We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Good service, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff here are good especially in the Executive Lounge. Rooms are airy and comfortable. Breakfast is typical Hilton excellence


Leisure facilities also excellent with a good 10m pool and working Spa, steam room and sauna

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are better - ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review following your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and also had time to relax in our Leisure Club. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    796
    599
    334
    269
See reviews for
241
570
205
1,252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

a wonderful weekend at this hotel our 52nd wedding anniversary, which could have been started all wrong. Our room was not to our liking and as we waited at crowded reception when the duty manager appeared as if by magic and asked if we had a problem and promptly sorted everything out. We noticed throughout the weekend he was always on hand for everyone. We were also there for a very large conference and found the staff always helpful and courteous.from front of house,lobby bar, restaurants,housekeeping and maintenance they were on hand to meet our every need. we even received a anniversary cake and wine compliments of the hotel. The members of staff we had dealings with were exceptional, some were senior management through to a trainee. I could name them all individually as they were so friendly and we got such marvellous attention from them, Thank you all John C.

Room Tip: rooms higher up with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear John

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

I' m truly delighted that you had such a great stay with us and the service you received from our friendly, helpful team made your stay all the more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Managed to get this hotel for £63 for a queen executive and breakfast room on laterooms. The word "bargain" doesnt even come close. Superb service from trainee receptionist Kitti, great room, executive lounge access, superb breakfast, staff couldnt do enough to help, and fresh cookies in the room! Will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your visit to the hotel. Great to see you got such a great deal and you also enjoyed the benefits of our Executive package upgrade.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful team - they will be shared.

We look forward to seeing you return again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

As always a wonderful stay in the perfect place. With fantastic staff. I would and always will recommend this hotel to anyone who asks. The customer service is second to none and I thank the staff for all of there care and attention. Looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Timothy

What a great review - thank you !

Delighted to see that you enjoy your visits to the hotel and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome when you return.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Returned from a fabulous Cyprus holiday early hours of this morning and stayed overnight at the Hilton Metropole Birmingham, as part of a park and fly holiday package. It has to be the worst hotel experience of my life. The mattress on the bed was so hard I could not sleep on it, even though I tried a number of ways to cushion my body from the plank-like firmness. Eventually, I gave up trying and slept in the armchair with my feet supported on a suitcase - not what I had envisaged when I made the booking!!. To add to my discomfort, there was a function just ending when I arrived (2:00am) and from 2:00am until I eventually managed to get to sleep (4:30am-ish), there were room doors slamming and raucous noise caused by guests who gave no thought to those of us who were trying to sleep. No such problem occurred in our Cyprus hotel which had "soft-close" hinges fitted. Also, a footlight feature (which switches itself off automatically after every bathroom visit), was malfunctioning and continued to switch itself on and off - giving a neon light effect to the bedroom and emitting a loud clicking noise every time it did so. Suffice to say, I will NEVER use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Elaine

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in relation to your visit to the hotel.

I am sorry you found the mattress a little too firm for your particular liking and regret any discomfort you experienced.

I was also concerned to learn that you had been disturbed by the inconsiderate actions of other guests returning to their rooms. As I am sure you will appreciate, we do not have control over the behaviour of our guests, however our Security team will always respond to any reported disturbance if they we are made aware. Nevrtheless, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and disturbance you suffered.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a very big, very busy hotel but it is well organised and in a good location right near the NEC and Airport. We used the valet parking, which worked well. Our room had a lovely view over the lake. It was nice, but a bit tired but represented good value for the price paid. We ate at the Boulevard which was not cheap but the food was tasty and the service from Dasha and Katie was excellent. Afterwards we had drinks in the Lounge. Once again the service from Abbie and Karolina was friendly and caring. It says something very positive that in such a busy hotel we experienced consistently superb service from great staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent visit to the hotel.

We are indeed a large hotel but we do like to offer a warm welcome to our guests and make everyone feel valued. Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here immediately after staying at Liverpool Hilton. Much nicer hotel, reception at check in very helpful. I had been stuck in traffic and was exhausted, Christopher was very helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel.
The entrance is light and welcoming with a lovely smell of lavender permeating the air very soothing. My room on the fifth floor had a view of the lake and a Juliette balcony, very nice as it was a hot day.
As at Liverpool surprised you have to pay for wifi unless you are a hhons member. Parking charged at £9 a night but it is conveniently outside the hotel, unlike Liverpool, you need to pay for your parking at reception not via machine.
Breakfast nice choice. I found scrambled egg bland though. Having to queue for check out is not what you expect at a Hilton.
Room clean although the paint was peeling on the ceiling. Air con available. Very near NEC about 20 mins from city centre in a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFlude, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments.

I'm delighted you were impressed with the service you received from our team and glad you were happy with your room and view.

Although you enjoyed your breakfast experience, your comments regarding the scrambled egg are noted and have been shared with the Executive Chef.

Our Front Office team endeavour to check guests in and out as quickly and efficiently as possible, however if there are a large number of people to deal with, queries from guests can unfortunately result in a slight delay. I apologise for any inconenience you were caused.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Max R Flude
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel.

With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services.

Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible.

The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.