We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Halfway House from Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Norfolk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norfolk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Twirlie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Halfway House from Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner and I were booked into here last September on a work trip and have been meaning to leave a review, sorry, I mean warning, to other travelers ever since.

This is in fact, as other reviews say, a halfway house for the homeless. There are prostitutes outside (and dare I say inside) as well as drug addicts.

On arrival we ventured warily up to our corridor which was like something from a horror movie. Just a flickering strip bulb on the ceiling in the darkness with buckets collecting drips from the corridor ceiling. On walking into our room I have never seen anything like it (and we have traveled) It was rotten, dirty, with body hair in the bed, dirty tissue by the loo, the list goes on..

Just do not stay here! We left and stayed in the hotel next door (I believe they are used to this) which was much better and they confirmed our impression that it was indeed a halfway house.

How this place is able to function and take money is beyond me. Worse place I have ever, ever seen. Truly, incredibly horrendous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    23
    26
    207
See reviews for
40
50
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

wish i had read the reviews before i booked to stop here, could`nt get into the usuall place i stop in birmingham so booked this at the last minute.the recoption area is`nt to bad but thats it. got a room on the 3rd floor so took the lift, this set alarm bells ringing it was filthy, after getting out of the lift i was greeted to the smell of canabis in the air the carpet was thread bare and dirty. after findind my room through the maze of broken doors i was greeted to a room which was dirty, filthy and full of cob webs not sure when the room was last cleaned,tried the tv this did not work asked for a move of room but this was same no tv working and room worse. in the night there was constant noise and banging of doors. after talking to somebody the place is used as a stop gap for the homeless. the next morning got up and whent down the back staircase instead of lift and when i got to ground floor corridor all outside most of bedroom doors there were rat mats which really put me off. rang the hotel from work later on that day and spoke to Carol on reception who did`nt care less and actually cut me off. whatever you do DONT STOP HERE.
Carnt believe this place is allowed to stay open come on BIRMINGHAM COUNCIL, CLOSE IT DOWN.

Room Tip: No tips its just rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a rip off -read other reviews -the hotel takes your money at reception (which looks ok)before you see the rooms. It is disgusting. We stayed 10 minutes and wiped our feet on the way out. Didn't even bother to speak with reception because the hotel is so filthy you wouldn't want to stay here anyway. It smells of curry,smoke,drugs and there are a lot of horrible people hanging about. DO NOT STAY HERE.

We found a lovely premier inn 100 metres down the road they fitted us in and were lovely.

Room Tip: DO not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Its vile! If you have standards don't come here! Good job me and my fella are so loved up nothing puts a downer on us. Basic and springy bed, stinks of smoke! Won't be eating here in the morning will be finding a pub lol

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i stayed in this lodging house on 25/26/27/1/2013,I arrived at approx 2 in the morning just wanted to sleep.I went for breakfast the next morning got to the lift when the door opened there was wet blobs of plaster on the floor went down to lobby and saw what only be described as homeless people hanging around lobby and out side this is when i realized it was a doss house never again
Irish

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here two days ago and did not know what to expect. However the hotel was in a good location, the price was cheap and it was only for 1 night.
My stay here was ok. The hotel had everything I needed really. It was basic but just about 3 star.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as i wanted a little break, when i got there i stood in shock and horror as i never thought a hotel would be aloud to stay open to the public looking in that state, i was going to book another hotel but as i had already paid and arrived quite late there was no point. The toilets were dirty, the carpet i wouldn't even call it that as it had worn that much into the floor it was sticky when walked across, the bed was creaky i could hear other peoples conversations from other rooms the tv did not work, there were spiders on the ceiling there was also dried spit on my mirror, the window was old and couldn't close and to make matters worse i booked a double room as i didn't want a double bed so my partner made a surprise visit to me and the security wouldn't let him in and told him he had to go even though i paid for a double room i was really annoyed about that as they have no right to say i can not have my partner stay if i paid for a double room. Also i seen a few prostittues walking round the corridors which got me rather scared and locked myself in my room as i am a young female and felt rather uncomfortable by some of the staff and people that was staying there. So never ever ever Ever Again....if your looking for something cheap DO NOT GO 2 THIS HOTEL i wouldn't even advise my worst enemy to stay in such a place. It is disgusting and i think it should be shut down, its unfair that in the pictures it looks rather okay but when you get there its like walking into an old mouldy building site.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Address: 267 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Comfort Inn Edgbaston)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 en suite bedrooms, the 3-star Norfolk Hotel is situated on the A456 in Edgbaston, less than 10 minutes' drive from Birmingham city centre. It offers Wi-Fi access and free parking.Located next door to the hotel, the Headingley Restaurant offers international dishes for breakfast and dinner.Tea and coffee making facilities, Freeview TVs and a private bathroom feature in each modern room.The hotel is completely non-smoking, and has a stylish reception area and a well-stocked modern bar, which serves drinks until late and has Sky Sports channels.In large, peaceful gardens, the hotel is down the road from lively Broad Street, 2.5 miles from Edgbaston Cricket Ground and 1.5 miles from Birmingham New Street Station. The NIA and the ICC-Birmingham convention centre are a 10-minute drive away, with the M5 motorway less than 4 miles away and there are regular buses to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Norfolk Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.