We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Birmingham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burlington Arcade | 126 New Street, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Myself and my girdlfriend just returned from a trip to the Burligngton Hotel, I can only say that this hotel is the best I have ever stayed at in Bimringham, from check in to check out everything went smoothly. We did not eat in the hotel but we had breakfast for only an extrad £10 per person and you can eat as much as you want and the breakfast staff was lovely, its location is brilliant next to all the shops, bars and restaurant, we went to Red peppers and we had a lovely meal, there too, what a great time we had. I love Birmingham

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    474
    232
    101
    58
See reviews for
89
591
102
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Not only do you get gratis flea bites and the best views and sounds of a bus lane but you also get a really unhelpful receptionist who will do everything not to help you should you ring up and ask for something crazy like to be connected to the internet.

Saying that, the breakfast was good and the old fella serving it was a really nice guy.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Booked this hotel at very last minute due an error by the company and was rewarded. The room was large, nicely furnished and decorated. The hotel is very central but still pretty quiet and although the old building is a bit awkward it was well maintained.
Reception staff were excellent, sorting a multiple booking so I did not have to move room and also passing on messages to colleagues reliably. This is something many hotels struggle with so is to be commended.
We did have one negative note which was an extremely rude member of lobby staff but on raising this with the duty manager this issues was dealt with by the operations manager extremely professionally and with good grace. I think this is a good example of where dealing with a problem well sets you apart from the crowd.
I was very pleased with my stay overall as was my colleague and I would recommend this hotel and be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

the receptionist, Neihla, was the most friendliest hotel receptionist ever come across, Recommended great places to eat, see and visit. Great advice on how to get around the city. Dealt with any queries we had immediately. Fantastic - would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are made to feel very welcome. Rooms are very clean and decor is plush with cleanliness a very high standard. Breakfast is amazing and suits EVERYONES tastes. The staff are so friendly and everything you require is catered for. It is a special place to stay for special occassions or as I did to stay overnight for a business trip. Loved the shoe cleaner in the lobbies. Such easy access to the train station and to the shops. 5 minutes down the road from the restaurants that cater for all. At a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and the MacDonald chain in particular (3rd stay this year). The hotel is spotless and in very good repair. We stayed in room 506 (executive) which was of a very high standard, clean, modern and spacious.

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was good and varied - usual cereals, breads, pastries, juices, fruit, cold meats, cheese and fully cooked english too.

The location was great right in the centre of Birmingham, really handy for the shops.

I would rate out stay 5/5.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel right in the centre of Birmingham! The staff were really helpful and friendly and we loved our stay. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade | 126 New Street, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.