We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 24 Carat Bistro

24 Carat Bistro
27 Warstone Lane | Hockley, Birmingham B18 6JQ, England (Ladywood)
+44 121 236 0519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,602 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Caribbean, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: GOOD HOME COOKED FOOD AT A REASONABLE PRICE. We are a small FAMILY RUN business in the heart of the Jewelry Quarter, reached by walking down a quaint tiled walkway (at the side of Paul Green's Jewelers). Once inside you will discover a hidden part of the Jewelry Quarter's history.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place is very easy to miss being in an alleyway behind two jewellery shops but if you are in the area and want a tasty meal, a warm fire and smiling service you should look it up. A meal for two was curry goat for me and Salmon fish cakes for my wife with a bottle of Red Stripe and a Coke. Total cost £15. Nothing more to say really.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    24
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had lunch two days running and both times the welcome was warm, the food very good and the ambience relaxing. We thoroughly recommend a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My fiance and I had finished sorting our wedding rings in the Jewellery Quarter and decided to find somewhere for lunch before heading home. Being fairly unfamiliar with the area, we were unsure where to head so just had a wonder around. We then came across a corridor with an A board in the street advertising the 24 Carat Bistro, so my other half went down to have a look, I then followed! We found a little door with wonders behind!

Having a family business ourselves, we love to support others and so this was a perfect place to find for us as we understand the difficulties and rewarding times of running a family business. Husband, wife, sister and son were who we could see, friendly, hardworking and attentive! The menu is a cross of traditional English and Caribbean food that's all mainly homemade which is a real treat.

Eating out is something we do very regularly (too regularly!) and we found this food beautiful, hearty and homely. The homemade puddings and cakes are also to die for. We can't praise this place enough with its warm and welcoming atmosphere, and amazing value for money. We shall certainly be returning and it can't come soon enough!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A lovely cosy little place that serves homemade food.A log fire and really friendly service contribute to a wonderful atmosphere.The food was really tasty and excellent value for money.Will definitely become a regular!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were hungry and wondering where to eat when a lady gave us a leaflet and pointed down an ally way to where her restaurant was, so we went in and it was absolutely BRILLIANT! the food was delicious - home made lasagne and chips with salad, washed down by a couple of glasses of wine. The service was friendly and efficient. We will definitely go back when we are next in Birmingham! Thanks goodness the lady was standing there or we would never have known about it! A real treasure in the Jewellery Quarter!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 24 Carat Bistro also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to 24 Carat Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 24 Carat Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.