We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £79
Ranked #68 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Room without a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Well a average place and expensive with it , the restaurant is very expensive for a hotel like this
The room I had had a small slit of a window because I was on the ground floor I think
Ideal location for nec and walking distance , but average to say the least save your money stay in Birmingham and train in every day
Huge hotel with great conference facilities but will not stay again at this price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Latman

Thank you for providing your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not have a good view from your room on this occasion, perhaps I could suggest you request a lake view room if you decide to visit us again.

The hotel has a number of dining outlets which cater for all budgets, as well as our Room Service menu.

I do hope you reconsider and visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    670
    508
    281
    241
See reviews for
202
495
185
1060
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed for the good food show in november, The bed was comfy nice shower gel but the bathroom was outdated, the sink was falling off the room the food is very poor and expensive service is just ok will not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ormsklad

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I was sorry you felt your bathroom was outdated, we do have a number of decor styles throughout the hotel and regret this particular room was not to your preference on this occasion.

I hope you reconsider staying with us again at some point.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When you decide to attend an event at Birmingham NEC the on site hotels do have the advantage of being close by.
Rooms are charged at a premium because they can!
Car parking is charged for - because they can!
Rooms are brand standard quality of a Hilton but no bath robe & slippers given in other hotels
Bar prices are the same but the at table service is very slow. Breakfast is buffet style and was ok - standard stuff. Dinner was a good selection on buffet style menu - fresh, hot and well presented.
My room wasn't cleaned after my first night stay (just the bed made and clean towel) but the 10% reduction offered on my bill when I mentioned this actually wasn't given when I later checked - thanks for nothing!
Colleagues experienced double booking of their rooms - and were asked to share (a man and woman who actually only work together - we don't think so .!!) and reception were surprised when this request was rejected!
Don't take one of the taxis outside the hotel if you don't fancy the walk (a good 15 minutes not 5 as described by reception)into the NEC Halls. Drop off is restricted to black cabs only and you end up walking further than the hotel.
Yes - convenient but not worth paying more than the Premier Inn down the road if it isn't full.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent visit.

I regret that you do not appear to have enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion. Rates fluctuate throughout the year, as with most hotels; rates we offer are subject to
availability and fluctuate according to demand; our rates will always represent the best possible price at the point of sale.

I was sorry to learn of the confusion experienced by your colleagues with regard to a double-booking. Clearly a misunderstanding had occurred regarding the sharing of rooms. We would never expect colleagues to share a room, unless they of course specified they would.

I can confirm that the NEC is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Taxis do obviously take a different route and will have an alternative access point6.

We hope you may return at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The check in was pleasant courteous and the shuttle bus to airport efficient. The decor dated but clean. The room was very dated and for airport and business hotel expected more international sockets. The pillows in the room were a joke. Child size pillows and really uncomfortable. The duvet was extremely thin and had to turn up heating. The mattress was great

I had to hunt for coffee facilities tucked away and the usual sub standard in room coffee. With a costa coffee downstairs why don't they open it earlier so travellers getting early morning flights can grab one.

For the price it was adequate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel itself is classic Hilton although very expensive due to its location.
The staff seem to have no control over people attending functions who are staying in the hotel who make lots of noise and run riot with absolutely no regard for anyone else staying at the hotel. We were awake at 12.40, 2.30 and 3.45am with noisy revellers shouting and swearing and then we had to get up for work at 6am!! Not brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The worst thing about my 3 days at this hotel is the lack of a suitable response from them regarding my numerous complaints. 5 days have passed in silence despite a promise of a response from correspondence I've had with the Hilton Group in the USA - hence this report.
"Executive" room of worse standard than a standard Premier Inn, electricity failed on my last morning so no shower, no shave and a quick wash in the dark. Very poor service, very poor food, very expensive everything - If I pay these room rates I expect good standards, but this was ridiculously poor value for money. I've had the pleasure of staying in many Hiltons around the world and this is definitely the worst by far. If you have a choice of hotels when visiting the NEC - then put this one at the bottom of your list. Several of my colleagues who stayed at the same time made similar observations.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Only stayed here because I need to be at the NEC for 3 days and now realised I should have searched around .This hotel has 700+ rooms and was full !
Booked a suite on the Executive floor at £369 per night .What a got was a large room which was scruffy ,worn and faded .The bathroom was cold felt unclean and out of date,shower was mouldly in places. .Bed was hard and pillows poor ,foam quality.

Being an Honours member I always book on the excecutive floor to make use of the executive lounge,normally quiet place where you can grab a drink and snack and maybe do a bit of work on the laptop.
WRONG !!!
It was party time in here ! Heaving with all blokes drinking beer from bottles ,dressed in jeans ,teeshirts whatever .All the food had gone and I had to grab a glass of wine and order a salad for my room .
My room overlooked a lake ,great I thought pretty views
WRONG!
Discovered there must be thousands of geese living on the lake and foxes must have been having a field day as I was woken every half hour throughout the night - like Chinese torture.
Managed to get a room change down to just a queen room for the second night ,which was better - just .
In both rooms the heating was dreadful and difficult to get a constant temperature.

Breakfast was good though, but I went down at 9.30 am to escape the hoardes.

Room Tip: Dont ,find somewhere else if you want comfort .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is one of the best connected hotels in the UK and the largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people, 3 food and beverage outlets, LivingWell HealthClub and Ocean Rooms Spa. Eat, Meet, Sleep and Play - all under one single roof. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks and located next to the National Exhibition Centre, the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport with the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Regular complimentary transport ensures your guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. The four star Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel is presently undergoing a £20 million planned refurbishment program. The refurbishment includes public areas, restaurants, meeting space, and 790 bedrooms, each of which will benefit from new bathrooms, beds and interiors. Naturally steps have been taken to ensure that guests are not disrupted or inconvenienced. Please note: Accommodation in the Warwick wing of the hotel is planned to take place towards the end of the refurbishment program. However, this is reflected in the room rate charged for these predominantly SINGLE rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.