We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the LG Arena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for the LG Arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We decided to stay here as it was close to the LG Arena only 5 mins walk away, the outside of this hotel is truely awful and doesnt do the hotel any justice. It seems the hotel allows anybody to park in their car park so when we arrived late at 8pm the car park which has 700 spaces was nearly full and the only place we could park as at the side of the hotel next to what looked like a scrap heap with broken down cars and large containers. I personally think a hotel car park should be for paying guest only and not for people visiting the NEC or LG Arena. Once in the hotel your opinion changes, its a good typical Hilton hotel, the reception staff were very polite and the lobby and bar areas are very nice. The breakfast the next day was excellent with everything you need to start the day with. We used the pool and spa the next morning which was ok and clean but nothing special.

I think this hotel is perfect for a stopover night but only if you can get a good rate.

  • Liked — How close it was to the LG arena
  • Disliked — The outside area of the hotel and lack of car parking space
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2008
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in respect of your recent visit to the hotel.
The hotel does have some 700 car parking spaces which are normally adequate to accommodate most of our guests, given that the hotel has 800 bedrooms. When our car parks are full, we would try and direct guests to the NEC owned car parks opposite the hotel and I am sorry if this was not made clear to you. I apologise for the condition of the car park you used. The hotel has been undertaking an extensive refurbishment and this car park has been used to house storage containers. These containers should be removed by the end of December.

I was pleased to hear that the rest of your stay was satisfactory.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We value all customer opinion to ensure we continue to provide the quality of service our guests expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    794
    598
    333
    268
See reviews for
240
569
205
1,250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed here for one night in November 2008. All staff that we had contact with were polite and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean and what we expected. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The spa area, pool and gym were better than most hotels. Ideal location for concerts at the arena, literally no more than 5 minutes walk from the rear of the hotel. Not impressed with the bar meals or the price of drinks!However would stay again if there is a good deal on offer.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — bar prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hendon, london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

I booked into this hotel as I had no choice but to stay here as part of a dental conference in Nov 2008. Big mistake...!The reception staff especially one particular lady who i can not mention on this site, was terrible. she does not know how to treat customers. her service and attitude is what i expect from government/cilvl service. even they are starting to give better service than her!!!
why is she working here??? hitlton hotel please give her and some of your other reception staff some customer care training or sack them. otherwise you will hear more bad reviews of your hotel on this site from other customers.

My friend was staying in the same hotel as delegate for the conference. we were double charged for the lounge dinner. My friend was charged for one extra night and when questioned, the attitude of reception staff was that its not their problem and even asked me to fax the bill to them! Dont they have this billing information in their computer?

i ordered a room service pizza, when i opened the lid the pizza smelt very bad. it did not look properly cooked. i think it was just microwaved. it gave me flashbacks of watching rogue restaurants on BBC2. no choice for vegetarians even. the food was overpriced and terrible.

the hotel room reminded me of prisons that i see on TV. there was no window at all!!!!
whilst i was staying there, the AC broke down and the room was very hot. i called room service many times to fix it, but they couldn't. They didnt even bother to offer me another room, instead they gave me a fan to use, but it didnt work properly, so i was still very hot in the room at night.

all in all, i would never ever come back to this hotel unless it's been knocked down and rebuilt and with new hotel management installed that CARES about it's customers.

next time theres a dental conference i will check to see which hotel they are using before i book it.

i already made a complaint to the hotel when i had checked out. i have yet to hear a reply back from them.

i stay at many hotels around the world, and most times they are a good experience. this is the first time i feel let down, especially by a big brand like hilton. i expected more hilton. maybe their staff at this hotel see soo many customers (being next to NEC and holding loads of confreences) that they can not be bothered to be nice to them customers more?

hilton hotels UK i am here waiting to tell you my experience. i just hope you will and then learn from your mistakes and improve on your customer relations at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

  • Liked — it was in the same hotel as the dental conference was being held at
  • Disliked — reception staff, room, food, overpriced
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
Dear Sir or Madam

I was most concerned to learn of the problems you encountered during your stay.

