We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaun & Katrina BBC Birmingham Tour Saturday 13th Apr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BBC Birmingham Tours

BBC Birmingham Tours
BBC Broadcasting House | Level 10, The Mailbox, Birmingham B1 1RF, England
0370 9011 227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 92 Activities in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit BBC Birmingham's state-of-the-art studios: home of The Archers, Midlands Today and BBC WM. Take a peek behind the scenes and then join in some interactive fun as you create your own radio drama complete with sound effects and music! BBC Tour guides give a fascinating insight into the many programmes originating from BBC Birmingham and tell the inside story of what it takes to get them from script to screen. They are also on hand to answer any burning questions relating to technical wizardry, famous faces that have visited the building or even where Nick Owen gets his jokes! This is your invitation to gain access to the rarely-seen world behind the famous TV and radio programmes that are broadcast and produced from BBC Birmingham. BBC Birmingham is a working building so no two tours are the same, but they will always be informative, interesting and entertaining. In 2010 the tours won the Best Tourism Experience in the Heart of England. Ticket prices range from £6.15 - £8 and tours last up to one-and-a-half hours. Tours regularly take place on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and throughout the day on Saturdays. The building is wheelchair accessible. All children under 16 years old must be accompanied by an adult.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shaun & Katrina BBC Birmingham Tour Saturday 13th Apr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a great job they both did this afternoon, a lively and informative tour, we were a family group of 6. The Archers recording was brill. Great job BBC

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and well done for getting involved with the radio drama recording. Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BBC Birmingham Tour - very good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yesterday, Saturday 23rd March, a group of about 15 of us, were given a tour of the studios, offices, et c., and I, plus all the other members, agreed how interesting it was. It"s not every day the general public visit such a place and the majority of us were fascinated and entertained, even though being a Saturday it wasn"t exactly buzzing with activity. I can completely agree with the contents of the other reviews posted at that date.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your tour of BBC Birmingham! Thank you for coming to see us - we also do tours on a Tuesday and Thursday evening when the place has a different vibe as Midlands Today is about to go on air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinswinford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Two Hours Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Half term family day out in Birmingham,grandparents,parents and grandchildren we all had a very interesting and informative experience,the guides were exstremely good and keen to tell us the workings of BBC Birmingham and we were fortunate to see several of the mainline presenters.
I found the whole thing very enlightening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour. Please tell your friends all about us. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

BBC Birmingham is located in the Mailbox which is within walking distance from the city. I did not use the BBC tours but instead wandered around the site at my own pace.

At the front of the foyer upon arrival was a full size Doctor Who Tardis. A member of staff greeted me and told me that there was a Dalek upstairs, there was and there was also a lot more to see.

BBC Birmingham is where the Radio 4 soap opera The Archers is recorded and the studios can be seen through a glass screen. There are many exhibits and also the chance to read the News or create a Weather forecast, I did this last year when I visited with my partner a year ago and it was good fun.

Downstairs is a very good shop where it is possible to buy BBC DVD’s and products that are impossible to find anywhere else.

A great place to visit both informative and fun

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed the Public Space at BBC Birmingham. Hope to see you again. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The tour guides were great, really good fun and knowledgable. The hour and a half went really quickly and we had the opportunity to record our own radio drama. The Archers was being filmed that day so we couldn't go in to the recording studio but were shown photos and given demonstrations of what they'd be doing. Would highly recommend this if you need to kill a few hours on a rainy afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCTours, Manager at BBC Birmingham Tours, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Georgie, glad you enjoyed your visit to BBC Birmingham. No two tours are the same so hopefully next time you'll get to see the inside of Ambridge.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBC Birmingham Tours also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to BBC Birmingham Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BBC Birmingham Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.