at the reception. We then went up to the room (lift) to find a very nice well equiped bedroom with ipod speakers and a flat screen tv. We inly had one robe and one towel but a quick call to reception and they put it right straight away. We had a nice night out and a lovely room to come back to. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a birthday treat for my boyfriend. Very good value, interesting menu
staff very friendly and helpful, a little bit out of town but that is reflected in price. would definitely recomend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Hotel for one night on what we called our mini road trip to Birmingham. We were very unsure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. On arrival we drove through to the car park which was quite empty and I was a little unsure if it was safe as it was overlooked by a block of flats which didnt look to good. Minor issue at the reception desk regarding payment as my daughter booked through Late Rooms which we thought had taken the payment but it was resolved quickly. Our room was on the second floor (lift access). when we entered our room we were very pleased and surprised to see how modern clean and comfortable it was. The room was provided with dressing gowns, towels, ironing board and iron and various accessories in the bathroom. We also had a large flat screen TV and plenty of tea coffee and chocolate drinks. Our room overlooked the car park so we could see our car from our room but there was absolutely no need to worry as the gates were closed and to be honest by the end of the night the car park was quite full. We thought we would have to travel to find somewhere to eat as we hadnt booked the hotel for anything other than the room. In all fairness we didnt see the dining room or bar as it was behind a door which had no window to see in and we didnt feel comfortable walking in as we werent going to drink or eat there. We decided to take a short walk whilst it was still daylight and were happy to discover just a short walk down the road several places to eat which we decided to come back later and have a meal at which we did. On returning to our room about 9.30 we settled in for the night and watched TV. By then the hotel must have filled up quite a lot as the car park was almost full. Our room was lovely comfortable and warm and we had no noise or disturbances from anything.The location is ideal for Birmingham and the surrounding area. We had planned a trip to Cadburys World the next day which was a very short drive away. So all in all we had a clean comfortable pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and modern with good decor. Friendly staff.

Location was not central however there is a bus stop right outside the hotel, so easy access to the city centre. Plenty of free parking space which was good.

The negatives - The bathroom door had doodling on it which I don't know why hadn't been cleaned. The bed mattress was a little lumpy. Restaurant area was still under renovation and a bit unsightly.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here a few times on business, the hotel has good parking and is in a great location.

The rooms are modern and there is a nice big tv in each room, lovely powerful shower and modern fittings. I booked a single room, and was relieved to find two single beds pushed together to make a great sized bed to slob out on.

Lots of places to eat literally a 5 minute walk away from TGI Fridays, Ask, an Indian and a Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here when we were on a night out in Birmingham. Think it was about £45 for the room, so only £22.50 each! Great location, about a 2min taxi drive into town. The hotel also offers free parking. Inside the hotel is much more modern than the outside. Rooms are very clean and a nice size. Can get a bit cold, so make sure you're heatings on if you're staying in the winter. Staff very friendly and helpful, more than happy to order taxis for you. I missed out on using the pool and fitness suite, so can not comment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collection Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collection Hotel Birmingham

Address: 263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collection Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LateRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Collection Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collection Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.