We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saved by the Bacchus Bar!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burlington Arcade | 126 New Street, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
coleshill
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“saved by the Bacchus Bar!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was the second time that we have stopped here and the room was far superior the previous time.. perhaps as we booked it as a "secret hotel" via lastminute.com.. do they save the worst rooms for that I wonder? The room was large and the bed was comfortable but the decor was dated, the bathroom also large but the tiles were coming away from the wall around the taps and I was almost tempted to wash the net curtain in the bath as it was so dirty! There was only one tiny showergel and one shampoo/conditioner and no bathrobes as there had been on our previous stay. The staff were friendly and the Bacchus bar is a delight.. the car park is only a five minute walk away and although it's not particularly salubrious it only costs £5 per day with the hotels voucher. It's ideally loctated in Birmingham city centre and just a shame that for a saving of only about £20 booking at the last minute didn't get us a room of the same quality as last time as our previous visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    375
    183
    88
    52
See reviews for
76
455
93
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

The hotel has every chance to be the jewel in birminghams crown but it's decieving.
Lovely potential but the hotel has no soul and simply feels like a bed base which is such a shame
Breakfast was dire and the breakfast room was too quite and intimidating there simply wasn't a relaxed vibe.
The rooms were a little drab and the bathroom had a window which opened onto the extractor fans from the ground floor steakhouse not a nice smell at all.
Would I stop again No would I consider stopping again Yes if they could find a way of making the place more of a relaxing hotel than just a bed for the night

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Can't get there by car, can't get to nearest car park from hotel except by walking, we had two bags and it was a real fuss and bother.

We waited 1.25 hours for breakfast to be served, only to find that the people at the table next to us had waited 1.5 hours (without complaining) they eventually walked out. It turned out that althought the hotel was full they only had one person cooking breakfast.

Our room was freezing, we did get the heating turned on, the maintenance man was great. He told us that he was called out at 2.00 in the morning because a guest could not get their lights working, he drove 14 miles to get in as he was on standby, only to find that they had not put their room card in the wall slot !

The desk staff were very good, friendly and helpful, the new manager was nice chap and it was him who told us that if we handed in our car park ticket to reception when we leave, they will give us an 80% discount. That information was nowhere in the room.

The hotel if tired and in need of extensive investment, although in the room documentation it tells you how much has been spent on the hotel recently, I guess it is just what each person is used to.

The lift is small and very slow, we just started walking up or down after a while.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL , ENGLAND
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I needed an overnight stop over in Birmingham that was convenient for the city center but was also good quality, the Macdonald Burlington ticked all the boxes. I arrived around mid-day, which was too early to check in, so the staff stored my bags for me suggesting I return around 2.00pm.
I had booked a single room with breakfast, the room, (411), turned out to be very small with a single bed, (as you would expect in a single room), but it did have a reasonably sized bathroom which was very nicely presented. The room was very clean and had all the amenities you should need, including a small fridge. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the room was air conditioned, although it seemed a bit silly to have AC when the radiator was pumping out heat. I had requested a quiet room and it was indeed very quiet, I didn't notice any noise from adjoining rooms or the corridor.
The location was ideal for access to the shopping district with numerous bars and restaurants close by. The bar in the basement of the Hotel complex, Baccus?, was extremely busy with standing room only so I didn't stay, it looked pretty impressive and the food options looked to be good value. It was a Friday night so arriving a bit earlier would probably have been a good idea.
The breakfast was very good, the cold selection was extremely impressive and your choice of breakfast was cooked to order, (which made a nice change from the usual buffet options). The quality of the restaurant staff staff really stood out, they are certainly an asset to the Hotel.
I would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel in the future and would recommend it to anyone wanting a Hotel in the center of Birmingham,

Room Tip: I actually booked through Hotelpronto.co.uk as they were considerably cheaper than the Hotels own we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Nice hotel and right by New Street Station. Bit light on leisure facilities but great city centre location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here as a convenient location to get to the Christmas Market.

We booked a Superior Delux room. The first room we were offered was overlooking all of the services in the centre of the hotel. To combat this, the room had a tiny little window in the corner. We asked for a room change and were given room 424 which was a lot better. It was overlooking New Street but high enough that noise was not a problem. The room was big, with a super kingsized bed. It was well equipped with a trouser press, iron, TV with Freeview, hairdryer, towels, dressing gowns and slippers. The staff were excellent and really welcoming and the service was wonderful in the hotel. Where it lacked was in the Scottish Steakhouse Restaurant. Go there if you want great tasting food, but avoid it if you are in a hurry. The service, while pleasant was certainly not at city pace.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We arrived to be greeted by very courteous staff who were more than happy to tend to your every need. Although we waited some 25 minutes to check in due to a group of visitors arriving, we were compensated for our wait with a complimentory bottle of wine in our room. We stayed in the double classic four poster room which I cannot fault on any level, the room was of vast size and beautifully decorated historically to reflect the period of the build. Cleanliness was clearly an important factor as the room was spotless. We only stayed one night and did not eat at the restaurant but we did have breakfast in the morning of which there was ample choice, whether that was traditional english or continental, the food was fresh and well cooked and the service was impecable. I cannot recommend this hotel more to anyone who wants great service at an affordable price. I shall definately be returning should I be visiting birmingham again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade | 126 New Street, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.