We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selly Manor

Selly Manor
Sycamore Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1UB, England
44-121-472-0199
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small Tudor manor house was saved from demolition one hundred years ago and restored to its former glory, and today serves as a museum with guided tours.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The outing was excellent and interesting to see how our ancestors lived. The access is going to be a bit tricky for disabled people but it is unfortuately how our ancestors built the houses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited here while visiting Cadbury world, you get money off the already reasonable entrance fee if you show your Cadbury world tickets. We all enjoyed looking around and the kids were given a leaflet to fill in with things to search for which they loved. The staff were really helpful, we would highly recommend this little treasure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Last Minute Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our little visit here! My friend and I visited here with our teenage daughters following a visit to Cadbury World. The lady in charge was absolutely lovely, she talked about the buildings and gave our girls information leaflets each as they were compiling memento scrapbooks of our visit. She was busy, as she was awaiting a wedding party but took the time to explain some of the historical details. Seeing the bride in such a stunning location was lovely!! The Manor, Hall and Garden are only small but beautifully maintained and everything is well explained with some hands on activities and artefacts such as games and clothes to try on. If you like history its well worth a visit!! I work in education and if we lived near to Bournville I would recommend this for an educational visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good place to visit at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is well worth a visit. Its does not get too crowded and is really interesting. Also the admission fee is really reasonable unlike some places that charge the earth to see very little. If you are lucky enough to go on a sunny day the gardens are lovely to sit in. Also there is parking on the road
maybe a bit limited but at least there is not a charge for this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went at halloween and easter holidays lots of activities there for children to make things to take home with them. Learn about how the tudors lived then visit little cake shop in Bournville 1 min if that away to get your lunch hot food available and its fresh and lovely not even expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selly Manor also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Selly Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selly Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.