Poor staff attitude is certainly not acceptable and not the standard we set out to achieve, though I have to say that it is more usual for me to receive positive remarks with regard to the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

I do assure you that management and staff at this hotel always endeavour to provide the very best care for our guests.

Please accept my apologies for any disappointment during your stay.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for a show at the nec, which we go to every year, the last 4 years we stayed at the Crowne Plaza nearby. This year we thought we would try the Metropole, BIG mistake! Before we arrived at the hotel we rang to see if we could book in early, the woman on the phone was very rude and unhelpful, not a good start. When we checked in we were given our meal vouchers (we had paid for dinner, bed & breakfast) then told we could only use them in the carvery restaurant, which we didn't want. I asked the receptionist if this could be transferred, she said not, but after asking for the manager she did transfer allowance to other restaurant. The food in the restaurant was ok, wine very expensive, service was good until it came to the bill, our allowance hadn't been deducted correctly, he then had to check it with reception, no apology for the mistake or hassle. The room was ok, air con a bit pathetic & noisy, it did have a good shower though! On checking out, final bill included breakfast, which we had already paid for in room deal, on enquiring about this I was told that because we'd had it in the room, it was extra, £30 extra! wasn't told we would be charged if we had it in the room. Overall, staff were not as polite or helpful as you would expect for a 4* hotel, parking was a nightmare! definately won't be staying at another Hilton

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The staff & vastly inflated prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
Dear Sir
I was concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel.

Our check in time is 3pm on the day of arrival but we would always endeavour to find rooms for guests wishing to check in earlier, though this is not always possible if the hotel has been full the night before.

Meal vouchers are only transferrable in our Buffet Restaurant which has a fixed price menu. I am sorry if this was not clear at the time.

The hotel prepares breakfast food for the number of guests with breakfast inclusive.
Therefore, if guests order breakfast from Room Service, this has to be cooked from scratch in a different kitchen. Our Room Service menu clearly states that this facility will incur an extra charge.

I am sorry you had difficulty parking, the hotel has some 700 car park spaces which is normally sufficient for our guests.

Once again, my apologies for any disappointment.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel as we were visiting a show at the NEC and was a bit anxious after reading some of the reviews on here.
From the outside the Hotel looks awful however inside was immaculate.
We arrived an hour earlier than check in and were given our room straight away, the man who checked us in was so friendly and helpful as were all of the staff we came across.
The room was a good size and spotless.
Food and drinks were quite expensive - £6.50 for a pint and half of lager! But other than that could not fault a single thing.
Would definately use this hotel again

  • Liked — service, facilities, cleanliness
  • Disliked — food and drink prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2008
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that the level of service you received was to a high standard.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I thank you once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham, north wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Stayed here with work, bathroom was disgusting inbetween the tiles and all around the bath was black, heating didn't work so room service brought me a small convector heater, i hope work don't send me here again

  • Liked — staff were friendly on reception
  • Disliked — cleanliness, gross!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
Dear Sir or Madam
I was concerned to learn that you were disappointed with the room you were allocated during your recent stay.

The hotel is undertaking a major refurbishment programme at present and it would appear that you stayed in a room which is awaiting attention, though this would have been reflected in the price charged.

Once again my apologies.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Dirty tatty room, light fittings were on the wall at a jaunty angle, Bathroom had tiles hanging off the wall, brown mildew, a hole, yes a hole in the bath. The extractor was dirty and gunged up. Fittings were chipped and had cigarette burns. As for the playstation controller it was so grubby you would not have let a child touch it. Generally the room was dirty and grubby with cob webs!
Reception just shrugged and offered to change the room, they should not have even attempted to let it in the state it was!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUESTSERVICESEXEC, Guest Services Executive at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2008
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in respect of your recent visit to the hotel.
The photographs submitted show a Single room in a wing of the hotel that is awaiting rennovation - though this is reflected in the price charged. A £20m refurbishment will be completed in 2009.
I apologise for any initial disappointment, though I was pleased to note that you were given a complimentary upgrade during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We value all customer opinion to ensure we continue to provide the quality of service our guests expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel.

With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services.

Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible.

The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.