We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dreadful cafe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lickey Hills Country Park

Lickey Hills Country Park
Warren Ln. | Rednal, Birmingham B45 8ER, England
44-121-447-7106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite area for hikers and mountain bikers, this 524-acre park consists of many trees, marshes and trees including a wide variety of wildlife.
Redditch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“dreadful cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staggered that something run by a city council could provide such terrible value for money - tea in a plastic cup was just slightly coloured hot water and expensive with it. rip off defined.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    68
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
B
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wonderful scenery and great for strolling with family and friends!
It's well looked after and beckons for return visits.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Lickey's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Time was I was a kid and I went to the Lickey's as often as I could afford to. Get your hiking boots on and have fun as you explore a little of what nature has to pronounce right here in the heart of Birmingham. Great for families and there are good restaurants, cafes and fast-food outlets nearby. Once at the very peak you'll be able to see the whole of Birmingham in the distance. Don't forget though; Birmingham is the place where the Industrial Revolution began. Explore and ENJOY.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best outdoors in Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whatever the season i love to spend time at the "Lickeys", from the days my mom would give me and my 2 younger brothers bus fare "and don`t come home till tea time", till now approaching my 60th birthday. Its a great place for walking, picnicing or just enjoying the views, its full of people noe snowboarding down the Beacon Hill, and soon the same hill will be full of kites in the sky, it also boasts an impressive golf course for a council run one. If you not been and live in Birmingham or around it, you should be ashamed of yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lickey hills countrypark birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Im actually very lucky when i say i live near to the Lickey Hills Country Park in Birmingham i usually walk to the lickeys and there are lots of different routes you can take to get there if you choose to walk through rednal , you will appreciate that some fantastic parts of history including tolkiens cottage , and if you look carefully behind what is now a restuarant - which used to be a visitor centre you,ll notice some of the old tram tracks markings from the days of the Lickey trams .if your in the area you may like to note the Hare And Hounds pub , if you wish to stay for dinner or just passing by for a beverage ! also the odd few nice shops too .
please note nearby is cofton park notably one of Birminghams best loved parks this was the location for the beatification of Cardinal Newman by the Pope ,
infact Rednal has much to offer .
I particularly wish to ask that you may visit the site of what once was the extremley famous Rover car factory site this was what put Rednal and Rubery firmly on the map for Automotive industry and the amazing staff that worked there .i feel complete sadness that we have lost what I always considered was the very Heart of our community . On your way to the Lickeys there is some beautiful woodland as you walk toward Rose Hill you may even see the deer we spotted a beautiful fawn which was lovely just as we were walking toward the lickey pond ,
now , as you approach the Lickeys , do stop and see all the Rose and Crown have to offer , they even do weddings here as well as a beautiful location for a short break or for that special meal out , there are the most beautiful gardens , and ponds and you can take bread to feed the ducks !
there boasts a golf course for the keen sports man/lady . and the very famous cafe too !
but above all a beautiful place for the most breathtaking of views , if you climb to the top of the hill you will see what i mean ... absolutley stunning by day or night views right across the city infact ! now do bring a picnic for summer bring a kite to fly as this is always popular here too !
so in all Rubery Rednal and the Lickeys is a great day out for all the family !
please note if visiting the lickeys by car and not on foot watch for your car parking places as can be difficult to find spaces !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lickey Hills Country Park also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Lickey Hills Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lickey Hills Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.