We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broomey Croft Children's Farm

Broomey Croft Children's Farm
Bodymoor Heath | nr. Tamworth, Birmingham B76 0EE, England
44 1827 873844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun for all the family, feed the friendly animals, take a ride on the farms tractor. Indoor and outdoor play, sandpit, gift shop and tea rooms.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I am sitting in the "tea room" of this "children's farm" and I'm pretty disappointed all round. It's not a children's farm as such. It's a 10 minute walk round a few pens with animals that you can throw generic pellets of food into - food which you have to pay for on top of the entrance fee. Some of the animals were in a pretty poor state. Some are quite vicious; in fact you're told NOT to touch or feed the ponies as they bite.

Thoroughly disappointing. Have been to so many better children's farms than this where there is proper interaction and education on animals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    5
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Animals seem happy but as a whole it needs a bit of an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On the plus side this proved to be a nice way to spend a morning and resulted in one happy 4 year old. The animals all looked well cared for but some of the enclosures needed a bit of a tidy / update. The staff were all welcoming and the tractor ride was fun & there were plenty of animals to feed.
We were there 2 hours & in that time felt we had seen everything as well as having a stroll about.
Other similar establishments we have been to offer talks about the animals etc. and I can't help thinking some similar activities would help here. The indoor play area was borderline tatty but once again proved perfectly OK if you were 4.
Can't comment on the food as we brought a picnic. Overall it was probably just on the right side of good value and I would suggest that if you want a simple family morning out for younger children then it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Kids will love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Classed as a poor mans kingsbury water park, well this is better than kingsbury, not as many people and bikes you can walk around with out the worry of being hit by a bike. The farm part is separate from the water park. Kids will love this farm so much for them to do.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

just come back from taking a school party of 60 4-5 year olds to this farm. what a great day. there's loads to do and see. The place is so secure so we didn't have to count heds all day. The children (and adults) loved all the animals. There's a ball pit, climbing frames, sand pit, playground and a walk in the woods that tells the story of the three little pigs. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. They brought us tea and coffee at lunch time, free of charge and provided jugs of water and cups for the children. I cannot remember in all my nineteen years of teaching having had such a wonderful, stress-free trip and will be going back again next year.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Family Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I like this farm and so does my 4 year old son. We go several times each year. It's not too expensive and not so over commercialised like other farms open to the public. They have a cafe and fast food area, outdoor and covered seated areas, great to take your own picnic. Got lovely animals, 2 outdoor play and small indoor play area too. Kids also love the free tractor ride. They have smaller ride on tractors in a small sectioned off area for the kids to ride on which is good. The people are so friendly there and I managed to purchase some fresh eggs too. It's open to the public at weekends and I think daily during school holidays. Definately worth a visit, plenty of parking and not too far from Kingsbury Water Parks so you could easily visit the 2 in the 1 day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broomey Croft Children's Farm also viewed

 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Broomey Croft Children's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broomey Croft Children's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.