We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I was expecting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Not as good as I was expecting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for one night after a visit to the NEC. My husband had upgraded to a suite (we also stayed with 2 children) and although more spacious was not really luxurious - the kids were still in the same sleeping area on a sofa bed.
We enjoyed the executive lounge and they were quite relaxed about the children staying after the advertised times (they weren't causing a nuisance). Service here was excellent with replenishment of foods and drinks being relative quick despite it being very busy indeed. Clearing of tables was a little slower but acceptable.
The buffet restaurant however was very different. We had booked a table which was available as promised. The food quality was very good and lots of choice however the service was terrible. After being seated at the table we were completely ignored. We were not asked for drinks until half way through our meal when we decided it was not worth it and just asked for water which came eventually. Clearing of the table was extremely slow and even when we stacked the plates in one corner so we could start the next course this went unnoticed. My husband had arranged a birthday cake for me which was a nice touch by the hotel but was really just 2 slices of the dessert sponge bought to the table.
All in all, I was a little disappointed by this hotel as I expected something a little more luxurious. (they didn't even have a real Christmas tree in the lobby). Next time we'll be back to the Premier Inn on the NEC site which offers good value for money and good quality for the price you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kimmy

thank you for posting your review following your visit.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the benefits of our Executive Lounge and was also pleased to see that you were impressed with the quality in the restaurant, although I am disappointed that you found our usual service to be a little slower than normal.

I do hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    796
    600
    334
    269
See reviews for
241
571
205
1,252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to the Metropole with a party of 12 to celebrate New Year's Eve, Although this is one of the most prestigious hotels in the area and their New Year's eve party nights are very popular, this year the experience was quite disappointing. Firstly its frustrating having to queue for over 20 minutes just to check in, although the staff were friendly they were also rushed given the high volume of guests. It was also frustrating having to wait so long for a lift as one of the 3 lifts was out of order and i also think its a bit of rip off having to pay £7 just to park your car in the hotel car park when you are paying £250 for a 1 night stay. Nevertheless the bedrooms were pleasant, the 5 course meal was also very good considering they must have catered for 600-700 guests, the suite was also well decorated and festive, however the music (DJ and live band) were fairly bland and did little to pump up the atmosphere, also the much anticipated bacon rolls at 2.00 a.m did not materialise and none of the staff could offer any kind of explanation. The next mornings breakfast was however faultless, overall the Metropole at least for New Year's Eve is good value for money, however given the decidedly corporate feel, lack of personal service and noise levels from nearby Birmingham airport, i will not be coming back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am pleased that you generaly enjoyed your visit to the hotel to attend the New Year's Eve Ball. Due to high numbers arriving for check-in, slight delays were experienced, despite having all check-in points and mobile check-in points open.

The hotel does operate a parking charge policy, as other hotels in the vicinity do. Guests do of course receive a discounted parking rate.

Unfortunately, bacon rolls were not included in the New Year's Eve package this year and I regret any misunderstanding that may have occurred in this regard.

I am glad that you feel your stay was good value for money and hope we may see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th time to spend our New Year at the Metropole, and this will be our last, so many cut backs by the hotel have ruined this once fantastic venue, the sparkling wine reception at 7pm has been moved to a tray of sparkling wine served at midnight to your table, the reception is now a very expensive mobile bar, before moving into the room for the night, on entering the room there were no trimmings apart from a very very cheap Xmas cracker each containing a silly plastic spinning top, ( why bother ) the food served was fabulous as usual, congratulations to the kitchen and the waiting staff, the theme this year was Hollywood, what a joke two fairly large screens either side of the stage area showing a film called Breakfast at Tiffanys, whilst you were eating, at midnight these screens could have been showing Big Ben or a link to a TV coverage, no they decided to show animated Hollywood scenes. The live band wasn't as good as last year, very loud with bad acoustics.
Our room was a twin on the second floor which badly needed refurbishment wall paper peeling away at the joins, very tacky we were very surprised that Hilton hotels allow this type of room to be used , beds were very comfortable with fabulous pillows.
Finally on leaving the hotel after check out we had to walk outside through at least 20 people smoking, we have nothing against smokers but it would be a good idea for the hotel to organise an area suitable for smokers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the hotel.

Whilst I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed the menu at our New Year's Eve Ball, i was sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in other aspects of the event.

Our Maintenance Team will of course attend to the issue of the wallpaper in your room and I regret any further disappointment in this regard.

With regards to smoking areas for smokers, I can advise that we do have designated areas for smoking, however not all guests use these areas unfortunately.

I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Though I had booked a twin room with double beds and only received single beds even after complaining, had a graet time here. The bar is well stocked and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is definitely worth paying that little extra for as the choice was great. The hotel itself was very grande and rooms were immaculately clean.

Room Tip: 5th floor is nice and quiet.. also get the executive lounge access if you pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ShivC83

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hilton hotels are not known to be the cheapest and so I was really surprised to get an excellent rate including dinner for a single nights stay comparable with less high end brands. Buffet dinner was first class. One of the main attractions of this hotel was the free pick up and drop off from birmingham international rail station. In truth you could walk there from the railway station via the NEC although that might be more tricky at night but easy in daytime. Rooms were of a high standard as you might expect at Hilton. I received a free upgrade upon arrival. Small details like a reasonably priced shop in the hotel, courtesy bus, late checkout and they put your invoice under the door in the morning make a huge difference to the business traveller. If you are on a budget Hilton is unlikely to spring to mind but jump to conclusions before you check their site.

Room Tip: Check rates including dinner. They are surprisingly good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Civilman36

Thank you for such a great review. We have some fantastic offers on throughout the year and I am delighted you found us to be value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

All the staff were so welcoming and made guest feel that they really wanted to make their stay special. The breakfast was very good and well worth the money. The location was ideal for the NEC and easy to get to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Seb101

Thanks for your review and it's always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the friendliness of our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Visited this hotel in December. Lovely hotel, second stay here. Shuttle from hotel to Birmingham International, great location for German Christmas market. On return you can call for the shuttle to pick you up. Hotel is great, lovely atmosphere. Rooms excellent, buffet breakfast in the morning, top marks. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for posting your comments following your visit to the hotel. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and naturally look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel.

With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services.

Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible.

The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 

Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.