We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic customer service, second to none!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 New Street | 6 Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic customer service, second to none!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

the receptionist, Neihla, was the most friendliest hotel receptionist ever come across, Recommended great places to eat, see and visit. Great advice on how to get around the city. Dealt with any queries we had immediately. Fantastic - would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    278
    141
    74
    40
See reviews for
53
327
77
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are made to feel very welcome. Rooms are very clean and decor is plush with cleanliness a very high standard. Breakfast is amazing and suits EVERYONES tastes. The staff are so friendly and everything you require is catered for. It is a special place to stay for special occassions or as I did to stay overnight for a business trip. Loved the shoe cleaner in the lobbies. Such easy access to the train station and to the shops. 5 minutes down the road from the restaurants that cater for all. At a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and the MacDonald chain in particular (3rd stay this year). The hotel is spotless and in very good repair. We stayed in room 506 (executive) which was of a very high standard, clean, modern and spacious.

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was good and varied - usual cereals, breads, pastries, juices, fruit, cold meats, cheese and fully cooked english too.

The location was great right in the centre of Birmingham, really handy for the shops.

I would rate out stay 5/5.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel right in the centre of Birmingham! The staff were really helpful and friendly and we loved our stay. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I recently took a short break with friends to Birmingham. The Staff at the Burlington Hotel ensured that the time we spent in the hotel was extra enjoyable. All of the staff from the doormen to the management were helpful and pleasant. The accomodation was very well situated in the centre of the city and of a very high standard. The food was well cooked and presented. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

For a weekend end away, the Burlington is perfect, 2min from the train station, right on the shopping area, 2min from nightlife area, very comfortable.
To resume, it is a grand hotel, so is the service & location. The only thing would probably be that TVs could be flat screen mounted on the wall rather than old cathode ones, appart from that, the room was extremely comfortable & clean, therefore a very good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyns79
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I arrived at this hotel after staying in a Travelodge and wished I'd gone back to the Travelodge once I reached my room!

The hotel looks grand and lovely. My room had not been cleaned. The bathroom had an unpleasant smell. The sink contained tea splashed tea stains, a saucer and a cup full of water. The coffee tray contained empty sachets and biscuit packets.

I immediately went to reception and let the girl behind the desk know. She greeted my information with such a rude facial expression.

On my 3rd night's stay a bottle of mineral water appeared in the room. Was there meant to be one eery day?

I left my room with the do not disturb sign on as I was doing work and just needed to pop out to grab a sandwich. 10 mintues later I returned to find the chamber maid stripping my bed and my work folder strewn across the floor. Couldn't she read?

There is no wireless internet connection. If you wish to connect to the internet then you need to use the ethernet cable and pay £6 per day.

The hotel could be so much more, with a much better service. The one positive is the entertaining old guy at breakfast. The hotel also needs some maintenance work, a little love for the paint work and carpets.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: 126 New Street | 6 Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.