We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is ALWAYS excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Harborne

The Plough Harborne
21 High Street | Harborne, Birmingham B17 9NT, England (Formerly The Plough)
+44 121 427 3678
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough Harborne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a hip neighbourhood gem located on the Harborne High Street and a shining star on the local dining scene. Famous for our down-to-earth gastro menu and edgy decor, The Plough in Harborne has a villagey vibe right in the centre of Birmingham and the crowd is a mix of professionals, music-lovers, ale enthusiasts and young families. Filled with quirky details, we are renowned for our homemade stone-baked pizzas, silky flat whites, and our garden is an ideal spot for lazy Sundays in the sun. Our menu includes crowd favourites such as our fantastic chargrilled burgers and daily specials.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The food is ALWAYS excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Been here so many many times with my friends and family. My son loves the place. Good everything from staff to food and the list goes on. This place is a must if your in Birmingham Harborne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    103
    30
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is my 5th lunchtime visit to the Plough. Again another lovely lunch, 4 of us each ordering something different from the menu, it arrived, each dish attractively presented and tasting great. This we manage to fit in a slightly extended lunchbreak as an occasional treat from work.

Always busy, recommend online table booking. I like the way the tables are shown to be reserved, with a piece of slate on your table, displaying surname and time. Always attentive and friendly staff, the ambience is good, lively and interesting. Its good to have a preview look online at the menus, and the weekday offers, gives you a head start on ordering something tasty.

The Plough has undergone a refurb in the last 12 months or so, following the completion of an extension to the dining area, it has slightly lost some of its quirkiness, but they have worked hard to maintain an individual and aesthetically pleasing environment. I would still recommend the Plough as a good place to lunch! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Came here for Sunday lunch after reading good reviews. I must say I had a rather nice roast: Generous portion, nice varied veg (peas, butternut squash purée & red cabbage), great big Yorkshire pud and tender beef done rare just as I had requested. Also deserving of a commendation were the staff who were attentive despite it being a very busy service. The only suggestion I would make is to book in advance as it's a 15-20 minute wait during peak times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average what are the raves about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had brunch there it was ok nice presentation bacon not booked enough neither were the eggs even after asking for them well done very over priced
Little bit like a crèche more babies than adults
Bloody Mary was Yuk like a half a pint of tomatoe juice
Would go back but not in a rush !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had yet another delicious breakfast here - don't know quite what they do to their bacon but it always tastes incredible! I'm glad they are doing two for one on brunch midweek, as I think they should include tea/coffee in their breakfast price otherwise - charging an extra £2.50 for a cup of tea on top of nearly £10 for a full english is too much, no matter how nice the breakfast!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Harborne also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Plough Harborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Harborne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.